Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WORST FOOD I HAVE EVER HAD IN A HOTEL

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: the panorama pool room
Cons: hotel staff - they do not understand what hospitality is, they don't quite understand English, and do not care about their job at all. It was terribl
Location: I wouldn't know - didn't leave the room after the disgusting dinner they tried to call food was served to us. we stayed in the room and ate fruit.
We went fior a staycation, and I have never written a review for any excellent or horrible stays in any of the resorts, hotels because even if the stay is bad, it's just bad. THIS HOTEL FOOD WAS ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING for any restaurant, let alone a hotel, and our room was over $500!!! They served frozen fried Japanese chicken with sugar and when we asked them why it was so cold, the so-called "chef" told us that it was Japanese as if we had come to the hotel from some cave and had never eaten Japanese food or lived there or visited. My two children and I walked out of the meal and my husband told them that we could not eat the food but they still made us pay for 70% of the food - they gave us a "discount" of 30 percent which was ridiculous because we did not eat it! Then we had to order disgusting room service because kids were hungry - the burger and fries were the best bet and we survived. The next morning, we paid again for their breakfast buffet because everyone was hungry and from a quick glance, it looked one thousand percent better than what we had the evening prior. But nope, we were duped yet again. If it weren't for the amazing room with the panorama view and the pool inside the room - we would have had a huge fight with the staff. The staff is oblivious to English because I told our hotel attendant who took care of me during checkout that it was the most disgusting hotel food I have ever had, he said "thank you." I was pretty speechless.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Excellent hotel with breathtaking view

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Arrived early and the room was not available. Offered upgrade with a minimal fee of only $50. The new room has a panoramic view of Huangpu river. You can lay back in the huge tub next to the window and immerse yourself in the breathtaking view. There is separate shower and toilets. The toilet is fully automatic. However, the hotel is located in an old neighborhood when there will be construction to make it a totally different one. It is extremely difficult to find taxi unless you know and have the capability to order a “Didi” (Uber’s Chinese version). Shopping and other activities are not within walking distance. In summary, this hotel is for high-end customers who have private vehicles that can get them to where they would like to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Macau

A nice retreat in shanghai

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: The overall ambiance, large rooms, great view.
Location: You will need a taxi to get around, but it is never a problem in shanghai.
I stayed at the Banyan tree on the bund in shanghai for 2 nights. This is a party trip with friends, however, I choose to stay here because I wanted some down and calming time to myself outside the party hours. This hotel is probably the best one if you are searching for some ME time, the view is simply gorgeous, not to mention the panoramic view of the bund and pudong at the TOPS bar. Would definitely return to this hotel next time when I am in Shanghai.
4 out of 5
by Lei

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay in Banyan

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was fantastic. It had wonderful view of bund and provided excellent services. I loved the room where I stayed. Just a little improvement for the hotel, the facility may need to be improved.
5 out of 5
by Dan George

banyan tree

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
very good hotel in shanghai.
1 out of 5
by Wilfred

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Horrible. Stay didn't work. It was warm all night. Get engineering and they said it was normal. That's bs. I stay in ritz Carlton and four seasons all around the world. Room service food is not very good. Also took them 1 hour to get me a taxi to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Incredible

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Wotif
Seriously good service and luxury resort. The view is amazing and the private dip pool in the oasis room is perfect for an evening wine with a view! Definetly recomend to anyone!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Front Office Banyan Tree Shanghai on the Bund, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your kind compliments and recommendations. They do mean a lot to us indeed! It was our pleasure to be of service to you during your stay and we are glad to read that you were able to enjoy our service and facilities specially the oasis pool in the room and the beautiful bund view etc. We eagerly await your next visit in the hopefully not too distant future. In the meantime, I wish you happy travels and all the very best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So so

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Close to the Bund river and lots of nearby sightseeing
Cons: Staff's perfomance and etiquette. I found that they were very rude
Location: Sightseeing and some food
We loved that this hotel is close to the Bund river and that it comes with a nice bathtub overlooking the Bund. Also breakfast was pretty good. Staff is a little uptight and ridged with rules. They should be more friendly and approachable. The hotel itself is nice and has nice spacious rooms to hang out in. Great amenities!