Ratings based on 441 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Simon from Melbourne

Dirty, Smelly, Rundown hotel in Shanghai

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Rude front guest staff, couldn't locate my booking, mentioned on a sign they exchanged all currencies, then told me only USD.. Wi Fi worked below dial up speed! Horrible smell throughout the entire hotel, room smelt awful. Airconditioner smelt also, it appears the entire hotel tiles from the lobby/foyer to the bathrooms have never been mopped or cleaned. The entire hotel is in desperate need of a good clean and some maintanance - avoid at all costs!
2 out of 5
by Russell from China.

Read the review

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Cheapest option I could find in a pinch. Not that $70?is cheap when you see the condition of the rooms. Paint peeling off and dirty carpet. But the bed was nice with good clean sheets and towels. Service was fine with English ok. It's an area surrounded by massage eastablidhments.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap but not good condition

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel remains a value in price, but seriously needs refurbishment. It is ageing quickly with no repairs done at all. Windows leak air, so it was very cold and needed to keep the hot aircon on. I don't recommend this if you can afford something better. If value is your concern, then you will have to live with the not so good conditions. Not near the Metro (15 mins walk) but there are bus routes about 5 mins walk away. Taxi is convenient costing around RMB 30 to The bund.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jim F.

A BOB EACH WAY

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on HotelClub
This accommodation was a bit good and a bit bad. The good: We had a large apartment suite, dining area and lounge. Large TV and large fridge. Comfortable bed, room serviced daily. Could access metro train about ten/fifteen minutes walk. The bad: Apartment was set up to be self contained but there was no crockery (apart from two tea cups) no cutlery, no cooking utensils, no microwave or oven. Chinese staff at front counter disinterested. No attempt made to provide items above or to get access to safe which could not be opened. Concierge an exception when we met him near the end of our stay. He was helpful with directions and we were helped to get a taxi on departure. We coped by a combination of eating out and buying food that needed no cooking when we ate in. Fortunately I brought our own wine glasses and bottle opener! We made the best of it and the price was very reasonable. P.S. Hot water was a challenge at first but water did get hot after tap ran for about 5 minutes!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good idea

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
I mistook this hotel for another one in the area, it was on a 50% discount so I took it. The lobby was very run down, so as the room. The most uneasy thing about it is there are restaurants, massage parlour in the same building and it boils down to safety issue. The air conditioning was so noisy too. With so many hotels available and new ones on the way, it is not advisable to stay in this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Soomin k.

Good family trip

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on HotelClub
We expect there wold be 2double rooms, but there were 3rooms! Though we were ittle bit confused, it was nice. Air conditioning and cleaning service were good. But location was good, it was about 20 min far from the station, 15 yuan by taxi. there was no wifi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cockroaches!

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
Pro: big suite with kitchen Con: cockroach infested bathroom. Broken fixtures Have stayed there a couple of times. This time was the worst. No high expectations given the price but cockroaches?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from honolulu, Hawaii

Acceptable if expectations are understood

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Location is great! Convenient with subway stations, bus routes and restaurants.
Cons: Building is old and needs refurbishment
Location: See above
I have been to the Rayfont hotel and apartment every few years for the past 10 years. It is an old building so do not expect high international standards. The most inexpensive room is only $33.00 usd per day or 180 Rmb... Very very reasonable. You get a room w small queen bed, sheets are clean, small refrigerator, old tv with only tw English channels. Staff our fine, once you get to know them. Housekeeping is good, cleanliness good, a nice surpreise. Again. Room is old, many dents and cracks on furniture and nothing fancy. For me it is a comfortable place to sleep, as the location is good. 10'min walk to subway, on bus route across the street, Starbucks, convenient store all around the hotel, and restaurant choices too. Good massage places also at walking distance. It is a place that satisfies my needs.
1 out of 5
by Kim Huei

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Cyril from Carmel, Indiana

A Reasonable Choice

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels
Room size is sufficient although facility is a bit old and needs some interior upgrade. However, pricing is reasonable.