Ratings based on 752 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, but loud

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking, post a physical address so it can be found easier.
The location of the hotel was great, you can walk to everything; however, if you have a car it is a pain, there is no parking on site. Parking is in another location and you have to drag all of your belongings up the hill to the hotel. The hotel is very hard to find, even with a GPS there is no physical address so that was not very helpful. With no a/c you have to sleep with a window open which is fine, except it is very loud, very early in the mornings, sleep was not easy in this hotel. The staff was very helpful and having a kitchen was also nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

Great location!

Posted May 14, 2017
The location was great, close to Trmple Bar area and lots of restaurants and pubs nearby including the very funky Galway Bay -owned pub named "The Beer Garden"'literally across the street. We stayed in room 2, a two bedroom apartment. It was nice and spacious and the kitchen was modern and included all the essentials. The futon couches were a bit uncomfortable to sit on and the faux leather was peeling but otherwise the accommodations provided great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Dublin City Centre Hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Staff were massively helpful and really friendly. Fantastically well situated for the tourist trail round Dublin.
Cons: Road noise (!) and more comfortable sofas!
Location: Guinness Factory; visit UCD and jails at Kilmainham and Mountjoy; shop in the Jervis centre; take the Dart out to Bray or Greystones; just wander!
Fabulously well situated, just above Temple Bar. A very short walk to the bars and restaurants there, and just a hop, skip & a jump from O'Connell Street from there. The apartments are directly opposite St Audoen's, and beside Christchurch itself, so the view is fantastic. Only words of caution I have are: quite a bit of road noise as it is not double glazed (or not well done perhaps!). But it didn't stop me sleeping. Plus the apartment I was in had a sofa bed which was very low and uncomfortable to sit on in the sitting room. All the necessary requirements for comfortable home from home were there e.g. iron, hairdryer, well equipped kitchen etc.
4 out of 5
by Kristen

Great location - watch out for the futon

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
The apartment set up was great for our group. It was clean and had the basic needs for our stay. The location was fantastic and a quick walk to the Temple Bar area, without the hustle & bustle or noise. We loved almost all of it and I would certainly recommend, although I'd recommend you splurge for the 3 bedroom rather than a 2-bed with a futon. The futon was incredibly uncomfortable and caused some back problems for those that slept on it. It was so bad we had to ask for extra comforters for cushioning to help, which it somewhat did (we were only there 2 nights so it was do-able). We had to ask a few times for the extra blankets and eventually got them. I'd say the futon could be replaced, I'm not sure if all apartments have the same one but the metal bars in it are very uncomfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

An Irish Fawlty Towers!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location and some of the staff
Cons: Total refurbishment top to bottom and reduction of number of apartments to make smaller number of larger ones is what is desperately needed.
Location: Plenty to do in Dublin of course, and no need to repeat. One good recommendation though is Copper Alley Bistro. First class food and service.
Accommodation was very disappointing, old, tired, cramped, poorly equiped and not very clean. The only good things I can say about it were the location and some of the staff where very good and very apologetic for the state of the place. There are to many faults to list in full but here are some of them:- Sofa collapsed 2 days into stay, but was anyway uncomfortable to sit on and in no way suitable or big enough for described and intended use as a sofa bed. Tiny. Bathroom dirty in places with cracked tiles, and stained bath. Shower lacking pressure and inefficient. We had to clean over before we could use it! Iron leaked when trying to use it. Washer dryer didn't really dry the clothes at all. Overall cleanliness barely acceptable. I could go on and on, but one final point. After all the issues I took time to take a very good look around, and also did some research. Whilst the apartments seem to comply with the required safety standards they do so with the absolute bare minimum IMHO. One fire detector I could see in the hallway and fire blanket in the kitchen was all I could see. All the doors to the apartment self close as well. By the time smoke from a fire in any other room than the hall would be detected, such fire would be well established IMHO. Not really to the standard I would expect. therefore. I'm told its due for refurbishment soon. They should stop taking bookings now and until that is done!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City Center

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Great bang for the buck. Definitely will stay again!
5 out of 5
by Jane

Dublin Christchurch

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely spotlessly clean big apartments , friendly very helpful staff , the perfect spot for seeing the sights . I cant recommend it highly enough
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Roomy and great location

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Cons: My only complaint would be that the water pressure in the shower was non-existent.
After traveling and staying in small hotels, it was nice to have the room to spread out and have kitchen facilities. Great central location, yet quiet hotel.
5 out of 5
by Declan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Upon Tyne

Desperate for some TLC

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The best and possibly only good thing about this hotel was its location.
Cons: Besides needing to be freshened up, it was quite annoying that all the doors were on a spring and couldn't be kept open unless propped open.
Location: Brilliant location. Definitely visit Queen of Tarts cafe, which is about 5-7mins walk away. As is Dublin Castle.
I would definitely say that they photo's of the hotel do NOT accurately display the Hotel. While the apartment was clean the entire hotel was very run down and in desperate need of a lick of paint and a general freshen up. I unfortunately would not recommend this Staycity to anyone. The Staff however were very helpful and polite. The Hotels location was brilliant and easy to find.