Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Castle in Germany

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Very homey and warm atmosphere. Friendly staff and great rooms with wonderful views over the countryside.Nice atmosphere for visiting Christmas market
Cons: Nothing !!
Location: Close to Rothenburg/Tauber and Ansbach , also Nurnberg with wonderful Christmas markets
Beautifully kept old castle in the Franconian country side close to Rothenburg/Tauber an enchanting small medieval town. Room was on the third floor with no elevator but stairs passed various wonderfully decorated alcoves and floors. Hotel has several room options and also has a very nice restaurant with exceptional food. Service was excellent and we were very happy with our short stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norddeutschland

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Das Serviceteam ist Extraklasse! Sehr aufmerksam, freundlich, hilfsbereit. Sehr gutes Restaurant mit vielen Wildgerichten.
Ein authentisches Burghotel in guter Lage. Diverse Sehenswürdigkeiten ( Rothenburg o.d. Tauber, Dinkelsbühl u.a. ) in nächster Umgebung. Eigenes Wildgehege direkt am Hotel. Wunderschöne Landschaft im Umfeld.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Appleton, WI

Castle ambiance

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Room was updated. Beautiful views from windows.
Cons: All was well. Antiques galore1
Location: As you would expect, top of a hill location. Good restaurant within, and a few local places down the hill in the city center.
Very old, typical small castle. Well kept, fun to walk around and discover. Hold tight to the hand rails, old stairs can be slippery/slopey. Well worth the visit. Beautiful vistas. Staff speaks English, my German "nicht sehr gut." Parking available at the schloss.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

美味しいフランケンワイン

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: 接客の質の高さ、聞き取りやすく英語を話してくれるところ。 レストランの料理
Cons: 料理のメニューに写真があれば選ぶところからもっと楽しめるのだと感じました。
Location: ローテンブルグ観光の日の夜に私は宿泊をしました。 バスで40分程度ではありますが、この地方は田舎なのでバスの営業時間に注意が必要だと思います。
レストランの料理がやはり一流のホテルでした。 正直ドイツでは毎日同じご飯を食べているイメージになってしまいがちでしたが、 こちらのホテルでは美味しいドイツ料理を堪能できました。 ガイドブックにある有名どころの料理のイメージとは異なりますが、一つ上のランクの料理が食べれました。 また、レストランにおいてあるフランケンワインの味が格別でした。 ドイツはビールで有名ですが本当に美味しいのは白ワインだというのがこちらでわかりました。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

nice stay

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Location is only OK but it's super close to Rothenburg. The hotel has amazing local beer which is only available at the hotel. Restaurant is superb. You must try the restaurant. Room was very old but very clean. Small castle hotel but very quite and peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Fit for a king!

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: The setting was beautiful and historic and the staff were very professional without exception.
Location: nearby Rothenburg ob der Tauber which is well worth a day trip
We were very pleasantly surprised by our stay at Burg Colmberg. We had wanted a hotel with old world charm but were not expecting such modern amenities in the rooms, too! The setting itself is lovely and the castle is fun to wander through as there are interesting public rooms to explore. From the moment we pulled up, the staff was very welcoming and helpful. Parking was unexpectedly easy and they insisted on helping us carry our luggage up to our rooms which overlooked the inner courtyard and fountain. We had dinner at the hotel and the food and service were great. I'd recommend a stop here for anyone car tripping through the area. We only booked it for one night which was a decision I regretted later!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michel from Montreal

Great, but could have been a nightmare!

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
The room that we booked through this site was tiny, smelled of sewer, had old soft mattress and was outdated. We couldn't even fit our luggage in there. It was in the old section with stone-framed windows. But, upon discussion with the manager, we were upgraded for a small extra cost to a much larger room with modern facilities. Nice firm mattress, great pillows, modern bathroom, quiet even though the hotel was full, great staff, great breakfast, great and inexpensive evening restaurant. The castle even raises its own venison (small dear) that come up to you to be petted. Couldn't have asked for more. Just be careful upon booking and insist to be put up in the newer section.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kirsten Pia from Aalborg, Denmark

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed there for two nights. Loved the experience of staying at castle! Can honestly say that it's the best hotel in which I have stayed. Can definately recommend eating in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Finn from Danmark

Fabulous unique setting for a hotel.

Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
Fabulous unique setting for a hotel. Very authentic and romantic castle and we loved the stay and the atmosphere complete with all the old middle age weapons and armour scattered around the Burg. Great service and free parking. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alfredo from Rosario, Argentina

Highly recommended

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is located in an actual castle, a perfect fit if you travel to Bavaria for the lovely geography. The rooms are charming, spacious and beautiful. The restaurant is excellent. We toured the castle itself, on our own, not a toured guide, and that was quite fun. Wifi is spotty but that was not a big deal as we were on vacation :) We stayed two days in Colmberg to visit the surrounding castles and drive the Romantic Route, and were not disappointed. The whole area is very beautiful, photos cannot do it justice.