Ratings based on 984 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Budget Hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2018
The breakfast was excellent. The room was disappointing. I heard heavy traffic all night. Also only had one AC unit in the bedroom, none in the living area. The bathroom was smaller than the closet. The location is safe and close to the airport and the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Needs updating!

Posted Jan 14, 2018
The gardens are beautiful, but the buildings are outdated, worn and not taken care of. We are an elderly couple and were placed in a 3rd floor, 6 flight of stairs room with no elevator. Our room was next to a highway with constant, very loud traffic noise. Very poor internet and very poor phone connection. I was unable to call home regarding a death in the family. Ordered room service and food was delivered cold, not even luke warm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Close to "Hip Strip" but very dated rooms

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Rooms have lots of space. Good Jamaican breakfast. Close to "Hip-Strip" and Doctor's Cave beach
Cons: Rooms are extremely outdated. The bathroom appeared clean but had an unpleasant odor that was a huge turn-off.
Location: Doctor's Cave Beach, Starbucks, Shopping (elevator ride away) Margaritaville (10 min walk) Restaurants (5-10 min walk)
I stayed one night because my flight was canceled and needed a cheaper option than the all-inclusive I had stayed for two previous nights. My overall assessment is ... if you can get a deal, not concerned about the outdated room and plan on spending most of time off the property then because of proximity to other attractions it is not bad. It would also be appealing to families or a group of friends staying in one room because of the space.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to the Doctor's Cave Beach

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Cons: Needs updating
Location: Perfect to walk to the Hip Strip and beach
I've been staying here for 15 years. Secure and friendly feeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great Value next to MBJ Airport

Posted Jan 5, 2018
We ended up choosing El Greco after our flight was delayed a day, and we were stuck in Montego Bay. We’d come from an expensive 5-Star All-Inclusive Resort, so of course this place would not necessarily provide the same experience...but at $120 for a night in a room that could sleep 5-6 (we had a king bed, queen bed, and twin bed) with a balcony, swimming pool, TVs, A/C (and other basic amentities), I would gladly give this place 4 stars and recommend it to budget travelers needing to be close to MBJ. There are a few cons, however, that you should consider before staying here. 1. Because it’s so close to the airport, it can get noisy with planes...however, we didn’t mind as we wanted to be close to the airport. Taxis aren’t cheap here! ($15 to airport from here...which is less than 2 miles away) 2. Because it’s not a giant All-Inclusive, there’s not much to do...but you definitely get what you paid for. This place is good longer-term for those with plans on what to do. We didn’t expect to stay in Montego Bay and weren’t comfortable roaming around alone.. Overall, we are just glad for an affordable place to stay after the flight issues we experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great location

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Overall the hotel is nice. We liked our stay in a spacious and comfortable family suite. It takes you just 5 minutes to get to the beach (hotel is on the hill with spectacular views but you use elevator to get down to the beach). Hotel provides beach passes every other day which is convenient. Beach towels are also provided. The pool is small but we didn't use it as the beach is marvellous and the sea is calm and warm. Some drawbacks: 1) internet is very very slow (the best quality is at reception and in a restaurant). 2) The restaurant has limited choice of food (breakfast is either American or Jamaican but American version was the same all 8 days - 2 eggs, bacon, toasts, juice, coffee). For lunch and dinner the menu is pretty simple but nevertheless we enjoyed eating there several times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Great place to stay if you’re not going to an all inclusive
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Breakfast was delicious; the staff very warm and friendly. Beautiful flowers and plants. Access to WiFi is almost impossible. Landline phone is limited to the facility. A little bit of upgrade to the rooms and amenities will make this place the perfect resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford Ct

Posted Nov 28, 2017
First experience here but surely won't be the last. If you're for a low-keyed, relaxed getaway this is,the place! Staff was friendly, the complimentary breakfast was great....overall was a good 4 days stay for me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

The food was very good.

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: The people and how clean it was and the location
Cons: Let Expedia know all cost up front, Like the $100.00 hold when you check in
Location: Located near everything, nice
The people were so nice and friendly it made me feel like I was at home