Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach and downtown

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: In very good condition for an older, established facility.
Location: Beach, restaurants, amusement parks. Short drive or walk to the downtown. Lots to visit in the Galway area, including the Cliffs of Moher.
Enjoyed our stay. Rooms were clean with great views, staff was professional, food was excellent, across the street from the beach with beautiful adjoining garden with paths and fountains.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Beautiful beach in front of hotel. Close walk to shops, aquarium and eyre center. Staff friendly and professional.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
We had a lovely stay. So happy we decided to stay in Salt Hill instead of in the center of Galway. The hotel was very nice and our room was spacious. The bedding was luxurious as was the marble bathroom. It was a short walk into Galway or a quick cab ride. I love the city of Galway and the people. It is my favorite city in Ireland.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NI

Excellent location on the bay area of Galway

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Hotel contacted me 3 days prior to our stay to ensure we were still going so we booked the trad on the prom show at that time, one of the best shows we have been to the only faul I would have is that we booked dinner with the show but did not get any conformation to show what we had paid for and dinner was very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice rooms

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Great location, great price,
Cons: breakfast was a little crazy - lots of people but its free so what do you expect.
Location: right on beach.
Very nice hotel. Free breakfast (although get there early), great bar, great location (a little far from bar area in galway but its quite). Very nice staff. Overall great stay and great experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Decent hotel, with a big downside

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: The staff, water views, and breakfast.
Cons: If the amusement park goes bust, buy it and expand the extremely limited parking.
The facilities are fine, the cost isn't crazy, and the staff is first rate, but there is a major flaw which isn't fixable. An amusement park - including a five story ferris wheel - sits directly next to the hotel. It doesn't show in any promotional photo, an omission we found deceptive. Supposedly the park closes by 9:30pm. It didn't on some nights, but even if it had, for anyone unlucky enough to have a room on that side of the hotel, daytime noise made relaxing/napping in the room impossible. We also spent about 120 euros for taxis to and from Galway during our four night visit. Walking to town takes over half an hour, and the weather is instantly changeable. That being said, 30 euros a day to arrive on time - and dry - for sightseeing or dinner reservations was worth the money.
5 out of 5
by James from Mayo

Lovely hotel

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed 1 night. Super comfy room. Nice clean hotel. About 5 min walk to salthill. 10 min taxi ride to galway city. Pool is nice. Great stay had and will be back again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Myself and my Boyfriend spend the May Bank Holiday weekend in the Galway Bay Hotel. The staff were the best experience from the hotel. Everyone was extremely polite and friendly. Could not fault the service. I was really put off by the hotel itself. The pedestrian entrance was at the rear of the hotel walking through the carpark. The under ground carpark entrance to the hotel was the also the smoking area for the function room. (I had to walk through a group of drunk smokers in a small area). The room was dated and tired. In the room the bathroom taps whistled every time they were used, the mattress was old and lumpy. The breakfast was a bit disorganised, as in the placement of the buffet. The water was nowhere need the glasses and the juices, toast had to be ordered and could take a while to get to the table. The price of the hotel did not reflect the standard of hotel of that price. I doubt I would return to stay in the hotel.
4 out of 5
by John from I'm John from Stafford

Our break in Ireland.

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed great hospitality at the Galway bay hotel with great food and staff that went the extra mile for you. The room was comfy and clean and the bar and restaurant was great, bar manager David was friendly and obliging.
5 out of 5
by Joseph from London

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
This was a very good hotel, a very good four-star which is not far off a five star