Ratings based on 768 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good value, close to lots of beaches

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Overall the room was nice and a great value. Comfortable bed, updated bathroom and kitchenette. There was also a washer/dryer in the room which was very useful. Even though it was "garden view" room we could see much of the ocean. The beach in front of the hotel is eroded with no obvious intention of rebuilding. However, there are many beaches close. The hotel is about an hour drive from the airport and most of the tour activities available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Nice oceanfront room for the price

Posted Nov 23, 2016
This was our second time staying at the Royal Kahana while on Maui. We stayed in a 1 bedroom oceanfront room this time (last time partial ocean view studio) and we were very pleased with the room! We had a great view from the living room and bedroom. The Lanai was also spacious so we sat out there many mornings and enjoyed coffee. They provided dish soap and one laundry detergent packet but if you need more, you can ask the front desk (which we did). The kitchen and bathroom were also modern and had all of the basic utensils and appliances (stove, microwave, sink, dish washer, oven). Now on to the less pleasing things...their beach is gone so you need to either walk over to the Sands of Kahana (not too far) or get in your car and drive. Since the best beaches for snorkeling aren't in the immediate area, this wasn't a terrible problem for us because we would have driven to a different beach anyway but I'm sure this could affect some people's decision. The pool is also average. Nothing too special about it so we didn't spend time there. As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel looks a little dated but it's clean and affordable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hayward, CA

Nice Accommodations

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Having a complete Kitchen area was very great.
Location: Local food shops, nearby eateries
I stayed here many years ago and always found it a good place to stay. The only exception this time were the roaches that came to stay with us. They had the exterminators come in the same day. Otherwise it is a good place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good for the money

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Ocean view from room, fitness center, free parking, well appointed room, location. Manager compensated me for the inconveniences I experienced, staff helpful and welcoming.
Cons: Dryer caused clothes to get stuck between rim and drum and clothes tore when pulled out, bathroom sink handle leaked and couldn't be fixed while I was there. Towel had to be kept around handle.
Location: Near Lahaina, Kannapalli Beach, Whalers Shopping Center, Post Office, Times Market, Roy's Restaurant (the best), short trips to Paia, aquarium.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from São Paulo

Médio conforto em hotel muito grande em Maui.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Localização permite facilidade de acesso aos pontos principais da ilha.
Os quartos tem bom tamanho para um hotel de categoria média. Muitos quartos e sempre muito movimentado. A proposta do hotel é oferecer uma boa relação custo-beneficio, sem nada a mais.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved it!!! great room , great view.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Full Kitchen, bed was comfortable, good view, beach was nice, small but nice
Cons: The dryer did not work that good, took forever to dry clothes
Location: Great Location! close to good snorkeling and hiking trails.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great rooms, lots of space w/amenities!

Posted Oct 3, 2016
We loved having the condo feel to our room. Large living room area with separate eating area, washer/dryer in room. Big bedroom with large closet made you feel like you could unpack and not live out of your suitcase. Had a few small issues with the stove that were very quickly remedied by the front desk, excellent service! All in all a great place to stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from México DF

excelente hotel ubicado en la playa

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: la hospitalidad e instalaciones
Cons: la playa, que terminen la renovación
Location: Maui es un bello lugar para descansar y hacer ecodeporte
El hotel se encuentra en una excelente ubicación, cuenta con todos los servicios tipo condominio y es muy acogedor, privado. La atención del personal de la recepción (los hombres) con un excelente trato, buscando soluciones y tratando de ayudar a los clientes
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

とにかく便利です

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: 値段もリーズナブルであり、周りにもそこそこレストランなどもあり車さえあればとても便利だと思います。
Cons: 施設が少々古い。
少々古いですが快適に過ごせると思います。従業員の方もあまり愛想を振りまくまでもなくもくもくとやることはやっていいますから良いと思います、また、コンシェルジュの方も丁寧に対応していただきわかり易く説明していただきました。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornelius, OR

Nice Hotel, right on the beach, terrific views

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly and helpful Room price reasonable Right on the beach Nearby shopping & restaurants, many within walking distance
Cons: The building is older and could use some updating. The noise from sanding the elevator doors (there must have been a better way to fix the paint).
My first trip to Hawaii, and had a wonderful experience. Our room was clean, had everything we needed, and had a view of the pool, beach and 2 other islands. Staff was friendly and helpful. Two drawbacks-1. Someone had used the wrong paint on the elevators, and the crews were power-sanding it off. The noise echoed though the building for a few hours every day. Luckily we didn't hang around the hotel much, so not a huge issue for us. 2. The beach had been severely eroded by a storm, and the neighboring hotel had heavy equipment working all day to sandbag the beach. However this only lasted 2 days, then was finished. There was still plenty of beach to walk on, and the water was wonderful. Saw sea turtles in the surf just a few feet away from us. We will plan to return to this place.