Ratings based on 965 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Secret to Success at Secrets St James

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Had an amazing time - make sure you get your drinks from Andre & Leo at the Manatee swim up bar - these master mixologists make every drink incredible! Also make sure to have a dinner at Seaside Grill and ask for Chef Mario - you can’t miss him he’s 6’4”! And say hello to the delightful Christhan; she gives the best tips and advice and just makes you feel welcome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Nice hotel on beach

Posted Jan 16, 2018
The hotel is beautiful. The restaurants are all good and there wasn’t a line up to get in Staff is very friendly Very clean hotel The only problem was the pools are not heated so they were a bit cold
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Toni- Ann , Hotel Management
Dear Shazia, Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and was satisfied with our accommodations and services. Thank you so much for making us your vacation destination and allowing us to host you; it was a pleasure! We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon! Warm Regards, Toni- Ann Clark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Nice resort. Very clean. Comfortable. Staff very friendly. Lots of activities through out day. Very small beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Toni- Ann , Hotel Management
Thank you so much! We cannot express our gratitude enough to have been made your destination of choice, it was such a pleasure to be of service. Thank you for sharing your feedback and highlighting our resort; we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again! Warm Regards, Toni- Ann Clark.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami FL

Not worth the money

Posted Jan 5, 2018
very mediocre Food very mediocre customer service the night activities not fun at all the night club looked wore out and just like a bad spot nothing to it. sow a few roaches in the room and the very loud room refrigerator. Beach very nice and good drinks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

nice hotel with private beach

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: nice private beach and view from hotel room
Cons: better training for staff and non smoking areas outside
Location: very nice spa and beach and some good entertainment on some days
several things went wrong besides the minor ones like toilets not working, safe low battery, etc but the most critical one was that staff are not talking to each other. We told several staff that a fourth person was coming later including the name but when he checked in nobody knew anything about it and wanted to charge us again, then we had a birthday and expected to have a nice dinner with a birthday cake and a candle and have them the waiter sing Happy Birthday but this was too much to ask for and then we had to help clean our table and get our own drinks because nobody around and then we had to call more than 5 times regarding our transfer to airport and then we still got calls asking for the same information regarding our flight numbers, just very frustrating. Wait times for dinner up to one hour was too long and reservations cannot be made
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Amazing views

Posted Jan 3, 2018
The views of the sea are breathtaking, if your lucky you will see a rainbow. The resort is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. For my husband and I the upgrade to the preferred section was worth it. There is less noise, the beach and views are beautiful and there is waiter service on the beach that keeps the drinks coming. Only nagative thing was being able to hear horns beeping from local traffic and neighbors but we spent most of the time out the room so that was minor for us. Must have sunset dinner on the beach. It’s amazing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sad

Posted Dec 30, 2017
We had visited this resort four years ago and were very sad to see the deterioration of the property. Everything is run down and not maintained with limited staff and poor service. And the staff is now expecting to be tipped and let it be known Which would not be an issue if the service was worth tipping. The entertainment each evening was good which saved the day. Considering what we paid to travel over the holidays it was very disappointing stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Friendly Staff and good food and drinks. Rooms were spacious and very nice.
Cons: Getting from airport to hotel faster and less stressful. Making sure excursions after booked are done correctly.
Location: Boat cruises, parasailing lots of tours.
Great except the JLT VACATIONS We waited almost an hour to get to Hotel with shuttle service and returning they messed up our time and one tour they didn't get 2 of the 5 included in transfer to one of our excursions. Since I booked thru expedia there was nothing the hotel would do for us. That was NOT good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Top Notch resort in Jamaica

Posted Dec 28, 2017
The facilities, service, food, drink, and entertainment were all excellent. The only minor complaint is that the beach has too many rocks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Great experience services were nice n they were very friendly