Ratings based on 804 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Awesome

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Loved staying here! Cannot wait to go back again! Everything was great including food, room, service, staff, hotel activites, and hotel overal!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great hotel and staff!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
We stayed at Secrets for a long weekend get away. The food was amazing! I've been to numerous all inclusive resorts in the Caribbean & this one by far had the best food and restaurants of any. The grounds, pool & beach were clean and well maintained. Our room was fabulous and the maid even turned down our room every evening & even ran a romantic bath for us once. We had a massage at the spa that was wonderful. The resort was gated and very secure- there was no one panhandling on the beach or anywhere in the resort. I would totally use this resort again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Terrible. The worst.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Cons: Everything could be improved. Cleanliness, Customer Service, Food & Drink Quality, Communication.
Full disclosure, I rarely write a negative review. I understand the difficulties of operating in the service industry and I always give people and businesses the benefit of the doubt. I travel for work approximately 6 months each year and as a result, I experience many levels of hospitality. In a given year, I stay in everything from $39 motel rooms to 5 star luxury hotels and everything in between. Secrets resort was the absolute worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. Upon arrival, we were charged twice as much as disclosed for having 2 people (myself and my wife) in 1 room. We reluctantly paid and went to a hotel cafe to eat lunch and would say service was as mediocre as the food. Spirits still high, we decided to sit down at the pool. Just as we settled in, a hotel employee came over and told us that we look “weird” for being at this pool with our brown color towels. Then proceeded to kick us out in a rude fashion because he said we were not in the room type that is allowed to be at this certain pool. Next, we decided to go for a walk around the compound and find a pool that we were allowed to be at. During the walk, we were stopped by a groundskeeper employee who directed us over to a trash bag of grass clippings and told me I needed to buy a conch shell he had hidden in there for my wife. We politely said we were not interested and he scoffed at us as he walked away. At this point we were frustrated and decided to go to our hotel room, order room service an
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Jamaican Heaven!!!

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Great staff! Clean beach! Lots of amazing food!! Great entertainment and activities. Will definitely go back!
The whole experience was great. I really had the Jamaican experience by coming to this resort. We got to eat all day, swim all day in a crystal blue ocean and drink frozen drinks whenever we wanted all for free.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cordova, TN

Great resort !

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Excellent customer service and nightly entertainment
Cons: Quicker room service
Location: Beachfront property with nice sand Shopping in Montego Bay nearby Margarataville Montego Bay nearby Tours to Negril and Ocho Rios available
I have been to Jamaicia eleven times and this is the best resort that I have stayed in Jamacia! My room was upgraded to preferred swim up room which was outstanding! Staff was excellent and I appreciate Ava for going above and beyond to make sure that my stay was excellent. I look forward to going back to vacation at this property in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel Staff

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Ironically certain profession front desk staff members apologized for the lack excellence in customer care and did all in their capacity to make amend
Cons: Hospitality training for the housekeeping, security and front desk staff ASAP. Check rooms efficiency before assigning rooms to guest.
Location: Great, the food and restaurant staff where excellent
First our beautiful room was damned upon check in and was not so clean. Dust surrounding the light switches and a dusty heart shaped card on the king size bed to name a few. When c/o of the dampness of the floor, we waited 45 minutes for housekeeping to respond. We called front desk and operator with each response it will be taken care of shortly. I am not sure what shortly means at Secrets. Housekeeping crossed examined us on the possibilities of the reasons for the problem when it should have been for them to clean up and get out. After returning to the room after dinner which was excellent, the floor was still partly damp ok, turned on the air conditioner and it helped. I called front desk and ordered ropes and slippers which should have been in the room. Again the response was shortly and a cross examination of when did I check in. The order arrived with towels instead of ropes. Called again and the response was I ordered towels. At this point I was livid, the customer service agent first of all was not the one I spoke to, when I asked did she initially take my call her response was no. But she was able to tell me what I ordered, disgraceful and unacceptable for the highly rated resort. It does end there. The shower drain was not working, 1/2 of water remained on the shower floor and leakage surrounding the shower floor. That level of disrespect transcended out of the room and front desk service to security at the gate. I asked a question, I was completely ignored.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carol Stream, IL

Great Resort!

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: The beaches and food, and very happy and ready to please staff!
Cons: The rooms needed so TLC but they were not bad and you do not spend much time in your room.
Location: We did not leave the resort, there was plenty to do there and we went to relax.
We loved the resort, it was spread out and the food was quite good! The beach and property was beautiful and the staff was amazing! We will go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2016 by Caulette, Hotel Management
Dear Lori; Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are so very happy that you provided us with an opportunity to be of service to you and await your return visit. Warm regards, Caulette
4 out of 5
by howard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely place

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: Beach and pool areas. really good standard of food and restaurant styles. Breakfast buffet excellent. Pleasant jolly staff.
Cons: cleanliness and furnishing in rooms
Lovely accommodation although rooms showing signs of wear. Restaurants and public areas extremely well looked after.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Caulette, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous; Thank you for providing us with your feedback and for allowing us to be of service to you. We trust that as we realize improvements to our product, you will be encouraged to visit with us once again. Caulette
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Augustine Fl

Wanted to stay longer!

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Pros: Resort location,food,beach,pools staff. The snorkel trip off the beach was great as well as the use of non motorized boats.
Cons: Bed was way to soft for us. Please stop the vacation club sells pitch as soon as you enter the property.
Location: Short ride from airport. Hip Strip near by.
Everything was great. Resort,food,drinks,beach and staff were great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2016 by Caulette, Hotel Management
Dear Doug; We appreciate that you have taken the time to share you experience with us and we are very happy that you made our Resort your destination of choice. We thank you for your recommendation which has been share with our senior management team which will be reviewed and changes implemented as deemed necessary. We trust that as we improve on our resort services and amenities that we will have the pleasure to be of service to you once more.