Ratings based on 854 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel.

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: The mountain View.
Cons: Need a few more tables in the dining area. The day we were there it was very busy and we had a difficult time finding a place to sit.
Location: Lexington is terrific. Carriage rides, great places to eat, General Jacksons house.
Hotel was clean and the staff was great. The breakfast was very good. It was a quiet hotel so we slept great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
It's a nice and safe hotel to stay with my family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton, OH

Clean, but building in disrepair.

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Very clean room and staff is great, but the building is poorly maintained. The elevator has wood trim that looks like it was cut with a a steak knife. The water spout in the shower wasn't screwed into the wall. The smoke alarm in the room was hanging by its wires. There was a cigarette burn hole in the coverlet of the bed. The water in the area (including a nearby restaurant) tasted and smelled like swamp water, so it's probably not the hotel's fault. The parking lot was well lit, though there are potholes in the long driveway up to the hotel; one of which would eat a small car. The hotel sits on top of a hill and is VERY quiet. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It was a very pleasant experience overall and I would definitely stay here again if in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, Virginia

Clean, comfortable beds, close to town.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
The location is good. The beds were very comfortable, it was clean, didn't see any bugs. The breakfast could be better. I would use it again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Good enough

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Location, view
Cons: Tear it down and build it up again or gut it and put in new everything.
Location: Natural Bridge, Caverns, Blue Ridge parkway, Lexington
While we had a good enough stay, the reviews about the hotel are spot on. It has seen better days, the stale mildew/mold/smoke/wet dog smell is everywhere and the place is run down. Nevertheless, it is probably par for the course given the price and location next to a small town off the interstate. We are a family of four, the room was ok and clean enough and the pool worked just fine. The view is outstanding and worth taking in the sunset over the valley every night. Staff are friendly enough, especially the swing shift person. The breakfast was simple but fed us, waffles, eggs, juice, Folger's coffee and cereal. There is a coffee roasting place about a mile down the road if Folgers will not get you going in the morning. We asked for non-smoking, non-pet and the third floor is where those rooms are. And despite it being next to the interstate, the rooms are quiet. For the price, you get what you pay for, but if you want more in a hotel, go elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.J

Hotel is in a nice location and appears ok.

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: The hotel overall seemed clean and the employees were very nice. Great location
Cons: Quality inspections of rooms
Location: No opportunity. We booked the room for a one night stay while traveling from Georgia to N.J. We arrived at 10:30pm and left at 7:00am the next morning
When we opened the door to our room there was a strong odor of vomit masked by the sweet smell of an air fashioner. The breakfast served the next morning had stale biscuits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge,Va

Weekend getaway.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
I enjoyed our stay here. Our room was fairly clean. I really loved our view from our room. The only thing I didn't care for was the breakfast. Sausage gravy with biscuits and eggs both days. But my husband and kids loved the waffles.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Tired and run-down

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Downtown Lexington (6 miles) lots of fun, resturants and antique shops galore, horse drawn carriage rides. Not too far from Natural Bridge/Caverns
Foyer nice, as is breakfast area but the rest of the hotel is pretty tired and run down. Pool fence has holes, there are no tables or umbrellas at pool, and chairs there have ripped fabric. Pool marginally clean. Wallpaper in room had two places where it was loose and flapping like the pages of a book (not small areas!) Roof over one outside entrance had been ripped away or rotted away, never replaced, air conditioner water drips on your head as you enter and exit. Hey, for half the price, you'd know what you were going to get. At this price, kinda dissappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good overnight on the road

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Convenience and price
Cons: Breakfast was heavy on carbs, pre-made "egg patties". Serviceable, but not great.
Location: Picking up kids from camp.
Basic, inexpensive, and clean. Easy-on, easy-off from highway. Exactly as expected. Be sure to request non-smoking if that is your preference.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, VA

Awesome Stay

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Keep up maintenance on leaky faucets & repair the overhang pool side awning & broken picnic table install 4 -6 iron outdoor grills w/picnic tables
Location: Natural bridge great caves nature walks, safari zoo, events like fairs and shows a drive-in movie, horse center, VMI, and historical places & more
After staying in Amherst, this place was like a palace. The staff, the food, the room size, soft beds, the pool and cost value of our stay was absolutely awesome. I would stay again and again--in fact, we were only going to stay one night and ended up staying three. Yes that place is old but folks that make you feel at home, and the view of the mountains and valley is fantastic. I even love the decor of the entry with the eye catching foam green leather sofas and being able to be greeted by ta life-sized Thomas Jefferson and an Indian.