Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Aqeel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Senzie

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
I was a bit disappointed when I called room service and I was told that room service was closed when online they had said 24hours room service. The TV was not clear. Reception staff is very friendly. Please upgrade the standard of your rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty and broken furniture

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
If I can help it, I would never stay at royal hotel. The chairs in the room where dirty and so old. they desk light was broken. we couldn't use the bath tub because the tap was broken. No aircon in the room and you cannot open windows. no extractor fan in the bathroom. all the channels on the tv have static. there are people sleeping in boxes in front of the hotel! it was a terrible experience. really needs to be updated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Khadijah from Durban

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed it , it was a comfortable stay .
3 out of 5
by J from Gauteng

unhappy customer

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
When we arrive the TV Remote was not working,there was no hot water for bathing. The following day we went for breakfast and the tables were not prepared and the food was cold and limited.Due to wind the windows were shaking and making noise for the whole night,on the third day the towels were not changed and we were forced to use the dirty towels.
4 out of 5
by Irene from Rustenburg North west

royal hotel rocks

Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
Their breakfast is nice.services was fine but I was bit upset on day on our check out cause we went to eat blast when we return at 10h10 the room was locked in future the hotel must have area where visitors the day of check out they should have place to put their luggage while eating bfast pls.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A once impressive hotel which has faded.

Posted Jan 5, 2016
The location in centre of Durban was great for us as we were there to watch cricket but there would be no other reason to stay here. Nothing else around, so we ate in hotel every night. The buffet dinner was very good and pleasant bar. Reception staff seemed to lack training as could not handle some fairly simple requests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointed

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Wasn't impressed with our stay at the royal hotel. This hotel needs a major upgrade. Our toilet in the room was leaking with water running all over the floor, plug points weren't working properly. AND THE BREAKFAST was just terrible. Same boring breakfast everyday. I've stayed in many hotels in durban this one is one of the ones I definitely won't be returning to.
3 out of 5
by sebastien

Not what I expected but not bad

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
A little bit disapointed by a few things: swimming pool and gym closed, hotel really really old (it is the first hotel in Durban). I think they were changing management. Staff was nice but it is missing usual services available in most of international standard hotels (mini bar, room service...).