Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family vacation

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Security
Cons: Sunscape dollars weren't worth much LOL
Location: The sea aquarium is a must see the dolphins are AMAZING
Had a wonderful time with the family the staff was excellent, food was great and kudos to the entertainment team ,can't remember their names but good job keeping everyone entertain .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver, co

Okay hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Most hotel staff hard working and friendly. WiFi was awful. Room accommodations okay but cooling especially to sleep was not good. Food was half the time good and half the time not so much. Plenty of beach and pool lounging. Entertainment staff worked hard all day to create activities if you were interested. Had an okay stay but would not return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad & Tobago

Worst place ever!

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The beach
Cons: The food, the management, room service and the air conditioning
Location: Not much to do nearby
Firstly our flight was delayed by 8 hours. We were so tired and just couldn't wait to get to our hotel to have dinner, shower and relax. We got to the hotel at 10:00pm and luckily the World Cafe buffet restaurant was open. The food was disgusting, had no taste and there was not much variety to choose from. The fruits were covered in flies and the waitresses took forever to bring us drinks. We then went to our room (Deluxe Ocean View in the Royal Tower). After waiting about a half an hour for the room to cool, we realized that the AC was not working. Reported the problem but nothing was done. The night manager came out and was of no help, advising me that we would have to switch rooms for the night as the AC should be working by 2:00am - 3:00am. I told him that we are not going to another room (which is a cheaper room). The AC never worked for our entire stay. Towels were taken from our room after cleaning but were not replaced. For our last day, we went down at 11:30am, before leaving for the airport, to grab lunch but none of the restaurants were open. The daily pamphlets had the World Cafe to be opened at 11:30am and when I asked the waiters, they said not until 12:30pm. There is also a beach restaurant that opens from am-late pm but when we got there, no one was available to serve. I complained once again but nothing was done. Very poor service, extremely disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for family vacation and diving

Posted Jul 2, 2015
not only is the hotel great and my wife and I have been there twice. The island itself is great to explore. You would have a hard time finding somebody that could not help you at The resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Family Friendly resort with beautiful beaches

Posted Jul 1, 2015
My family had a wonderful Vacation at Sunscaperesorts The beaches were clean with beautiful White sand. The water was clear and perfect for snorkeling. Our room needed paint and updated flooring and patio furniture. But our location was quiet and convenient to the children's pool and beach. The food was good but Could have had more variety offered. We enjoyed the entertainment every evening. The price was affordable and well worthwhile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Sunscape Curacao

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: I loved the atmosphere and positive vibe from everyone on site
Cons: Adding wi-fi to the individual guest rooms is a must!!!
I had a great time at Sunscape Curacao! It's an older resort but the staff and personnel more than made up for it. The food at each restaurant was excellent and I have no complaints in that regard. They only thing I would recommend for them to have more activities for the guest to participate in on the resort. I had a few things already planned in town, but it would have been nice to have a couple more options on site.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Nice resort but not a fan of the Japanese restaurant. Also get the beach towels early. Ethan who works at the concierge desk was especially helpful. Would also recommend papagayo resort- gorgeous!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Great place for our Honeymoon

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: The staff was extremely nice and helpful.
Cons: Some of the buildings were a bit dated, and there were a few maintenance issues, such as missing lights and things like that, nothing major.
Location: Shops within walking distance, and the aquarium and dolphin academy are about a 10 minute walk as well. Anything you want is an excursion away.
First off let me start off with the most important part of the review. I would very happily go back to this resort, I had a fantastic time there. The facilities could probably use a bit of updating, but it's not like anything is falling apart. Everything is well maintained, just some things are clearly dated. The staff is not the most professional or efficient, but every single one of them was happy, helpful, and did whatever they could to make my stay more pleasant. To me that is more important than someone being perfectly trained and saying all the right things. The bartenders were fantastic and even remembered my drink after a couple days, the bellhops would stop and give directions, and the maids left the room clean every day while making sure any little requests we had were met. As for the food, the only complaint I had was the buffet. Some items, were cold and had clearly been sitting out for a while so we didn't go there much. The other restaurants however were fantastic. Everything I ordered was delicious and well cooked. Finally, the beach was beautiful as well as the view we had from our room. There were plenty of chairs on the beach and you could also normally find a spot in the shade if you looked hard enough.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Roach in room

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Staff was nice and nice beach but hotel room had a big roach in bathroom very tacky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Sunscape

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: The staff made this hotel stay amazing. Everyone was gracious and welcoming.
Cons: The casino was not so nice. Several slot machines were broken.
Location: Ostrich Farm! Before you go on the tour, ask for an ostrich burger and they will have it ready for you when you return. Surprisingly delicious!
My friend and I went to Sunscape in Curacao for one week. First, the staff was so helpful and friendly. Kenneth at the Sun Club's bar was amazing with a happy attitude and a lot of advice for things to do & how to get there. Liz helped us set up different tours that we wanted to take, and Patricia helped us find the best cab driver on the island Daniel (he drove a comfortable SUV instead of a van). Each night there were musicians on the pool deck and the entertainment team put on some type of show. It was the perfect amount of entertainment for us who were not interested in dance clubs and loud music. The resort itself is pretty quiet. The grounds are well maintained. There were plenty of beach chairs and we never had a problem finding one. I asked the minibar guy for diet coke and he did not have any on his cart. Five minutes later, he was back with diet coke! The restaurants were better than I expected. The Italian one was my favorite! We had a fantastic time and would definitely go back!