Ratings based on 944 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

room concerns & tipping

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: the restaurants
Cons: house keeping service
the room never had enough towels an no floor mat by the shower, they never provided clean glasses, there was always dirty glasses in the cubby, we had to call 3 times in 5 days just to get enough towels. We asked twice for robes and they were never provided. the worst thing about this "all inclusive" resort is if you did not constantly tip you received very little service, "especially at the bar".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Beautiful Resort

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: The hotel itself was beautiful. We loved how each space had its own flair and character. The pool staff, Andre and Leo especially, were AMAZING.
Cons: I think first time guests should get a little more assistance at sign in to understand better what is and is not included in the stay.
Location: We LOVED our room location. It was over the party pool and we were greeted by fun music and shows everyday. There are tons of activities to do.
We had a wonderful first time experience at the all inclusive Secrets Montego Bay. However, with it being our first experience and our Honeymoon, we did have some things we would change. We told everyone up front that it was our Honeymoon yet never received a banner like the other rooms to congratulate us. We also were clear up front that we had never been to an all inclusive resort before and would really have benefited from a tour or some additional time with the staff. We would go down to the front desk to ask questions and they would look at us like we were idiots. I think if we had gotten a tour or some additional time with someone to explain a little more about the property and what to expect, we would have felt more comfortable overall. The service staff was all friendly and welcoming so that did assist with making us feel more comfortable through the week. For a first time experience though, I was a little disappointed in the front desk staff for not setting us up for a smoother transition. We also were informed that the travel to and from the airport was included in our reservation and yet we had to pay out of pocket for both of those trips. We also were told that the small sail boats and kayaks at the resort were included in our package, yet the Water Sports staff tried to have us pay $20/ each for both of these experiences. In some ways, we felt like we were getting taken advantage of by the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago,IL.

Have a great time without the D@#$

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: clean and safety
Cons: people selling drugs
at airport they try and sell you drugs and at place we were staying some of the hotel staff were selling drugs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

Nice Resort, Had a beach wedding here.

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Had an overall great experience. Resort is nice. Staff is very friendly. We had a planned beach wedding, but it rained (down poured) 10 minutes before my ceremony and they were quick to respond to move my ceremony to a closed in terrain which still gave us the nature feel. Overall the wedding went great but here’s tips for future brides: I had my hair done on the side we rehearsed, and the day of the ceremony the wind was blowing in opposite direction in our new location, so my hair didn’t show in the videography section of the ceremony. Also, we had a 2 post bamboo that blew over before the ceremony started so I highly recommend spending a little extra on the 4 post. Additionally, we got a fire dancer and surprised our guests, and they loved it! It was an amazing addition to our wedding. Photography and videography were great to work with but I felt like a good chunk of our pictures were blurry, but there was enough good pictures to make a photo album. Restaurants were very accommodating to my group of 17 people and everyone was pleased with all of the food. Only restaurant we didn’t make it too was the French restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Just Ok

Posted Nov 9, 2017
If you're used to high levels of customer service, skip this one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Secrets St. James was great. The staff was hospitable and lots to do on the property. The food at the many different restaurants was top notch. The jerk chicken cart is a must! This was the perfect girl’s trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Superb

Posted Nov 6, 2017
People were great the food pleasing to the plate beautifully presented the weather of course could not be controlled were very pleased
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse

Everyone was wonderful!

Posted Nov 5, 2017
As soon as we arrived, we were greeted with smiles and kindness. Food was fantastic, drinks were as well. A MUST! If it's your first time. Check out Seggy on the Segway tours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Gorgeous beaches

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: The beaches
Cons: The water faucets to wash off sand by the pool didn't work.
This was my first time staying at a Secrets resort. It was absolutely gorgeous. Loved it, would like to visit more Secrets in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Secrets st james

Posted Nov 2, 2017
I booked this stay for four days for my husband‘s birthday I was highly recommended to another hotel however based off some previous reviews I felt this would be best for couples . To start I emailed and specifically asked if there was premium liquor in which several other couples I spoke with during my stay did as well and were advised yes however that is not true. Well their premium liquor is not the same as what we would consider top shelf . Second the run was not thoroughly clean there was hair in our Jacuzzi and we had to request housekeeping on two different occasions the first few days. The mini bar was not restocked daily and there was only water ,soda and red stripe beer in there. The toilet was broke the first 24 hours and we had to use a trash can to fill up to flush. I am not normally want to do a review or speaking negatively because things happen however there were so many different things I was disappointed with and because reviews had a lot to do with making my decision I want to be sure I give my input on my experience.