Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from christchurch

Awesome child free getaway

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Beach, pool, grounds and friendly staff - great couples escape
Cons: Rooms are tired and could be cleaner, air cond old and difficult, food is average but you don't go to Fiji for cuisine!
Location: Stunning location - very peaceful and beautiful. Lots of activities if you want them but we just enjoyed relaxing
Beautiful setting, excellent beach, friendly staff and very relaxing. some things could be improved but wouldn't stop us returning. Good value
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Excellent Adults-Only Sojorn

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Spacious, stylish rooms. Great pool. Great beach. Wonderful snorkelling. Lovely grounds.Gourmet food. Totally relaxing.
Cons: More pool-side umbrellas. Candles on the restaurant tables would have added even more romance to the open air setting. Ambient music needed too.
Location: Great Snorkelling. Sandy beach to sun-bake on. Check out Crusoes. Paddle canoes to eco resort close by. Scenic drive to Pacific Harbour. Read by pool.
We adored our stay at the Wellesely. We wanted a peaceful, child-free environment and this resort exceeded our expectations. It is true that this is a boutique-style resort punching above its weight for the great price. We stayed in the spacious honeymoon suite, which was stylish, with a high beamed roof and a lovely outdoor courtyard with shower, for that extra tropical feel. The landscaped tropical grounds felt so incredibly peaceful and relaxing, with the 15 suites dotted on either side of a lush green palm-fringed valley with a tiny brook winding through it. The large, wide, blue pool was perfect for relaxing by. I always look for a good pool - and this was one of them! The resort ambles down to a beautiful beach, where there is alabaster sand, aquamarine, crystal clear water and lots of coral populated by a myriad of tropical fish. I saw so many Nemos that I now never need to see a clown fish again. They pop out of the coral, try to shoo you away, then zip back in again. Priceless! There are zebra fish, electric blue fish, yellow angel fish, multi-coloured parrot fish, blue starfish - the list goes on. If you want to catch a small wooden boat out a bit further towards the reef (not too deep for fraidy cats like me), just ask for Benny from the village right next door. Food at the resort was delicious and changes each night to keep up variety. But if you want a dinner change, just walk to nearby Crusoes - it's tacky, good fun for one night! Would definitely return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Room was very nice for a romantic getaway. There is nowhere around to get food or anything, so expensive food at resort or other resort are the main options, maybe it would have been better to get food plan.There is a little local fijian shop between the two hotels, prices are okay and they have basics like cookies and crackers, etc. They also serve food there with the same pricing as resorts, but much bigger portions. I recommend the hotel masseuse over the lady on the beach.
5 out of 5
by Melanìe from Coogee

peaceful resort

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
lovely place to relax. peaceful atmosphere, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Probably the best beach on the Coral Coast !

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Just about everything. The staff were beautiful and always smiling. The facilities are clean and functional. The food was pretty good too.
Cons: A few minor issues but they are on to it.
Location: This is not a nightlife venue, so if you want night clubbing and entertainment look elsewhere. It's pretty remote which is why we chose to go there.
Bula Bula, If you want to get away from it all and relax this is the place, no noise just the sounds of nature, peace and quiet. If you enjoy snorkeling among at least a hundred different varieties of tropical fish or just a swim in beautiful clean clear water you will not find better. The staff are super friendly and will make your stay restful and worry free. We will return this place is paradise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D.G.

Amazing place!! Did not want to leave.Magical

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Wotif
My experience at this resort was AMAZING!!! The staff and service was fantastic. It's a stunning place right on the ocean where you can snorkel right off the resort in the reef. You can kayak as well. Stuff is all provided by resort. They have daily activities available. It's adults only. Such a peaceful and quiet place. This is where you go to rejuvenate and relax if that's what you're looking for. I highly recommend this place. Cannot wait to go back!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Beautiful setting with great pool and beach

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Great setting bit 'off the beaten track' but well maintained, modern and an excellent location
Cons: Definately our shower was weird in Room 10. Scalding hot and a dribble when we got it down to right temperature. Needs plumbing asap to fix this.
Location: Short stay so not enogh time for many activities but lovely walk along the beach, want to return for longer!
Short stay but great setting and nice and private, enjoyed the beach walk
5 out of 5
by Jacqui from Greenock

Wellesley resort, a marvellous place to relax

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Chose this resort for a relaxing chilled holiday. Beautiful setting in its own small valley fronting on to its own clean sandy beach on the CoralCoast of Fiji. Open air pool in front of the lounge area, extensive but natural gardens, decking areas around the pool and fronting on to the beach. Included activities enjoyed were coconut tasting, garden tour with knowledge of all the local plants and their uses, hilltop stroll overlooking the coral reef and the landscape behind, free use of canoes and snorkelling equipment, line fishing in the lagoon (the catch would be prepared for your evening meal) Staff were some of the friendliest we have ever met, smiling all the time and always finding time for a chat, all praise to the manager and her staff. Menu varied each evening and would even do requests. Would love to go back if possible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Surpassed expectations

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Personalized service
Location: The resort is a bit isolated, so activities offsite are limited.
This was the third resort we stayed at on our Fiji trip, and it was by far the best. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing spot, this is the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicht das Beste, nicht das Schlechteste

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Das Hotel ist so weit ganz nett. Auf Grund des Geburtstags meines Partners & dr Nebensaison haben wir auf Nachfrage sogar ein kostenloses Upgrade bekommen. Das fanden wir sehr freundlich&gut denn dieses Zimmer war schön eingerichtet & super entspannend(das davor nicht so).Insgesamt ist die Anlage schön angelegt. Viel Freiraum aber keine weiten Wege.Die Holzböden&Liegen an Pool und Strand könnten eine Erneuerung bzw definitiv eine Reinigung vertragen.Vieleicht lag es an der Nebensaison. Was allerdings überhaupt nicht akzeptabel war, waren der zu 80% schlechte Service.Ich weiß nicht ob es in der Fijimentalität liegt, gelangweilt, unaufmerksam und unfreundlich zu sein, aber das hat einem die eigentlich in schönem Setting gelegenen Abendessen versaut. Hinzu die horrenden Preise für kleine Portionen.Die Mittagsportionen waren gut. Weiterhin hat man nur 3 Optionen hier an Essen zu gelangen. Im Hotel, im genau so teuren local village shop (1std vorher das essen anmelden) oder im gleichpreisigen Resort am anderen Ende des Strandes. Aber so ist das bei einem Escape. Ohne eigenen Transport ist man mehr oder weniger aufgeschmissen. Thema Transport: 10fjd um ein paar Minuten vom Hotelmitarbeiter zum Bus an die Hauptstraße gebracht zu werden, halte ich für unangemessene Preise. Vor allem wenn man bedenkt, dass der Bus für etwa 2std Fahrt 9fjd pro Person nimmt. Alles in allem ist es also schon okay hier einmal eine Woche zu verbringen.