Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Really poor sleep.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Spacious room, really helpful staff, but very poor sleep. Noisy room, other guests banging around at midnight and no sound insulation. Not a restful stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Great location but no bar!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Comfortable rooms
Cons: Room service. Need to add a bar if you want to sell hotel rooms.
Location: Good food St the Crown in the village
Great rooms but a good spa not a hotel. No bar, nochance of a meal apart from the set over priced health food menu. Not a good place to stay if you are on business unless you are on detox!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louth

Cheap Deal

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: The check out staff were lovely very pleasant lady checked us out and good luck with you twins.!!
Cons: Better signage to where things are. Make sure guests who are obviously struggling with injuries are put on lower floors nearer the reception
Location: The CROWN PUB great local hostelry with really good food and beers!! The Shuttleworth Collection at Old Warden Aerodrome a great place to visit.
We managed to blag a deal for B&B noway on earth would i have paid anywhere near what they normally charge for this place. We staid here as it was the only place really available to the place of our Black Tie party. The girl on arrival at reception did not seem to understand that we were NOT interested in the SPA at all and seem to struggle checking us all in. Lovely Pub in the village called the Crown saved us on the way in as we stopped for a couple of swift ones!! The problem being that Champneys has NO facilities really for people just staying BB what I mean is they do NOT have a bar area which was very disappointing to say the least. We all wanted to meet and have drinks before our Dinner Party. Staff and breakfast did not seem really geared up for people unless you happened to be walking around in bath robes. The breakfast was ok, but NO Ketchup and No Brown Source ! Come on people in this day and age you should be able to cater for these basics. I also have a broken leg and the up hill and down dale route to our room was a nightmare everybody commented on this and my leg however me and my wife never once were offered a more accessible room. The internet is also shocking to get on the system, eventually a member of staff help and told us just to make up email addresses as the system would not accept the 4 proper ones we had?? (Needs sorting ASAP)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

I will go back again 100%

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Very relaxing food is wonderful I have had great time there
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired - Make over required!

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Nothing...
Cons: Everything...
Location: Pretty countryside!
Room very basic. Disability access minimal. This place has seen better days!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little disappointing

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: The grounds and gardens were beautiful and were very well kept. My room was comfortable.
Cons: More staff in the restaurant and at check-in. Some of the staff could improve their manner.
I stayed in the older part of the hotel - the walls in the stairwell could do with a complete overhaul and some of the stair carpets are rather threadbare. There was not a lift and I was on the third floor. I didn't use any of the spa facilities, though these looked good from what I could see. Check-in took over 5 minutes as others were checking out (only one girl on the desk, though she was pleasant enough) I phoned down to the restaurant to enquire about the menu as I have a restrictive diet and the restaurant was a long and winding walk from my room. The girl I spoke to was rather short with me and heaved a cross sigh when I asked her what was available. I had to wait 5 minutes to be taken to a table. The service was VERY slow, even though I arrived early when very few people were seated (it filled to capacity later on) The girl who seemed to be in charge was frosty needs to learn to smile! The crayfish caesar salad was disappointing as the flavour of the crayfish was completely swamped by the dressing. The frozen yoghurt had a strange taste to it. Something (I'm not sure what) left a nasty, bitter taste in my mouth which lasted all night and most of the next day. Having got chilled sitting in the cold restaurant I decided to have a hot bath - only the water was not nearly hot enough. The bed was comfortable however!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Treatments good-customers service lacking

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Treatments
Cons: Customer service
Beautiful hotel, though room needed upgrading. Bathroom a bit shabby. Food OK. Check in slow and confusion about booking between Champneys and Expedia.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Business Trip Overnight Stay

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: The gym and swimming pool were good.
Cons: Serve breakfast earlier than 07.30am
I booked this hotel for an overnight business trip through Expedia and it seemed a really good deal at £79.00. First impressions were very good, but it is really a health spa attended mainly by ladies who want to be pampered (nothing wrong with that). There is a good gym and pool, but there is no bar as such (unless you like mint tea and smoothies). I found a very good pub a short walk away (The Crown) so that was good. The main down side to my stay was that the complimentary shampoo, etc. in the room had not been replenished (half empty), and the bottle of still water was three quarters empty. Breakfast does not commence until 07.30am but that is too late for a business trip. I asked at reception if it was possible to eat a little earlier and after a phone call was told that I could go to the buffet breakfast from 07.00am. When I turned up at 07.10am nobody seemed to know about this, and the staff were off-hand. I left without breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bury, Lancashire

2 Night Business Stay

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: The grounds looked nice.
Cons: A bedside table, a more comfortable bed and tell people in advance that cooked breakfats are chargable.
Location: The Crown Hotel is very nice - nice food.
To be honest I only booked into Champneys as it was the nearest place I could get into our office as all the other, nearer, ones were booked for the two nights I needed to stay and it is a very nice place which I didn't have time to fully utilise. On the first night of my stay there was an issue with the curtains not being able to fully close and I ended up having to hold them together with a Bulldog clip! It still didn't prevent the sun coming through at around 4am though... Personally, I thought the bed was very hard and there was a huge gap between the side of the bed I sleep on and the table where, I would have thought, a set of bedside drawers should have been place - there was one on the other side of the bed to be fair but I prefer sleeping on the opposite side! For the price I'd have thought a cooked breakfast would have been included but there was an additional charge for this - I think the "breakfast" that was included was just cereal / fruit juice / toast etc. If I'm honest I doubt if I'd stay at Champneys again - it certainly wouldn't be my first choice but it's nice enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from champneys henlow

I had a lovely two night break

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: None
Location: I didn't go anywhere I only wanted a quiet and peaceful place to stay
Very quiet and peaceful just what I wanted I will go again it done me good breakfast was delicious as much as you wanted to eat