Ratings based on 862 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Arlington Virginia

Beautiful views good food and plenty of activities

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: The staff was top notch. They were friendly, upbeat always smiling. Shout to Calvin jerk chicken Mon.
Cons: Ground floor rooms had a strong odor of mold. The staff immediately moved us to the 2nd floor.
Location: I stayed on the resort. No reason to leave.
Check-in could be more organized. Do not try to set me up for a timeshare appointment at 8:00 am on the first day of vacation. Shout out to my girl Natalie always smiling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Administrative Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. We are glad to learn you enjoyed the friendly staff that catered to your every need and also the famous jerk chicken you had. It is very unfortunate we had to relocate you to another room due to the odor of mold. We thank you once again for your review and we hope to hosting you next time. Regards, Patrice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Can't wait to return

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Location, beach, view, food
Cons: Pool/beach access to chairs. Larger variety of selections in mini bar, include snacks in mini bar, lighting in room without sun is terrible. TV stuf
Location: Awfully expensive to leave the property. Really. Used to getting a cheap taxi into town to eat/explore/sight see. Not here. Excursions good time
Just returned from a week long stay. Really, really fell in love with Jamaica and this property. Loved the location, the white sand beach, the pool, our Ocean Front room(s) all had lovely views (partly obscured by Palm Tree in one room), watching cruise ships enter the port. Saw planes landing, and heard each one take off. Food quality was far better than expected, the French and Jamaican restaurants were the best. Italian was next. Took a few days to figure out all the lunch options, which were more limited. Also took a few days to find the bar with the best and most experienced staff and largest selection of drinks (mixes/liquors). Staff very friendly and welcoming, every day, every time. Bed nice, soft, comfy. Room service surprisingly swift. However..as with all properties, there are some improvements to be made. Biggest is inability to get poolside or beach chair. They don't enforce policy to avoid 'reserving' chairs without being present. $60 round trip to town!! Needed batteries changed on door locks/room safe. Power kept weirdly snapping on/off at times. TV flat screen, but cheap model, blurred easily with motion, no HD channels. Hibatchi dinner was lackluster at Asian restaurant. However, was quite the deal and as above, would go back anytime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks, UK

Fabukous hotel.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Great location, pristine in all respects and fabulous food. Great holiday in every respect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Excellent Hotel on the beach!

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Everything! Hotel, staff, food, amenities, activities available, the beach...
Location: Excursions - Dunnes River Waterfall, and Mystic Mountain were excellent adventures!
Professional and friendly service from start to finish!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from boston

excellent hotel on the beach

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: beach, pools, rooms, staff
Cons: food options for dinner, lunch
Location: never left the property
I loved the hotel, the facilities were great, the staff very friendly, the only drawback is that is an all-inclusive hotel, and the food is disappointing, especially the available dinner options. Otherwise, a very enjoyable vacation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LI NEw York

Great property great service

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Great property has almost everything you would want- food quality is the only improvement- presentation is great but all food is pre plated and almost tastes too institutional But the bars and service make up for lack of quality and taste. Best meal is jerked chicken cart as far as taste Staff is awesome friendly and accommodating -
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central New Jersey

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Great vacation. We stayed at St. James and the restaurants and nightlife are a bit of a walk. Not too far but it feels like it when you have been drinking. I suggest staying at Wild Orchid. Food was overall good. Not exceptional but good. My only complaint is that the servers need to make sure to give you coffee immediately at breakfast. We usually had to chase them down, which was a pain. Beach is beautiful. Pools are fun. Rooms were clean, no complaints there. Free Wifi which was unexpected. Resort was very clean. I would definitely recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

Mostly nice

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Great location and helpful staff. Don't be fooled by the $200 credit for hotel amenities. That's a con. They limit you to $40 per treatment, so for my wife and I to get $200 massages, it's $20 each off a overpriced massage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing Visit!

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: The service, employees, beautiful grounds, great beach and pools, entertainment
Cons: The rooms could be updated a bit
Location: Extremely close to the airport
Just got home from an incredible stay at this resort. Everything was amazing, from our room (oceanfront 4th floor), the service from employees, the beautifully kept grounds, the food, and the nightly entertainment. The employees were so quick to go out of their way to make you happy. I have never had such a positive experience at any resort before! My only suggestion is that you do not book a "preferred" room. There is construction going on right next to the preferred side of Saint James that gets rather loud the closer you get to that side of the resort. You cannot hear any construction going on from the normal suites or the Wild Orchid side! It was awesome having the amenities to Wild Orchid. That is where all of the restaurants and entertainment is. It is a brief (yet beautiful) walk over to that resort. You really couldn't even tell that you were going to a separate resort because it felt like it was all one huge resort.. All around, I would come back here again in no time. My only regret about staying at this resort was that we didn't book more nights here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Great escape!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
The resort was beautiful and very well maintained. Staff was welcoming, accommodating and attentive to the guests' needs. They always made sure you were taken care of with drinks and food. Food was decent for being an all inclusive and there was a decent variety of restaurants and items to choose from. Rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. There was something going on every day and night so plenty of activities and entertainment. We went off the resort twice and each time the guides were friendly and knowledgeable. All in all this was a very relaxing and pleasant vacation and we will definitely return to Secrets.