Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing great, nothing terrible.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Nice location. The room had a nice bed and AC but a tiny shower. Also the staff seemed to yell and argue with each other all day and we could hear it pretty loudly in our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by M, Hotel Management
BEFORE YOU SAY CERTAIN CAZZATE LEARN ITALIAN LANGUAGE !! , STAFF HAS NEVER quarreled IN 10 YEARS!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Convenience.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
We wanted to be in one of the villages, and this hotel gave us that opportunity at a somewhat reasonable price point. The hotel was clean, has air conditioning and an espresso/cappuccino machine in the lobby. It was kind of bare-bones, but it was a good place to explore 5Terre. Only wish was for an in-room safe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy to get to

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Cons: Reception area was very small with only one person who was very young and not very friendly.
Although the hotel was easy to get to from the train station you must be in good shape to climb up the steep hill with luggage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Nice small hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Really nice in the center of town. The staff eas realy nice they let us check in at 10am which was great!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United States

Big Room and Great Location

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: The room was beautiful and very big so it made it very comfortable.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Take the ferry to visit the other villages, and go kayaking.
The room was huge and so was the bathroom. It was a very comfortable stay, and I liked that the room also came with a desk. It's a very short walk to the coast to take the ferry or go kayaking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Acceptable room in good location

Posted May 26, 2015
Location: Riomaggiore seemed to be one of the more quiet Cinque Terre towns. I stayed in Monterosso previously, which had more food options and a nicer beach.
The room we stayed in was more like an apartment. It included a kitchenette, a living/eating area, a bedroom and a bathroom. Although the extra room was nice, the room was not cleaned daily. The location of the room was good; it was less than a minute walk to the center of Riomaggiore. This room would not be well-suited for anyone with difficulty getting around, as it was up at least 2 sets of very narrow stairs with no elevator. It was located down the road from the reception location (which was actually across the street from the address listed).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

A real Italian Experience

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: A flavor of how the residents of Cinque Terre live in the steep hills of their little community.
Cons: The hotel does not accept any credit cards. Be prepared to pay cash.
Location: Explore all five towns of Cinque Terre, but you must do it by train or boat because the main trail to the towns is closed.
First, when the guide books tell you that driving to Cinque Terre is not recommended. BELIEVE THEM! The road from Monterosso to Riomaggiore was closed so alternate routes that our GPS had no knowledge of, had to be taken. We were lucky to find a free parking spot in a parking garage in Riomaggiore. The hotel was a steep walk down the hill to where you check in. The man who checked us in said, "I hope you don't have a lot of luggage because there are a lot of steps to your apartment", and he wasn't kidding. Our room was not in the hotel, but in one of the apartments they manage. His son walked us down the hill to show us our apartment. It was up a lot of stairs, then a sidewalk down a dark narrow passage way to more steps. Then up a steep set of stairs to a landing, then another very steep set of stairs to the apartment. The last flight of stairs was more like climbing a ladder than a flight of stairs. The apartment while very old, gave us a feel of what the residents of Riomaggiore go through everyday. In spite of the steps, we really enjoyed the stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Deliberately try to rip you off!

Posted Oct 12, 2014
On the day of our arrival, there was a problem with our train which meant that we weren't arriving until 9:30pm. We emailed the hotel and go no response. We then tried to call the hotel and they didn't speak any English. Eventually I found a friend who spoke Italian who called the hotel for me. They were told that a late check in was not possible and that they were unable to refund our money. The hotel then became confused and cancelled our whole booking instead of just one night. I tried to call back 5 mins later to re-book the other 2 nights and they said the room had already been taken and if I wanted to book another night I would need to pay for the full price! This was not only a scam but also highly stressful for myself and my parents as we were close to having no-where to stay that night!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for us.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
I highly recommend this hotel. Very affordable, Clean and comfortable. We only payed $68/night considering it is an apartment style. You got washroom, bedroom living area and a kitchen! Close to the shore about 2-3min walk and your there. For the price that we got it is amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Small apartment and very good for our needs.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Good location, had our own entrance and key, large bedroom, good storage area, quiet and had nice rooftop deck.
Cons: Stairs steep and dark might not be for everyone, but fine for us.
Location: Close. To everything in Cinque Terre, very convenient for get to and seeing everything.
Good location to explore Cinque Terre, friendly staff, very helpful and spoke English. Lots of space met all our needs. Very satisfied in our stay.