Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms are the size of a closet

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Location!
Cons: Everything.
Location: Mont St. Michel speaks for itself
We had an expectation that the rooms would be small, but both rooms were too small to workable. There were other hotels at Mont St. Michel that were substantially less, but we paid a little more for these rooms with the expectation that they would be nicer. That was a mistake. The hotel was under construction and the plugs for the heaters were not functioning when we checked in. They had to turn off power to other areas of the hotel that were not finished in order for us to have heat. Don't pay the price for this hotel. There are better deals on the island or nearby.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from France

DIRTY, RUDE, WALKED IN ON IN SHOWER - PROMISED REF

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: NOTHING.
Cons: EVERYTHING. Staff are arrogant liars. The hotel was not the same one we booked with. It was dirty and hideous.
Mont St Michel is a beautiful place. However, do NOT stay overnight. The hospitality is the worst I have experienced. When we went to check in, there was a sign redirecting us to the reception of a different hotel. There, they told us our room (which we'd paid more for to get a ‘bay view’) was in a different, 3rd, hotel. Not the one we had booked. This hotel was appalling. No reception desk or welcome. The decor was dated and hideous; the entire place dirty and uninviting. Our room was worse. Despite alleging to be ‘non smoking’, the room reeked. We immediately asked for a new room. This room was nothing like the photos we had seen online. It wasn't even the same hotel! We were given another room, just a couple of doors down from the 1st room, in the same dreadful building. This room didn't smell. It was however unclean, with peeling wallpaper and dead insects encrusted into the walls. But, we didn't wish to complain again. I took a shower. It was then that a family unlocked the door to our room and walked in. Someone else had been given the key to our room! We were done. We demanded a refund. The receptionist adamantly tried to convince us that no one else had the key to our room (we obviously imagined them unlocking a locked door!). She was very arrogant. Upon asking for management, we were told there was none. However, after refusing to leave, a higher authority manifest. A refund was promised. We left. We have not seen that refund.They lied and stole our money!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute little hotel with the perfect location

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
This is a sweet little hotel. I personally wouldn't pay full price for it, but the room was on sale and it was great. The room was a reasonable size and had a full size bathroom. The location couldn't be better. The wifi didn't work, but I also didn't bother to ask the front desk to resolve it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Beautiful view - tired room

Posted Oct 19, 2016
The room needs revamping. The bed was comfortable, the faded prints, badly hung curtains, etc made the room feel old and worn out.. the view was great, the brief check in pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich, MA

Small but nice

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: There is only one. The Abby tour.
When space is at a premium one expects a small room. It was fine for one night to see this magical place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Mis-leading & a little disappointing

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Clearly the Abbaye and its location is thing you go to see. Try to see the location at low and high tides.
On arrival, the first clue was when we were asked by the receptionist which hotel we had booked - Les Terrasses Poulard surely? But no, it appears Les Terrasses Poulard operate a number of properties and the property that we stayed at was called a different name, although not far from the main property. The reception for all properties is just off the Grande Rue, up a short flight of steps. The property that we stayed out was up a lot more steep steps and to cap it off we were on the third floor of the property....and no lift. The property was quite tired and the room, whilst reasonably comfortable, turned out to be a twin instead of a double as requested. A mini bar, but no tea and coffee facility. The upside is that the property is set in a stunning location with some views of the bay and old town. Whilst somewhat let down by the description of the property, overall it was not bad value for money (that we paid) given the location. The hotel does have a restaurant, although it is run as separate business in the Grand Rue and is on the more expensive side of the restaurants on the Mont. Our visit was early October and everything appears to close at 18.00; assuming they were open in the first place. Many of the restaurants appeared to be closed for the season. You are a captured audience so be prepared to pay over the odds; prices at the only place open for drinks were a coffee Eur4.40 and a 0.5l beer Eur8.80.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Charming room.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
It was a pretty charming hotel room on MSM, close enough to the main entrance with not too much climbing to get to the hotel. A little bit over priced, but then again how many people can say that they have spent a night on the island. I'd do it again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can't beat the views!!

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Les Terrasses Poulard was a steal at $104 per night. The location was fantastic!!! We had a room with a view of the bay, it was spacious and clean. No wifi in the rooms, only in hotel lobby. The staff was friendly yet professional. You can not beat the location, your at the foot of the Abby!! Pack light, lots of stairs!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

ripoff

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: New management
Location: The abbey is beautiful but lacks atmosphere because of the large crowds with voluble guides showing no respect for the building's purpose.
I suppose a room the size of a monk's cell might be appropriate for the location but not for for £160 per night. Even when working (which it wasn't) the wifi is limited to the reception area. The lights in my room spontaneously came on in the middle of the night and there was no central power switch to extinguish them. Breakfast is a jaw dropping 19€
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very helpful staff

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Mont St. Michel is astounding in its beauty! Staying inside the walls was a special experience, and the staff of Les Terrasses Poulard made the visit really pleasant. Help with travel arrangements was a lifesaver!