Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maryland is my home when I'm not traveling.

Sheer Delight in Vermont

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: In addition to the chaise offered for seating in the Library Room, an extra chair would be appreciated
Location: Musts: The Vermont Country Store and the Equinox Auto Road
As if the charming town of Manchester isn't enough to make one smile, add to it a stay at The Reluctant Panther and even the most discerning of clientele will be set back on their heels. From Matt and Lisa's warm greeting and introduction to our sensational room, the Library Room,to the wonders of the Chef's creations, everything was most impressive. We will definitely be back, but not soon enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Sean, Hotel Management
Dear LB, Many thanks for your recent visit and thoughtful review! We are delighted that you enjoyed our warm hospitality, the comfort of the Inn and the delicious cuisine (starting with your included cooked-to-order breakfast!). We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Manchester. Warm regards, Sean Burpee General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
We had an amazing experience at the Reluctant Panther. Definitely worth it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Sean, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent visit and thoughtful review! We hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Sean Burpee General Manager
5 out of 5
by Vanessa

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Sean, Hotel Management
Dear Vanessa, Thank you for your five star review! We enjoyed welcoming you to the Inn and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm regards, Sean Burpee General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful classic inn

Posted Jun 28, 2017
From the greeting by the manager and staff to the end of our brief visit - a perfect hotel experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Sean, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent visit and thoughtful review! We hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Sean Burpee General Manager
5 out of 5
by Marc

A great place to stay

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
This is a really nice place - probably the best value in Manchester for a high-end hotel since they don't have a resort fee that the other nice places seem to have and they also include breakfast. Our room (Taconic) was comfortable and quiet - we heard no noises from other rooms during our stay. The bed and bathroom were huge. The room was too cold for our taste, we had to futz with the air conditioning controls to get what we wanted - I think the secret was turning the AC fan from High to Low. We arrived after 6pm so we wound up eating at the hotel - the sat us outside on the patio which was great for a lovely evening and we ordered off the main menu (although we would have had to settle for tappas if the dining room had been busier). The food was delicious. Breakfast was served as a meal - there were a half-dozen choices featuring eggs or pancakes, bacon/sausage/Canadian bacon, toast, pastries, and juice/coffee/tea. We would definitely stay there again - this was one of the finest hotels we've stayed at.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2017 by Sean, Hotel Management
Dear Marc, Many thanks for your recent visit and thoughtful review! We are delighted you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the delicious meals provided by Chef Sigal and her team. We agree: our very spacious and elegant rooms, warm hospitality, included cooked-to-order breakfast and no resort fee, make our rate value extremely competitive for a wonderful stay in Manchester. Thank you again for considering the Reluctant Panther, we hope to welcome you back on your next visit. Warm regards, Sean Burpee General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Sean, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back in the future and earn that fifth star!
5 out of 5
by William

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
The Inn is fabulous , from staff to accommodations , location, service , food, etc. It definitely will stay on our short list of preferred places to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Sean, Hotel Management
Thank you, William, we appreciate your thoughtful review! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Sean Burpee General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Orbitz
A great place to stay and eat! Excellent in every way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Sean, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed our Inn & Restaurant and hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Sean Burpee General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Treat Yourself

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
In winter, cozy up to a fireplace with a good book, a glass of wine, and shut the world out for a while.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Sean, Hotel Management
We love your priorities when looking to escape! Thank you for your thoughtful review, we hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Sean Burpee General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Relaxing and friendly

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The Inn has a marvelous restaurant, so it is convenient to have a romantic meal on the premises. The breakfast was also delightful.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Hiking, skiing, great restaurants - Manchester, VT is a great weekend get away.
From the start through the finish, the feeling of being cared for by the staff was constantly present. The manager greeted us, shook our hand, walked us to our room, and gave us a complementary upgrade due to a not so pleasant stay at a different hotel the previous night. The staff ensured our entire stay was relaxing and comfortable. The room was large and had a beautiful fireplace. The bathroom featured a giant classic tub with whirlpool as well as a very nice shower. Everything was just right. I would definitely come back to the Reluctant Panther, and most assuredly will when returning to Manchester.