Ratings based on 847 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, small resort with big resort amenities.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Overall, we had a great experience! A few things that weren't quite as we anticipated included the hibachi restaurant not being anything spectacular compared to experiences at other resorts and the room cleaning never nailed everything in one day. Nothing to make or break the experience but just note worthy. There was so much to do at this resort. Watersports, activities, celebrations, etc. If you are bored here you'd be bored anywhere. The beach is excellent with lots of chairs and spaces to lounge. The water sports available are also great. There are lots of bars for the number of people there and the service was excellent! The food was also excellent! So many options and the quality and variety was the best I've seen at a resort. Meal times were a bit odd to me personally, but easily adjusted to.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice Resort, recommended

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Cons: Housekeeping was nice and clean. But we didn't like the fact they come later to bring you towels and anything you need for shower. (late afternoon)
Very Nice resort, clean, friendly staff and good food. It's a place for relaxing. Adult only. Very recommended if you want to stay in Jamaica.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

My Time at Secrets

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: The grounds were beautiful, the rooms were spacious and the staff were friendly & pleasant.
Cons: They should have a 24 hour restaurant which offers burgers fries pizza hot dogs and such. They should give guest a heads up when there's construction.
Location: The hotel is about 20 minutes to a half hour from the airport depending on if a cruise ship is in port. Close to town.
I went to Secrets St. James for a 20 year anniversary vow renewal ceremony. The resort was directly on the beach and the grounds were spectacular. I had a room all to myself (the additional cost for that really wasn't much more than sharing with someone else) and it was very spacious, clean and had just about everything you need with the exception of a microwave & iron (they give you a steam iron instead). The staff were very pleasant, helpful and accommodating (make sure you get your complementary slippers & robe in your room, I didn't get either I had to ask the housekeeper who cleaned my room but she put both items in the room with no problem when I returned). The food choices were not great, breakfast & lunch had buffet which was good but dinner choices, you had to select from multiple restaurants and the food menus from them were not so good, room service food was actually better for dinner. They had these great little cubbies were you put your room service food for them to pic up so there would not be food sitting in the hallway (which I think is genius because I hate seeing people's food sitting in the hallway for hours). There was a show each night, there was a club opened every night (where on Thursday night the DJ was awesome, we danced from the time it opened to the time we left which was 3 hours straight), there were daily water & entertainment activities & someone on beach & on property grilling the best jerk chicken daily. Overall it's a very very nice resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice stay

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Ocean view room, good food. Nice weather. Clean room.
Cons: Sometimes they dont give you that much privacy in room between all the services
Location: Beach, pool.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful views and wonderful staff

Posted Nov 8, 2016
The room was exactly as described in the pictures however there was a considerable amount of construction and repairs happening throughout the resort. The hotel staff was very accommodating and wonderfully pleasant. The a la cart restaurants were delicious but the lunch buffet was mediocre and disappointing. Overall a lovely trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

One of the best vacations yet.......

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Location: The hotel has many activities throughout the day, and evening. There is also many other things to do outside facility.
Our room was oceanfront view, beautiful view room from balcony, beds were very comfortable, amenities were top notch from 24 hour room service, to the stocked mini bar. The hotel staff were all very friendly. The food was very exquisite, never had to eat the same things (unless you wanted them), great variety. I will definitely plan on returning. The only thing that I could pick out from the stay was the balcony slider door - very hard to open, and close. The hotel did offer us an upgrade, however, we declined.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 30, 2016
The view from our room was breathtaking. The hotel staff was wonderful. Plenty to do on the resort or just relax on the beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from High Point, United States of America

Great oceanfront resort

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Location: Shopping, dining, excursions
Rooms need updating, shower leaking, lizards in room. Great bars and bar staff, good food, great night shows
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The staff was very friendly! The pillows!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Pillows, staff, no kids!
Cons: The room could have been a little cleaner. Didn't like that there were "club exclusive" areas.
Location: Beautiful beaches, quiet, Island transfer transportation was awesome! Lots of tours but expensive and all 45 mins or more away.
Friendly staff ready to do whatever whenever it was needed. The bed was so comfy! The pillows were awesome! Treated our honeymoon the way it should be treated. Lots of great entertainment and energy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: All inclusive, adults only, the food
Cons: Sometimes too layed back with the service of the food but the food was always good though. The massage I got was ok. Not worth the price.
Location: We didn't do anything off the resort. The location was good as far as not being very far from the airport.
Secrets St James was a great place to stay. All the food was awesome. Staff was always friendly. The resort as a whole was always clean. It took some getting used to the layed back service at the restaurants. It would take a while to get our food sometimes.