Ratings based on 480 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Caribbean

Great Stay, Great Staff

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Entertainment, Service from Food and Beverage Staff
Cons: Staff could be rotated to broaden and enhance hospitality skills. Training of staff.
Location: Downtown Curacao, Carnival Casino, great food at Bahia Restaurant in Otrobanda
This was my second visit to this resort. Property is lovely and the entertainment team is fantastic, as usual. The service received from the front desk, club lounge, bars and restaurant staff was great - thanks to Shoman, Marvienne, Nathalie, Stephany and Verona. Verona is the epitome of professionalism and I highly recommend that she be placed in customer services, her warmth and hospitality made a world of difference during both of my visits. She makes everyone feel welcome and her communication with guests was exceptional, her talent belongs on the front guest or in the concierge team. Marvienne was also outstanding, she should be a supervisor/manager. On the down side, my room assignment was disappointing. After waiting a half day for check-in, I was given a ground floor room with a view of a fish shack, gully and stagnant water, no beautiful sea/ocean view in sight. A walk outside to the terrace and it smelled like fish, with the odour of the nearby eatery wafting into the room. This was quickly rectified by the superb front desk staff, who intervened to locate a proper ocean view suite on the second floor, overlooking the enclosed bay, beach and pool. Mary from Housekeeping was very helpful and efficient. The worst service came from Louisa Thomas, one of the front desk managers. She seemed unconcerned, indifferent and uninterested in guests' wellbeing and comfort. Louisa could learn a learn a lot from the rest of the team and tone down on the attitude and angst.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Honeymoon let down :(

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: The beach and pool areas look recently renovated, and it was never too crowded that we couldn't get a drink or find a beach chair.
Cons: ALL OF THE buildings except for the royal tower need a makeover, the staff is 85% unpleasant, and the buffet food is lukewarm at best.
Location: If you are interested in adventure the location is great. Within walking distance is the Dive Bus, ATV tours, sea aquarium and mambo beach boardwalk.
I can't begin to describe the disappointment of this "resort" in 1500 characters. We got in very late at night and knew things were bad when the night manager/bellman complained that our bags were too heavy and there was no elevator. Making me feel bad enough to carry my own bag up three flights after flying all day. He called a guard to help with the last bag which took 20 min. We paid for the exclusive 'sun club' under the impression that the rooms would be better. They weren't. The building was run down, our a/c either ran too cold or not at all and the roof leaked. After a walk around the property, we requested to be moved to the Royal Tower. This room was decent enough. The overnight front desk person had neglected to give us wi-fi codes or give us any info on our Sun Club/VIP benefits. Eventually, we went to the concierge desk to learn about our benefits and explain that it was our honeymoon. It took them days to announce our names in their daily newsletter. We asked twice and emphasized that we are both women, but they wrote Mr and Mrs anyway. We asked them to correct it in the following days and they did not. We went for the romantic beach dinner since it was a special occasion and it was not worth our $$. The lobster was just not that great. Food overall - They advertise "no reservations" as a plus, but that equates to waiting hours behind 10-12 tables before being sat..AT EVERY RESTAURANT. Get the steak at the grill, salmon at Oceania and eat Hibachi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Großes Hotel mit wenig Strand

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Obwohl das reservieren der (zu wenigen) Liegen verboten ist, waren ab 7:00 alle Schattenplätze reserviert. Der Zimmerservice tut nur das Notwendigste. Den Zustand der Badezimmer kann man nur als katastrophal bezeichnen. Das Buffetrestaurant entspricht einem 3 Sterne Hotel. Die a la Cart-Restsurants haben zwar immer Wartezeiten - mit denen man sich arrangieren kan - bieten dafür aber ein gutes Angebot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

It was a BLAH stay at this resort

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: the staff of the hotel is welcoming, friendly and try to accomodate. Management is really delinquent in their presence and making things right.
Cons: change FB management first. you can have the best place in the world. if your food sucks. no one will show up. fix the food
Location: you can walk to Mambo beach (5min walk) and have a better atmosphere than at the resort.
Not a big fan of all-inclusive resorts but ended up here out of necessity due to last minute booking. Resort has nice grounds, decent size multiple swimming pools. the beach is GREAT and has man-made wave breakers so it's calm waters. check in was fast. our initial room at SunClub was bad (patio door doesn't lock, mosquitoes infestation) got it changed to higher level room and staff was very courteous about it. fridge/bar was replenished daily. room service was adequate. we staid there 11/19 to 11/26 and was raining 5 days out of the 7 and our room ceiling was leaking. Resort is understaffed that is for sure and mismanaged. They definitely need to change Chef and Food and Beverage manager. they run out of Jack Daniels on Sunday, Dewars on Monday and everything else on Tuesday. JD was never replenished. Dewars was only at 1 bar. food was horrible to say the least. breakfast was bad. we stuck with Omelette as the safest bet. it has 4 restaurants that you can never get into because they have 14 tables setup for 500 guests. it is ridiculous. the Italian restaurant had 7 tables empty inside and half the space was not setup and they were telling people they're full. the Staff at the resort are its biggest asset. unfortunately, they are under served by management. At the seafood restaurant, there was 1 girl doing hosting/reservation, serving guests, taking food orders and drinks and cleaning tables. we ended up eating out of the resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sxm

Hôtel too Hold not 4 star 3 stars max

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Nice place bit too hold nées a new review of décoration and rénovation !food are not so good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Horrible rude slow service

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The employees were rude, the service terrible. Waited more than 3hours for dinner. Could not get served water! Room descriptions were fslse- ocean view did now have a view of the ocean. Sun Club was a joke. Casino mmachines were broken and waited >45min for assistance with broken card workout compensation. Archery and rock wall were only open 1hr. Advertised activities such as bingo did not happen. Do NOT go here!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great beach and view.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Kenneth and johnathan great staff very helpful made the trip and stay much better. Move Kenneth back to the sun club. Food is so so, if your there for the dinning experience and the level of service this is not the place for you. If you patient and there to enjoy the view, beach and sun good place to be
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Goed gelegen met leuke snorkelplek voor de deur.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Leuk all inclusive hotel, met leuke restaurants.
Cons: De wachttijden op een tafel, en soms duurde het erg lang voordat je bij je ontbijt koffie of thee kreeg. Soms zelfs helemaal niet.
Heerlijk weekje volledig verzorgd op een mooie plek.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice place good food decent beach

Posted Nov 13, 2016
My boyfriend and another couple stayed here for 1 week in November 2016 . We enjoyed the food....the drinks were OK...just ask for extra alcohol...the beach is decent and the pools are OK I think the hotel just needs a little sprucing up .the rooms were clean and they stock ur fridge upon request the only complaint I have us the toilet smelled funny....and the air conditioning was not as cold as I should be other than that we had a blast and the people are friendly. Also american dollars are fine no need to exchange it into their money...my fav people are Norma the bartender and maria at the buffet. Great experience..mambo beach is a five minute walk where u can dance eat drink and shop...also check out Erik ATV tours and peter tours....the entertainment crew was great overall a great experience I would def go back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Pas trop gros, excellente nourriture et location

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Choisir la formule club avec sa piscine privee et sa plage privee. On peut faire du snorkling directement de la plage. Super!
Cons: Soyez patient pour le café au buffet. Suggestion: prenez d'abord un cafe a votre chambre...
Location: Navette gratuite pour visiter willemstad, belle ville coloniale, beau shopping a faire, beaucoup a visiter