Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
31% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Underwhelming

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Small room with dirty walls and the smell of second hand smoke. Very easy to hear what is going on in the room above. Housekeeping forgot to replenish the main bath towel one of the three days I stayed. Bed mattress was very hard and there was no true closet space - just an armoire located too close to the bed to use comfortably.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay in another town!!

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
If we could give it zero out of 5 we would! Outside...still had Quality Inn signs up, confusing as you drive in, cigarette butts scattered all around, very tight parking bays. This place seems to be mainly used by workers at the mill in town. Room was very small and stuffed with furniture, a useless half size wardrobe, a floor lamp which was redundant as the only sockets are behind the night stands or in the bathroom, a table without a chair and a tub chair which faced the mirror on the wall as there wasn't any other place for it to go, not forgetting the fridge, coffee maker & microwave. The light switch at the door turned off ALL the lights so perhaps it being a tiny room may be a good thing!!! The cold water side on the mixer tap didn't work as it leaked and had been turned off underneath. There was a cigarette burn in the bedspread (this was a "renovated" room??). Breakfast offerings were the poorest we had come across on our trip. Our hotel the following night was a Best Western Plus and was palatial compared to this one...and it was only $5 more in price.
2 out of 5
by Cheri from Fayetteville, Ohio

Thanksgiving 2015 Covington, VA

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
It was tolerable for a quick pass through, I would not want to stay a couple of days. There was a huge spot of mold in the ceiling of the shower.
3 out of 5
by Daryl from Pennsylvania

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was courteous and helpful. I only need a wifi, a shower and a bed when I'm traveling for business.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quebec

hotel to avoid

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: checking out
Cons: tear it down and restart
Location: nice area - hiking
Start with occupancy was probably single digit - and they placed on the second floor- next to the noisy metal stairwell To get to the bathroom - you needed to sneak around the fridge stuck in the middle of the room The room in general was slightly larger than a closet- The beds were lumpy and old- pillows flat Worried about lice Towels were thin and itty bitty The faucet slip slided away - moved all over the place The breakfast was sparse - lousy fruit coffee was cold- tasteless- Cereal was in a pitcher versus a hygenic dispenser.
5 out of 5
by Cody from Alex., VA

Small rooms, centrally located

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
A small, clean room located right downtown in Covington. Parking may appear tight, but there is a second lot across the street for parking. The room I had was very small, but very well done for the price. I'll stay again next time I'm in Covington.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WV

Will not return

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Bedding looked nice and was comfortable to sleep on, great sink our air cond. cooled well
Cons: See above, lots needed, parking lot organization bad and scarce, not sure breakfast was sufficient
Location: Arrived too late to look and not really concerned with this, just wanted comfortable safe room for night,
Arrived after midnight to wait over 20 min. Before desk staff arrived. She had been repairing one of 3 others in line air cond. and checking his door key (computer system down)--new key she made did not work either. over he. Wait. We all were sent to rooms with no key, told we would have to get desk clerk to open doors with master key if we went out. Room mostly very good, but bed way too high--took 3 serious tries to get in it. Then, outlet I was using went out--had to start over with my necessary sleep apnea machine. It looked bad to start with. Bed comfortable, great pillows, but height a major problem. Bad toilet room lighting. Great sink, but also too tall. Carpet not clean though looked okay. Needed a step for bed. My oxygen machine was heavy and no elevator. Clerk was going to charge me again, I had paid Expedia several months ago--thankfully I had printout proof from Expedia--understandable she couldn't check due to computer system not working. Phone message light blinked all night. I called to check on message to be told it probably hadn't been reset after power outage days before. No message for me. That was at about 3am. Hadn't checked out and maid wanted in to clean though before checkout time. After such a short night following a hot day at state fair, 3 hr. traffic jam to go about 40 miles, I maintained my patience but was highly disappointed in accommodations. Neither toilet paper roller would roll, paper tore in small pieces. Few TV chan
3 out of 5
by WILLIAM from Richmond

Marginal Accommodations

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
Smallest room I've ever seen. Not enough room to open some drawers. Staff was friendly. Big turn off was the shortage of TV channels. If you just want to sleep and shower,OK place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just an overnight

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Not bad for the price but definately lacking some of the feeling of comfort. Breakfast was minimal and they didn't have any complimentary hygiene supplies like they advertised. Door keys did not work. But the staff was extremely nice and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Va

Needed a room for just one night.

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Fairly easy to find using GPS.
Cons: Replace the carpet.
Location: The Homestead resort is about 17 miles away.
Room smelled of urine. Carpet needs to be replaced. A used bar of soap was found in the shower soap tray!