Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Awesome, authentic castle with comfortable rooms.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Authentic castle that has been restored and has all the amenities needed. Nice restaurant with seating both inside and outside in the courtyard.
Location: Rothenburg o.d. Tauber is only a few miles away.
This was our 3rd stay at the castle and we have enjoyed it every time. Walking down the hallways with the dark wood and antique furniture reminds you that you are staying in a castle and then you are able to sleep in super comfortable bedrooms. The view from our window out over the valley was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Incredible, charming castle hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Charming, beautiful castle atmosphere.
I'd highly recommend staying here! What a lovely castle hotel. Beautiful tower, and setting. Great view. Out of the way, but still close to some restaurants and shops in town. My wife loves visiting castles, so she was thrilled to stay in one! The setting in the halls was great - such a nice touch in a castle hotel. Breakfast was delicious.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas, USA

Castle Colmberg

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
We had a fine time at this castle. It is a blend of the old castle and modern amenities and updates. The food was good but both my husband and I felt ill after dinner. We'd been in Germany for a week and were fine before and after that.... The room was clean and lovely, but it was extremely small. Overall a good stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

An experience not to be missed.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Location and historic charm.
A really great and fun place to stay, the castle is close to Rothenburg ob der Tauber and easily accessible. The historic rooms are beautifully and comfortably done, with all the amenities you can ask for, and the restaurant was very good as well. The family who run the hotel are welcoming and very nice. There are stairs to deal with in getting to your room, though, so keep that in mind if that's an issue.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So unique. Step back in time into the Middle Ages

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at the Burg Hotel in the past. The word hotel should also be combined with the word Castle. Thus, perhaps Burg Castle Hotel. It is regal in every respect to the word. The renovation and eye to detail are quite notable. It is a family run hotel and surpasses the major brand of hotels. It is so much more that simply an overnight while touring the countryside. It is an experience that is so unique that you'll remember your stay for years to come. You will step back in time 1,000 years into the romance of the Middle Ages. Stay there and let your imagination carry you on a journey of intrigue and mystery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Spent the night in a 13th century castle

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The history...
Cons: There's nothing to improve.
Location: 10 km from Rothenburg ob der Tauber (6 miles), made it an easy trip to the medieval city. In Colmberg itself is a lovely Altstadt, with info center.
What a fun experience, to stay in the beautiful Burg Colmberg! The castle's rooms have been retrofitted for modern comfort, while retaining the ambiance of the castle. Staff was lovely and accommodating. We wandered the castle & grounds freely, enjoying a close-up look at history. The castle was built in the 13th century overlooking a wide swath of valley below. The night we stayed, it was quite cold outside, but the castle was cozy with a roaring fire in the fireplace in the main hall. The restaurant was very nice, food excellent, and we saw locals who drove up the mountain to dine there. In the morning there was a typical German breakfast spread which more than met our expectations. It was included in the very reasonable price of the room. Overall it was an outstanding experience and was one of our trip highlights.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Must stay at and eat

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
amazing!!! The owners were wonderful along with the staff. One of the best experiences of my life. A MUST STAY PLACE !!!! The food was another bonus, some of the best we had all vacation. Go you won't regret it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Fantastic trip!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Excellent stay with friendly and accommodating staff. The restaurant had excellent food. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Will recommend to friends!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
We loved this authentic castle hotel. The rooms on the village view side of the castle were very much nicer than ours overlooking the restaurant terrace. Wish we would have known this and we would have requested one of these rooms. But it was great overall - really, how many chances does one get to sleep in s castle!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Colmberg Castle Germany

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful castle with grounds. The views were awesome. The people were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner were outstanding.