Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Susan from Brooklyn

Okay stay but not great

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Wasn't what I thought it would be :/
5 out of 5
by Not Provided

Enjoyable! And super nice people working.

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Free safe parking! Great wifi!
4 out of 5
by Sarah from Shropshire UK

Amazing breakfast

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here on our way to Prague to break the drive from the UK. The hotel was basically for a night's sleep, however we walked to the Dom & had dinner in Cologne near the river. The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had in a hotel & was amazing with its choices of juices, smoothies, selection of hot & cold foods.
5 out of 5
by Matthew from Philadelphia

A wonderful family-like hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
A wonderful boutique hotel in a great location near the Dom. The lobby and breakfast features bins of fresh fruits.
2 out of 5
by G. from Distrito Federal, México.

A real bad experience.

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was really uncomfortable. It's true that we reserved for the economy room, but we got the most horrible room in all the hotel, just behind the reception and with a mirror to the street. On the other hand, somebody in the reception was smoking and we could smell all the cigarette. Also the bed was not good, because apparently is old. The TV does not have any channel in English, so if you do not know German, is impossible to understand. Finally you can wake up very very early because you can hear all the people that starts to breakfast at 7 am.
4 out of 5
by Antonio from London

Not the Hilton, but definitely deserves its 3stars

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is approximately 10 minutes walk from the Koln (Colone) main station and only 2 minutes from underground station. Staff are very friendly and have a good command of English. Rooms furniture was a bit dated but was clean and fresh. Free wifi all areas. I was surprised at the vast choice of breakfast options and display, I really did not expect as much for a quite a small quite hotel. Loads of fruit to choose from in reception. Daily house keeping. Would definitely visit again. Only fault I could find is toilet/shower room is not very large, but then again not the one place I was interested in spending time in whilst visiting beautiful Cologne
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

quiet place

Posted Aug 28, 2015
staff was very nice. not far from shopping and restaurants area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Not a hotel, more like a B&B.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: The location is okay. The staff are very friendly.
Cons: Multiple fans in every room! And the abolition of room 40! Ideally A/C in the whole place, but that might be a little unrealistic!
Location: Visit the Dom. Cross the Rhein and be amazed by the love-locks (you'll know what I'm talking about when you see them!). Visit Jameson's pub!
The first room I checked into (late, around 10pm) was the dreaded room 40. It's basically a cupboard right behind reception and is the worst room I think I've ever stayed in. Noisy, hot, cramped, and the only window leads right onto the street, so you can't open it for fear of being robbed in the middle of the night! The next day some people had checked out and I got a decent room on the 3rd floor that had a fan! Thank you Cerano Hotel for moving me, this made the remaining 5 nights bearable. The room was basic, but the bed was comfy and although the bathroom was almost comically small, I was only there to sleep and shower in the morning, so it was fine. The hotel offers a complimentary continental breakfast, which is decent - some nice meats and cheeses, and some lovely bread. Their coffee is very good, too. It really is just a B&B though at the end of the day - no bar, no gym, and no frills. You sleep there, you have breakfast there if you're in a rush, and that's it. On the plus side, the cathedral (the Dom) is no more than a three minute walk from the B&B, and that's where you'll find the main group of bars and restaurants. Oh, and if you fancy something non-German, there's a gem of a British pub called Jameson's about a 2 minute walk from the front door of the Cerano B&B: the air con is working overtime, and the food is fantastic. Overall: if you need a bed, there can be worse places (like room 40!), but it really is absolutely zero frills.
4 out of 5
by Ingmar

Posted Jul 17, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel looks a bit run down from its appearance. The carpet and wall paper needs some rework. But they have very spacious and spotless bathrooms! The breakfast buffet was huge too. Staff was friendly and attentive.
1 out of 5
by Aaron from Bonn

Confirm your room size after you reserve

Posted Jun 4, 2015 on Hotels
I didn't even stay there that night. I reserved a double bed for the night through hotel.com. The worker at the front desk apologized for accidently booking a vacant double bed when there was only a single bed available.