Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Excellent location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Location: The open air night market has lots of options for for food. We also really enjoyed the lake boat tour which is best if you do the last tour at night.
We were pleasantly surprised by this place. The hotel is located right next to one of the few lakes in down town and near the Li River, it's also right next to the open air night market where there are a ton of places to eat and drink. We spent a lot of time walking next to the lakes and rivers which are beautiful during the day and had plenty of options for food and drink in the evening. The hotel itself is solid, the room was pretty big, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the staff spoke good english. If I were going back to Guilin, I would have no problem staying here again. The fact that this hotel also doubles as a waterfall everynight is kinda funny as well. Well worth checking out once even if your not staying here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel but commercial

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: I liked how clean the rooms were
Cons: information - staff should share things about happenings in and around the hotel - what time is the show? where is it? etc.
Location: the location is good, most tours will pick up from this hotel. Again, because it is so big it is hard to know which food to meet your tour at...
This hotel is nice but it is extremely large. You don't get a warm welcome or personal experience because of the size. There are probably a lot of great things going on in and around the hotel that you just don't get informed about because there are so many people coming through and the staff just can't take their time with you. They don't offer you direction to the various elevator options to get you closer to your room, so you could walk all the way around the place to get to where you stated. Nice but would probably stay someplace else if I go back to this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by eli from israel

nice hotel , good location .

Posted Jul 26, 2013
i stay in the hotel 2 nights , the room are very comfort, clean , the location of the hotel is pefrect very closed to the main street market, the lake ec.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Water what?

Posted Jun 13, 2013
Pros: Great location
Cons: The hotel staff should be more protective about guests.Taxi driver's should be told to be modest by charging since locals knows the real price.
Location: Beautiful park and lake in front of the hotel.shopping and eating area half block away.
I was looking forward of the Guinness record holder "waterfall" hotel and it was disappointing when I found out this so called man made waterfall nothing but everyday 15 minutes water coming down from the top off hotel to the bottom washing through the whole wall of the hotel.Really?? Other that this the hotel is in great location,nice staff and over priced breakfast . We arranged a river cruise through the hotel which was wonderfull if I don't mention the time was from 8:20- 6 or 7 pm until the other couples in the minivan desided to watch the evening show starting at 8pm.So how we'll get back? Or how they 'll get back? The tourguide told us we can take the public bus back to the hotel.This is not excactly what we paid for around 900yuen pp.Then we learned that there is a cormorant fishing show beside the theatre and for our happiness it was great and we have arrived back to hotel close to midnight.The location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brad from Minneapolis, MN

Great Guilin location

Posted Dec 4, 2012
Great location in Guilin, staff was very accomodating, food choices were either traditional Chinese or western. Waterfall display each evening at 8:30 PM was worth seeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Theoderich from Surrey, BC, Canada

Waterfall Hotel in Guilin

Posted Nov 27, 2012
The location of this hotel is very good. The river-view from our room was excellent. The staff was friendly and efficient. Not all staff speaks good English and some misunderstandings do occur, but there is enough staff that master English very well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MIke from Baltimore MD

Great choice for a stay in Guilin

Posted May 3, 2012
An excellent hotel, quite luxurious for the setting. Great location. Breakfast is pricey and there are many better options--both Western and Oriental-- in the shopping street just around the corner. The Waterfall gimmick is cute, but not worth scheduling your evening activities around. Quality of English among hotel staff is variable, though there are enough people to communicate with if you run into any real issues. Don't count on tour desk to be particularly helpful about English-speaking tours--there aren't even any brochures in English; there is a concession at the airport when you arrive that I would recommend instead if you come without any prearranged tours as we did.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bolivia

Very nice and highly recommended. Clean rooms and nice beds

Posted Oct 24, 2011
Location: Li River is a must
Great hotel, beautiful place highly reccommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY and Sarasota, FL

Excellent Hotel. One of the Best. Western Food Restaurant Awful & Expensive

Posted Apr 17, 2011
Excellent Hotel. One of the Best. Western Food Restaurant Awful & Expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great location, fund ambiance but a bit noisy

Posted Nov 16, 2010
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel is a fun place. It's located right downtown in Guilin next to a beautiful lake and several restaurants/bars. Everything is lit up at night, and a waterfall actually cascades down the front of the hotel, which is kind of original but a bit noisy. Staff are very nice, speak English well, very accommodating. Breakfast buffet was not included in the reasonable room rate, but worth the extra money. Has a combination of Western and Chinese food, and the Chinese stuff is very good. The rooms are reasonably spacious and comfortable if you like hard beds which appeared in all our Chinese hotels (I actually sleep better on hard mattresses). The view of the downtown and the river and like from our window was very nice. It was noisy between thin walls and windows, lots of hall noise, and the main road outside. So bring earplugs!!!!