Ratings based on 476 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the bay Bed was comfortable

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Approachable and helpful staff Bar area was small for such a large hotel and we expected entertainment such as a live band Breakfast was excellent plenty of choice and delicious coffee
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ocean City MD

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Mix up at check in with the room Immediatey fixed and received my requested room with a sea view! Everything was fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel right in the beach!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Easy access and welcomed guest area to sit and enjoy the bay scene.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Beautiful View

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The actual building, it looks old but is up-to-date with all the modern conveniences we expect. The staff is so very friendly and helpful.
Cons: I would love free bottles of water in my room, but that is a bit petty. It would be a great perk.
Location: The Aran Islands, The Cliffs of Mohr, the Wild Atlantic Way, the National Shrine of Knock and the city center of Galway is a fun happening area.
Absolutely fabulous hotel! It is a beautiful, old, but modernized hotel on Galway Bay! It has something for everyone, dancing on Sunday's for the older crowd and camps for the kiddos. When we were there, there was a local moms group meeting in a newly renovated room with beautiful views of the bay! Our room was comfortable and lovely. We like old, the room gives off the old feeling, but is totally up-to-date, large screen TV, coffee/tea pot, plugs for charging, wonderful water pressure, and soft squishy towels. The staff is so incredibly friendly and helpful. They will solve any problem, will make and arrange adventures, and the wait staff is amazing. Our waiter, Imer, in the pub our last night there, was unbelievably knowledgeable and helpful. We wanted to eat in the pub because we like the relaxed atmosphere, but we wanted the menu from the restaurant. His answer to all our questions was always, "No problem, what ever you'd like." And believe me we had many questions about wine, whiskey and cheese, and he had the answers. At the end of our meal, we asked him to sit down so we could recap our evening and make sure he knew how much we appreciated his help and knowledge. We will definitely return, this is our hotel when in Galway!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from doñegal

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Goats cheese starter in bar very expensive 9 95€ other than that food excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Great hotel, great location about half an hour's walk from the city centre but in its own lively location with restaurants and bars and seaside vibe. Easy access to the Galway peninsula and Connemara. If you book over weekend, ask for a room not overlooking Reception entrance.They do weddings and folk gather there to smoke and await taxis so gets noisy. Only downside: the room was very hot even with windows open 24/7. No aircon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing stay

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: The staff very attentive and friendly
Cons: The furniture is outdated. The breakfast was disappointing although fruit is plentiful in the shops they used tinned fruit
I had thought because of the price of our stay that the hotel would have been to a much higher standard. The staff are excellent but the hotel badly needs upgrading, refurbishing, particularly the bedrooms. The furniture is outdated and a little shabby. The food however is to a good standard, as is the wine and the beer. The drinks were quite expensive, although you do expect to pay a little more in a hotel. The stay at the hotel was a birthday present for me from my husband and we were looking forward to staying in a smart hotel in Galway. A little disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great setting

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Beautiful atrium and abundant parking. Room was perfect and so was breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north wales

Great location overlooking the beach

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Positives: Great location - on promenade, close walking distance to shops & restaurants, short bus ride into Galway City €2.20 (every 20 mins) Spotlessly clean, recently decorated Large twin bedroom Restaurant, cafe & pub within hotel Recently renovated leisure area with micro gym, sauna, swimming pool, bubble pool (NOT JACUZZI) it is cold!!! Negatives: Incredibly rude, very unfriendly staff. The only friendly staff were Dominica on Reception & Caroline at breakfast restaurant! Has the feeling of a retirement home. It is very quiet and most guests appeared to be of retirement age.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney, Aust

good location.

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Near bus or a nice walk 4K approx. Average food. Facilities looking a bit tired. However it is near the "Trad at the.proms". Just a very short walk. Best Irish Ttraditional show you will ever see! Amazing cast of the most talented artists. High powered performance seen close up and amazingly cheap price. Hotel will book tickets for you. Don't try to book yourself.