Ratings based on 879 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Im indifferent

Posted Jun 21, 2017
The lobby has an overpowering cologne smell. The ladies werent very friendly. The pool bartenders were amazing! The food was horrible. Def not 5 star. Always had a pool and beach chair available. Id say if the food was better we'd be back all the time. The room was kind of small. The Spa was way overpriced for what you get. And the Excursion company they have on-site AmStar is joke do not use them
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Christina , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is through such comments that we are able to make changes to our service delivery to benefit our guests such as yourself. it is a regret that some aspects of your experience did not meet your expectations and we will continue to review and improve for future. Regards, Christina Smith
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ga

Perfect 10 year anniversary vacation

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Secrets went above and beyond or expectations. Alvin the bartender by st James pool is the best bartender we have ever met. I highly recommend this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Christina , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: Your kind review of our resort is greatly appreciated and we thank you for sharing. I am happy that the service extended by our team exceeded your expectations and your experience resulted in your recommendation of our property. Thank you for having visited and for sharing your review. Kind Regards, Christina Smith
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

nice hotel. beach is very small. great staff

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: resort itself, great staff
Cons: beach area too small. restaurant had small menus with limited choices.
Location: they will recommend not to go outside the resort. Nothing much outside. No shops, no restaurants close by. We were advised not to go outside resort.
nice hotel, majority of the staff was great except few at breakfast buffet and French restaurant. Beach is small. pool bar is the best. casino also small. Restaurant menus are very small. French restaurant was out of food on Monday, Maxican restaurant was also out of soup and some other food and choices were limited. Breakfast and Lunch should include local seasonal fruits like Mangoes, Ackee, guava etc. $200 voucher to get discounts was not mush help based on prices and we did not use facilities. Resort is very good but needs improvement on food, beach, restaurant choices with expanded menus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Christina , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay with us. I am pleased to note that you enjoy the resort overall and have also shared your comment regarding the menu selections and restaurant issues with our Culinary and Food and Beverage teams for review and improvement. Your comment about the seasonal fruit options has also been noted and our team will certainly make changes as the supply of those items allows us to. Your review does allow us to know what our customers desire and is deemed very valuable by us all and I thank you once again on behalf of our team for taking the time to post. Best Regards, Christina Smith
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great Hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: All the activities on the property. The food was great.
Cons: nothing
Location: There was so much to do on property I didn't have to leave.
I couldn't be more impressed with the hotel and staff. This is the second time I have stayed at a Secrets Resort. When I arrived at the resort I asked for and I was upgraded to a ocean view. The staff, food, drinks and activities were great. The hotel was only 8 years old and the rooms were great. I can not think of anything that could of made my stay better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Discrimination

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: the beach
Cons: staff needs to work on their attitude and treat guests with respect regardless of their race
Location: none
My parents were treated poorly and unfairly by some staff. The staff were really disrespectful and talked down on my parents. However, their attitude changed immediately to professional and polite when they greeted non Asian guests. I emailed management regarding this issue during their stay and no answer at all. Their menu at French and Italian restaurants were also different (less options) from other guests. My mom asked for smoothie at the bar and the bar tender made fun of her accent in front of other guests. Never thought discrimination and racism exists in the resort while on vacation. Refusal to respond from management means this is allowed and acceptable. This is not how to treat guests Jamaican. SAD!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Most relaxing wedding ever...

Posted May 16, 2017
I had my wedding there with a small group of family. Everyone was very happy with the resort. Multiple choices with location of wedding, choices of colors and lots of extras. The food was delicious...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Bit of a let down

Posted May 11, 2017
Hotel was ok, but not the 5 star experience we were hoping for. Buffet food was fine but 'a la carte' dining in the evening was generally terrible. From long waits for tables in empty restaurants, moody staff, unpleasant/bland/uncooked food, the list goes on. We complained twice as after I first brought it to the attention of the manager nothing changed. The second time I spoke to the 'Director of Food and Drink' who offered us a complimentary 'romantic meal for 2 on the beach'. The standard of food for that was greatly improved but still nothing special. Wouldn't return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not LUXURY

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Secrets Resort St James Montego Bay Management and Expedia, I recently booked a trip with Expedia to stay at Secrets St. James in Montego Bay Jamaica. I booked a last minute trip to surprise my wife for our 1 year anniversary on April 23rd. She picked this resort based on customer reviews and the images of the resort. We also decided to get the junior suite with an oceanfront view to make it more romantic. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted and told to check-in with the desk. The young gentleman that served us was pleasant and my wife said we are celebrating our 1 year anniversary so if we could have a really good oceanfront room that would be amazing. He stated he had a room open that was just the room and we finished with the check-in process and proceeded to our room with bellman assistance. The room seemed to be ready, it didn't look like the images inline, no decorative pillows, or flower vase on the table like the image gave it a luxury look but we continued on. Upon looking around at the room we noticed the room was missing the two robes that were part of the room amenities, and the pillows on the bed were exceptional thin, like the kind that have been used a lot or bought at a very inexpensive rate. I then tried to call the housekeeping number to request pillows listed in the book provided in the room if you desire different pillows and to ask for robes. That's when we found out the phone wasn't working for our room after multiple attempts. I then said we w
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

All Inclusive perfection.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Great room with a beautiful view. Very clean. Slow paced but overall extremely friendly staff. Food and drinks is delicious, especially the Jerk Chicken cart! Many restaurants.Although tips aren't necessary they go a long way. Tours and private cabs outside the resort can be pricey. Make friends with a local(one that works at resort) and they can help. Many daily activities. Surprisingly Wifi works great out there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic accommodations

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Rooms (bed and pillows), ocean view. Food and poolside entertainment. Bar staff was excellent. Cleanliness of the resort. Sits on the beach.
Location: We did not participate with any excursions. It was nice to be close to the airport, but the sounds of the planes was not a disturbance.
Secrets, St. James was a fantastic all inclusive resort. Close to the airport without the sound of flying planes, sits right on the beach. Excellent choice of restaurants. Pools were clean and entertainment staff was above and beyond. Our rooms were excellent, the bed and pillows were so comfy and am trying to figure out where I can purchase the same kind for my home. Rooms were clean and enjoyable. Highly recommend this for your next vacation destination.