Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Save your vacation and stay somewhere else

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The only thing redeeming about this place was the stunning view of the ocean.
Cons: This place should be completely gutted and a major makeover is needed.
Location: Good location close to shops and the beach.
When we arrived there was little correspondence between us and the condo management. I didn't even realize that actual staff would not be on hand. If I hadn't called first, I wouldn't even have know about needing a door code to get into this place. When we did finally arrive, we met someone who was taking some kind of moldy rug or something else out of the place. This should have been our first clue to run. We we did get into the place it was completely filthy inside. There was mold on the walls and ceiling in the main living space and in the bathroom. One of the ceiling fans would barely turn on, and the AC vents were covered in some kind of strange goo, or maybe mold. When I took my shoes off it was like walking on an oily surface that was completely gross, and unfit for my 2 year old to be on. The kitchen was also in terrible shape. I found that several of the dishes in the cabinets had some kind of crusted food still on them. The main shower also leaked water onto the floor. I spoke with staff from the Condo Management place and explained the issues we had with the place. They agreed to send someone over to clean the place while we were out. When we did come home, I found the front door unsecured and an odor of bleach inside. This was the only way I knew someone had come by as the place was still filthy inside. This was the final straw and we ended up leaving early and checked into a new hotel. Save yourself the money unless you like staying in filth.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Royal Mauian Condo

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: pest control,
Location: beach next door, close to amenities, eat at Coconuts!!!
Condo bldg. is one of the few right on the water, sandwiched between two beaches. Expedia needs to work out the condo number as we spent an hour with a poor front desk person trying to figure that out and working with expedia customer service. not cool. the room itself was a bit dated/worn but we didn't go to Maui to spend a lot of time in the room. get used to cockroaches in Hawaii, I think everyone has them and our room was no exception. we were with two other families who stayed in different places and experienced them also. not a big thing as it appears they're unavoidable. we kept the food put away or in the fridge and only encountered them when we opened kitchen drawers. we also had tiny geckos in the room (ceiling) and on the deck. they were actually entertaining to watch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Jeffy, Hotel Management
Aloha Rob, Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. We are sorry you had problems checking in your unit. We will address all the concerns you had regarding the unit with the owner. Overall we are very glad you had a wonderful experience, and we hope to see you again. Mahalo, Maui Condo and Home
2 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 10, 2016
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Maui Birthday Trip

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location and the ocean front scenery!
Cons: Having Expedia provide the access code to unit before getting to the condo as there is no hotel personnel there on the weekend.
Location: Location in Kihei; close to airport and the beach is awesome!
My friend of 30+ yrs and I just turned "70" and decided to do a week in Maui! We stayed at the Royal Mauian and it was a wonderful experience. The room was ocean front and was equipped with everything we would ever consider; how great it was!! Location in Kihei is the best; the condo made us so happy and having a glass of wine on the balcony can't be beat!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Sunset Views

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
The condo was comfortable and would be good for a family. The condo is dated, but the kitchen was very functional, small, but functional. Plus the kitchen had plenty of dishware, pots, pans and utensils. My major complaint is the beds seem very old need to be replaced. My minor complaint is that the hot water is limited so if there are more that two people needing to shower and get out the door, it might be challenging. Gaining access to the condo was difficult as no one in the office could/would help us obtain the code to the room or even offer a suggestion on how to get the code. We had to call another number to obtain the code to the unit, but that was not made clear when we booked the room. Once we had the code it was fantastic to not have to worry about a key. Great views of sunset. Beautiful location which is why the overall rating is higher.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia Gorge

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: The view and the location.
Cons: Communication. We weren't aware there was no air conditioning in our room.
Location: Good location between 2 nice beaches. Close to dining, rental places, coffee shops, etc. Best food on the island at a food cart about two blocks away.
Plus 90 degrees every day we were there. No air conditioning in the room. Pretty uncomfortable at times. Otherwise the stay was fine.
5 out of 5
by Linda from San Diego

Love the Royal Mauian!

Posted Dec 6, 2014 on Hotels
Have stayed at the Royal Mauian for over 20 years. Love the location!
3 out of 5
by valde

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by sapperhooah from Endwell, NY

Condo is the way to go.

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: Location, space, price.
Cons: The interior was a little dated and worn, but in the grand scheme not a big deal.
Location: I already did.
What an excellent choice. The room definitely has some miles on it, but was clean and comfortable. What a spectacular view of Kam Beach. To be able to walk out of the complex and onto the beach was very nice also. Close to hotels and shopping and a good location if you are doing things on opposite sides of the island. Contact the contacts even if you get an email saying there is no need to. We arrived and the office was closed. With the help of another association we got it figured out.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by Wayne from Vancouver, BC, Canada


Posted May 4, 2013
Pros: Clean, well equipped
Cons: Traffic noise
Location: Wonderful
Exceptional seaside location with view over the beach and park. Our unit was spotless, well equipped and we were totally satisfied. We were on the fouth floor.