Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Lovely location, enjoyed the outdoor spa with mountain views
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Awesome place to literally get away from it all

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Loved our overnight stay here, great people and great food. Comfy beds and awesome scenery.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice little place but far from town

Posted Jul 14, 2016
The hotel is right on the edge of the lake, with mountains as a backdrop. Also great for star gazing at night. Only downside is its an hours drive from the city, and the last strech of the road is unpaved. But the drive itself is quite scenic. Also, the Routeburn track is near by. Lastly, there are no grocery stores or gas stations nearby, so make sure u get those supplies before you leave the city. Overall, if u r up for the drive, its a nice place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Owner is money minded.. And lots of mosquitos in the room..
5 out of 5
by Chou-hsiung

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good hotel with beautiful scenery

Posted Jul 13, 2015
About an hour out of Queenstown sounds like a hassle but for the price, and location, Kinloch Lodge was a pleasant stay with comfortable living quarters and fellow friendly guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful lication

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Lastminute
Kinloch Lodge is every bit worth the drive. Fantastic location, stunning night stargazing and cosy accommodation. Go well stocked with food and you can cook a feast in the well equiped and organised kitchen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wanaka

Friendly staff, cosy place, fantastic location

Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Wotif
Cons: Fresher bedding in dorm rooms.
Loved it. I just stayed in a dorm but its good because everyone is there to hike, bike, be outdoors so managed to get a good nights sleep, not be disturbed by drunk people or anything. The dorm was super warm when i put the heater on and was a nice touch having a hot water bottle handy too. Hot tub was awesome for after a day of walking and the view over the lake is gorgeous.
5 out of 5
by Stephanie from Brookline, MA

Spectacular views

Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
Kinloch lodge is beautifully situated on the waterfront about 30-40 minutes down a dirt (or "unsealed" as they say in NZ) road from the start of the Routeburn track. It is a great place to stay the night before to get one last shower in and to get organized. There is a YHA hostel attached so there are decent kitchen facilities should you need them. There is also an attached bar and restaurant with happy hour from 5-6pm. Access to the bathrooms and showers requires a short walk outside so if you're not there during the summer it's a bit chilly. The room and bathroom were clean but not spotless. The staff was very helpful answering some of our questions and later in locating some items I accidentally left behind. There is luggage storage available of you like but we didn't use it. The most special thing is the view--it is spectacular. There is also a campsite across the street on the lake, so if you've found this review looking for a place to stay before your hike but want more budget accommodations, that is also an option. You can pay to have a shower at the lodge.