Ratings based on 453 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price!

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Close to other beaches.
Cons: They need to renovate their rooms.
It's a very outdated hotel! The room had a funky smell, there were stains on the sheets and the pillows and bed was really uncomfortable.There is no beach access anymore because of the high tide. Oh, and their ocean view rooms are practically partial view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room

Posted Feb 4, 2017
We where upgraded to an ocean view and a bigger room was amazing view from our deck and we loved the larger room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice, good parking spaces, close to ocean.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Each room had a balcony. Layout of the room was good.
Cons: There needs to be more beach. The sea was right upon the wall with sand bags. We couldn't even walk on sand, it was filled with water.
Location: The hotel was close to local restaurants and entertainment. It was near a major highway to go into town. Really a great location.
The rooms, staff and grounds were great. The grounds were too close to the ocean and there wasn't an beach portion. We had to go down the street to get to a beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location with ocean view room

Posted Jan 2, 2017
But there were tiny bugs in kichen and bathroom. In kichen you don't feel like using any of the utensils or napkins as there were tiny bugs. I used my disposable plates, spoons and cups. It was very uncomfortable with kids to put anything on the kichen counter. May be they can do some treatment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good value, close to lots of beaches

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Overall the room was nice and a great value. Comfortable bed, updated bathroom and kitchenette. There was also a washer/dryer in the room which was very useful. Even though it was "garden view" room we could see much of the ocean. The beach in front of the hotel is eroded with no obvious intention of rebuilding. However, there are many beaches close. The hotel is about an hour drive from the airport and most of the tour activities available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Nice oceanfront room for the price

Posted Nov 23, 2016
This was our second time staying at the Royal Kahana while on Maui. We stayed in a 1 bedroom oceanfront room this time (last time partial ocean view studio) and we were very pleased with the room! We had a great view from the living room and bedroom. The Lanai was also spacious so we sat out there many mornings and enjoyed coffee. They provided dish soap and one laundry detergent packet but if you need more, you can ask the front desk (which we did). The kitchen and bathroom were also modern and had all of the basic utensils and appliances (stove, microwave, sink, dish washer, oven). Now on to the less pleasing things...their beach is gone so you need to either walk over to the Sands of Kahana (not too far) or get in your car and drive. Since the best beaches for snorkeling aren't in the immediate area, this wasn't a terrible problem for us because we would have driven to a different beach anyway but I'm sure this could affect some people's decision. The pool is also average. Nothing too special about it so we didn't spend time there. As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel looks a little dated but it's clean and affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hayward, CA

Nice Accommodations

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Having a complete Kitchen area was very great.
Location: Local food shops, nearby eateries
I stayed here many years ago and always found it a good place to stay. The only exception this time were the roaches that came to stay with us. They had the exterminators come in the same day. Otherwise it is a good place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good for the money

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Ocean view from room, fitness center, free parking, well appointed room, location. Manager compensated me for the inconveniences I experienced, staff helpful and welcoming.
Cons: Dryer caused clothes to get stuck between rim and drum and clothes tore when pulled out, bathroom sink handle leaked and couldn't be fixed while I was there. Towel had to be kept around handle.
Location: Near Lahaina, Kannapalli Beach, Whalers Shopping Center, Post Office, Times Market, Roy's Restaurant (the best), short trips to Paia, aquarium.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!!! great room , great view.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Full Kitchen, bed was comfortable, good view, beach was nice, small but nice
Cons: The dryer did not work that good, took forever to dry clothes
Location: Great Location! close to good snorkeling and hiking trails.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great rooms, lots of space w/amenities!

Posted Oct 3, 2016
We loved having the condo feel to our room. Large living room area with separate eating area, washer/dryer in room. Big bedroom with large closet made you feel like you could unpack and not live out of your suitcase. Had a few small issues with the stove that were very quickly remedied by the front desk, excellent service! All in all a great place to stay!