Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

1.8 out of 5
1.8 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
1.7 Room comfort
1.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed Bug Hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2011
This was the worst hotel I have ever been to. I had to ring the hotel bell 24 times before seeing a person. Someone who doesn't work there but was related to the owner jumped over the counter with a lit cigarette and gave me a key to a room. After circling the whole building upstairs and down without any direction I found the room. The curtains were parted and the light was on and I see that there are rusty, moldy belongings of an individual already in there. I went back to the office to let them know and was handed another key. The building smelt of urine and mold and had dead cockroaches on the floor. The water in the toilet and out of the tap was a brown color, there was a television set but no channels and there were bed bugs and fleas in the room. We tried to leave but the door locked us in and one of us had to climb out the window to let the other person out. If you value your sanity, and your health, do not room here ever!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2011 on Hotels
The hotel is run down and the parking area needs paving. the doors do not secur well. Th rooms are not too accmodating and the fxtures,beds and overall it is not a place I would recommend if your looking for cleaniness. There were no bathroom toiletrees either
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alvarado, TX

It was horrible!

Posted Oct 24, 2011 on Hotels
The sheets and towels were VERY dingy, maybe had not been washed. If I could have afforded it I would have found another room and not stayed there. The only thing good about it was that it was within walking distance to the beach. My advice is do not stay there. It was not clean at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

motel near boat launch, Surfside marina

Posted Sep 12, 2011 on Hotels
Poor quality room. No shampoo, no bed blanket, just a sheet. No remote control for TV, and TV was old 19". Shower was fiberglass, like you see in trailers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Slum hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2011 on Hotels
The only redeeming quality of this hotel is the distance from the beach. The hotel description says ocean view. This is impossible since there are five layers of homes between the beach and Gulf of Mexico. Picnic area? No such thing. The room was dirty and the hotel, in general was in bad shape. Hope this helps further bookings.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palestine, TX

Close to beach

Posted Aug 1, 2011 on Hotels
Not a 5 star hotel but the place is affordable, walking distance to the beach (cleaner water than Galveston) and good resturants near by. We had a good time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CONROE, TX

ANCHOR MOTEL FREEPORT, TX

Posted Jul 27, 2011 on Hotels
You could ride the COCK ROACHES they were so big. The room stunk terrible. My 5 yr old granddaughter woke up screaming at 3 & 4:00 each morning for us to kill the HUGE BUGS. I did not stay the last night. I could not put my granddaughter through another night of that. I know I will not get a refund but it was horrible. Also, there were 3 of us. We got 2 small towels for showers. I asked for more towels and they said they had to have the wet ones first and I would only get 2. I told them that 3 of us had checked in but that didnt matter.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Anchor Motel Go To The Bottom To Match Name

Posted Jul 12, 2011 on Hotels
Overpriced for what you get & absolutely very little is offered. I thought some other places accross the bridge were bad but they now seem much better. Knock down this property and start over. I wonder if Holiday Inn knows they are using plastic cups with the Holiday Inn name on them in the rooms. Fortunately a waitress told us not to use the water for anything other than a shower - to brush our teeth with bottled water. Never again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

The Anchor - Surfside beach

Posted Jul 8, 2011 on Hotels
This room was what I expected for the money & the location. It was older, but the water was hot, the bed was comfy & it was in walking disatnce of the beach. It ain't The Ritz, but is a place to shower & sleep after you've spent all day on the beach!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Achcor Motek

Posted Jun 24, 2011 on Hotels
Price was reasonible. The hotel was not as the picture and the room was not adquate..I upgraded to a kitchenette. no dishes, pots/pans. thje building was a shambles.