Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
I didn't like being told, at the last minute, that we were being upgraded. I don't know how having to walk up two long flights of stairs is now an upgrade.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Location

Posted Sep 16, 2016
An old (1800), historic hotel with a nice staff & very good restaurant. Truthfully, it's about the only place to stay in Middlebury! The hotel needs an updating. For example, my room had a window a/c that was on the noisy side & not terribly effective for heat/cold. The baths are small & dated. Not much you can do about size, but an updating is in order. The hotel has enormous charm, the location is great, and the staff is very nice. Plus, a quite good restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Well kept Historic hotel with reasonable pricing

Posted Aug 31, 2016
We stayed in the inn, not the annex, although the rest of our family stayed there. We loved the historic feel of the rooms and the hallways. Our room was quite comfortable with lots of sunlight and all the important amenities of a hotel room. There was plenty of parking and the location to the surrounding area was tremendous--you could walk everywhere. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Middlebury!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful hotel in historic college town

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Everything! From the pictures on the walls, to the friendly employees, I couldn't have been any more pleased with my choice.
Elegant brick hotel (built, I believe, in 1827) with extremely affordable rates located virtually on the campus of Middlebury College in western Vermont about 20 miles east of Lake Champlain. Tea, coffee, cookies and light sandwiches served in cozy living room every afternoon at 4. Rooms are spacious, spotless and beautifully appointed with fridge for snacks and cold drinks. I ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel (very good), but the town, which is within walking distance, has numerous other places to choose from. I was visiting my son, who is taking summer classes at Middlebury's famous graduate school of English, called Bread Loaf, an absolutely breathtaking 7 mile car ride up a fairly steep mountain that happens to pass by the home of poet Robert Frost! There is no good reason to stay anywhere else when visiting the town of Middlebury.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Near where activities were taking place for the weekend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
No regular elevator made it difficult for us. Old style elevator required bellman so we just used stairs. No free water like other hotels. Loved porches and having dinner outside.
5 out of 5
by Mary Ann from Madison NJ

Lovely hotel in a historic little town.

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here on the college tour circuit. Very good price and excellent breakfast (a la carte for $. I had paid extra to stay in the inn after reading previous reviews and we were upgraded on top of that - our room was very luxurious. Nice places to eat and lovely verrmont touristy shops - stacked up on maple syrup. The college was lovely, so all in all a great visit and hope to come back!
5 out of 5
by minghua

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
very friendly, quaint
4 out of 5
by Mary

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
The staff upgraded our room, which was nice, but the pillows were too firm.