Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from united kingdom

Nice hotel good choice of breakfast

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: nice views
Cons: Room cleanliness carpets especially
Location: good location and views nearby shops restaurants near by centre
building work carried out next to hotel was very noisy all around also the dogs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Planet Earth

Very good with a couple of observations

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Loved the hotel for the most part. Friendly staff good location and comfortable stay over all. However, I would have liked to see better selection of coffee and teas in the room than cheap lipton and nestcafe given that it is a 4 star hotel as such are found in 2 star accomdation. I would have also loved to see a gym/health club facilities. Lastly, the breakfast buffet is generous, indeed, however if one is staying for more than a couple days it gets really boring. Aside from that all the best.
4 out of 5
by Paul

Savoy Gardens April17

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Food not fantastic, buffet very expensive at 30 euros per head Rooftop good but bar not open for drinks
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no 4 star experience

Posted Apr 29, 2017
No hot water and broken shower dirty bathroom on arrival. No water in room. Dirty carpet told due to flood. Room damp and smelt. On leaving and checking under bed found rotten apple left by a previous guest. Checking sea facing rooms they looked good. Manager found after 3 days of requsting. - apologised said room due to be decorated offered free dinner. Computer not working. Pool not heated. No courtesy bus and hotel on very steep hill not near shops or restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Pleasant stay at Sensimar

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: love the roof terrace,the view is amazing,you can just sit there and have a drink or you can relax on a lounge all afternoon .
Cons: We would prefer a no carpet floor in the room
Location: we walked down the hill a bit and right away found a choice of restaurants and cafes ,shops etc,and there are also bus stops for local buses.
Nice hotel, with everything we needed for a pleasant stay. Walking distance to everywhere,bus stops and restaurants nearby and reasonably cab fares if you are too tired to walk back the hill. Breakfast is plenty with variety of choices and the staff is friendly and efficient. Room is clean and the bed is comfortable ,you get a free bottle of water in the room everyday and there's even a radio that you can listen to in the bathroom as you get ready in the morning! It is very quiet ,you can relax by the pool or or on the roof terrace with an amazing view!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Lovely hotel in a good location

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: The location and the friendly helpful staff
Cons: The wifi connection didn't work the whole time I was there.
Location: It was very easy to walk to the centre of Funchal and was close to restaurants.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and the view from the rooftop was very beautiful. You do get very fit walking up and down the hill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Heidelberg, Germany

Good hotel, convenient to the Lido area of Funchal

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Pros: On site tour director, breakfast, views of ocean from room and roof, convenience to many restaurants.
Cons: Warmer hot tub. A little more parking--not too much of an issue in the off-season, but I suspect it could be a problem during busier times.
Location: Whale watching from Funchal, seaside promenade
Nice hotel, catering especially to English-speaking guests and adults. Rooms were comfortable, clean, and relatively spacious. Our balcony offered a lovely view of the ocean. A substantial breakfast was included. The hotel styles itself somewhat as a "cruise ship on land," with nightly entertainment, spa, on-site tour directors (from TUI/Thomson), etc., and largely succeeds in this endeavor. True to much of this area of Funchal, it sits on a substantial hill, so if you are badly out-of-shape or mobility impaired, getting around may be an issue. Otherwise, you are a <5 minute walk to a "levada" walking trail and numerous restaurants, and ~15 minutes walk to shopping and the Lido Promenade. Only real complaint is that the hot tub was more akin to a "tepid tub," but that is small potatoes.
5 out of 5
by George from Sevenoaks

Savoy Gardens

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable large room with good views. The only downside was a shower in the bath.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excedllent and well atisfying in all areas

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Efficient and welcoming
Cons: N/A
Location: As with any hotel anywhere in Madeira, the hills are steep and access is somewhat demanding
As above, as above and as above. What more can I say - its a great hotel - I amn unable to spend time writing reviews on hotels when I stay in them all the time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bring in the New Year in Madeira

Posted Jan 4, 2015
We have stayed in numerous hotels for both pleasure and business and can honestly say the hotel staff at Savoy Gardens was amazing. This was our first time visiting Madeira and really had no idea of what to expect. We were not surprised to find the hotel bustling with guests from various countries given the time of year. However, we were surprised at how professional, informative and pleasant all the staff were. They answered our numerous questions patiently. We would happily recommend this hotel to any friend or relative.