Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful boutique hotel, deserves more stars!

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
This wonderful historic house will give you a feel for Kochi's history and is a treat to stay in. The food at Koder House is fabulous, and incredibly reasonably priced. Staff is amazing, attentive and goes way out of their way to be helpful. You can expect, and will get, the kind of help that is not easily forthcoming at hip hotels nearby. Rooms are quiet, the ac and hot water are reliable, and the building is charming. Only drawback is finicky wifi, but that's not atypical in Fort Kochi. Koder House is just a short walk to anywhere you might want to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julie & greg from Perth, Aus

Old world charm in a very central position

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: we were touched by the sincere consideration given to us by the staff - comfortable beds - for such a vast room area the air con and fans worked well
Cons: connections between tv and cable set took a bit of fiddling to get tuning to all channels right. could the tv be bigger or closer to the bed ?
Location: The promenade on the seafront is a lovely short stroll across from the hotel. Local historical sites are within walking distance get a map
We stayed in a deluxe suite on the 3rd floor with balcony, the room was very spacious quiet and comfortable. All facilities worked well and our room was kept very clean and tidy - room service was very unobtrusive. This floor had the business centre (2PCs fax etc) with free internet and a small but helpful library. The room matched pictures on the internet. Staff were all polite and attentive and very pro active and keen to help answer any request. We needed a international power adapter which required trying several types. Loved the food, the in-house menu though small was always beautifully cooked. I recommend the Dosa for breakfast served with sambal it was both tasty and refreshing. We can also recommend the Old Harbour hotel restaurant next door - the Tuna tar tar is a must try. This hotel is very centrally located perfect for walking short distances to the tourist spots. Opposite is a large park, then the Chinese fishing nets. On the park corner is a tuk tuk station 30 rupee will take you most places in Kochi, Mantancherry & late night rides only slightly more. Drivers chosen by the hotel for airport and tours were honest. Collectively they drive intuitively a whole new perspective for us so hang on and go with it. We recommend a ferry ride to Ernakullum its much faster 20 minutes versus 1 hour plus drive. Get the driver to use the barge on your airport transfer its fun and faster. Seductively relaxing thanks to the staff who warmly welcomed us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by richard from london

great hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: massive rooms, old period features, freindly staff, great location.
Cons: food overpriced and not that great, but loads of great places just round the corner
Location: perfect location, everything you want to see and do in easy walking distance
massive rooms, old period features, freindly staff, great location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not to to the satisfaction

Posted Sep 13, 2013
We got two rooms downstairs. IN my room the electrical outlets were not working at all, called electicians and he tried his best. The electicity were not coming to the plug. The breakfast items were only cerelas and fruits. I ended up with an omellette.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Avni from Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

royal living

Posted Jun 27, 2013
Pros: the high rising bed..ROYAL!!
Cons: Bathroom..dull and small!!
Location: good...
the hotel is like a heritage bungalow. all rooms a re spacious and the location is also nice at fort kochi. the food at the restaurant is average and the swimming pool is just like a plunge pool nothing more. the spa was closed as it was off season. only a few tv channels were available.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Don't stay here...

Posted Nov 25, 2012
Location: It is in a good location- near the cafes and the sea
We found this hotel very uncomfortable. The room was straight off reception/ the restaurant, it had a damp problem (the smell was quite strong esp when you were trying to sleep), the room was dark, the bathroom was old and tatty, the road was right outside the window, the air-conditioning was very loud, the wardrobe smelt too bad to use, the floor needed a good clean.... The worst hotel we have stayed in for years, we just couldn't sleep and didn't want to spend any time in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted May 11, 2012
My partner and I had a great stay at Koder house. We highly reccomend eating a the restraurant there.
5 out of 5
by Hartho

Good boutique hotel with excellent service

Posted May 5, 2012 on Hotels
It was an enjoyable and relaxing experience. The staff were very courteous and polite..kodus to them. The suite was spacious even the extra bed was comfortable, you do not have to worry about getting a good night sleep. An incident happened when we were there whereby one of the guest was taken ill and had to be send to the hospital. practically all the staff were there to see her off and the next morning they even prepared breakfast to send to her. Well that is what I call excellent service and to know that the staff would go the extra mile to make your stay a worthwhile experience is the factor I would consider to stay here again if I ever get to go to Fort Cochin again. Btw you do not have to walk far to the chinese fishing net where you can get fresh seafood and get it cooked any style you want. The only thing that I would suggest for the hotel is to provide wifi. Having said all that I strongly recommend that you stay here and you will not regret it as it is worth the money you pay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado USA

Koder House Could be great

Posted Mar 21, 2012 on Hotels
If only! That thought kept occurring in our minds as we spent 6 nights there this month. If only, they trained the staff to be attentive without asking, produced a breakfast with eggs that were not powder the day before, turned up the lights, replaced the tired furniture, had hot water available in the early morning or late night, packed us a snack since we started out too early to take breakfast, etc. YET, the staff are sweet and charming when engaged.
5 out of 5
by Miriam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels