Ratings based on 765 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alright... I guess

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The landscape
Cons: Drinks, food, room service, beach was small
Location: Stuff to do, but over priced for what it was
Came here on my honeymoon expecting great things, but was disappointed the moment we touch ground in Jamaica. The moment were arrived, the hustle began. We felt pressure from the staff to upgrade, and when we didn't upgrade, they wanted nothing to do with us. We felt we were not welcomed, and they were in a hurry to get us out of the hotel. Pretty much, forgot about us after we didn't buy into the sales pitch. If you go here, go with this attitude... if someone had told us this, it would have saved us a lot of trouble. Basically, go for the beach and pool, everything else is like staying at a Holiday Inn Express. The buffet is the place to eat, don't mess with anything else... the food is okay. Don't expect good food. Also, don't spend any money on excursions... they are not worth it. Seriously, go with the mindset of enjoying the beach and pool, you will eat okay food, and the free drinks are just sugar, so if you want a buzz you'll need to pack your own stuff. If you think that way, you'll enjoy yourself, if not, you're going to get let down.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great hotel things were at our finger tips

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: all but the room could have been a little cleaner but the room was the right size
Location: everythings was closeby
fun in the sun service was great and friendly, food was great
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

One of the most worst trip ever!

Posted Sep 18, 2016
My husband and I spent half of our trip complaining to several managers about the staff, room service, quality of service that wasn't provided etc. The experience was not great and we will not return ever again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great Stay With a Few Suggestions

Posted Sep 10, 2016
My husband and I stayed here for my 40th birthday. We were greeted with a cold towel and champagne. The resort was well maintained. It shares the property with its sister resort Secrets St James Resort. All restaurants and amenities are shared. The room was an oceanfront suite. The bed was super comfortable. The room had a jacuzzi and 2 person shower. The room was very spacious. There were several pools on the property. I hung out by the St James pool and beach area. Leo the pool bartender was the highlight of my trip. Everyday he was full of energy and made the best "Humper Stomper" drink. He kept the beach and pool area lively. Everyone loved him and took pictures with him as they were leaving. The beach was amazing. I just wished they had jet skis. The cost to parasail was a bit ridiculous $130 for 10 minutes. They had other water sports to choose from. The food was good. Denver made the best omelette I have ever had in the World Cafe. I loved the concept of the Jamaican patties and burger stand right by the beach. There was also a guy that cooked jerk chicken in a portable smoker stand at the beach as well. The chicken was so tender. There were lines everyday for both. There were plenty of people getting married on the property. Beautiful place to get married with a lot of areas to do it in. They had areas marked as the best place to take a picture. I didn't see any iguanas and I loved that part because I'm terrified of them. The most I saw
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice resort, somewhat marred by small issues

Posted Sep 7, 2016
This is a review of 2 halves and my attempt to be honest and balanced. With each point made having a good aspect and areas where I feel things could have been better. The resort had good facilities, with no shortage of pools, bars, restaurants and food stalls (the jerk chicken and coconut waggons were brilliant). In the evening I was never aware of what going on, I think this could have been made clearer. The room was in good order and of a good size. Had issues with the original room being over booked. We were told we would spend one night in an alternative room then be moved to the room we booked. The next day we were told the room still wasn't available. It didn't ruin my holiday but the next day after I personally had to porter our bags to the other room I felt like I'd had my time wasted. To be honest there was no appreciable difference in the rooms so the move seemed rather pointless. To their credit the resort compensated us with a romantic dinner near the beach. The dinner itself was unfortunately mediocre and the wine undrinkable, but the thought was there. We were given some resort coupons but the restrictions on their use made them pointless in my mind $40 off a 50min massage usually $200 is steep. As mentioned the room was nice but seemed difficult to get the temperature comfortable despite adjusting the thermostat. Had to call on 2 occasions to get the mini bar restocked. The mini bar was complimentary however. Staff polite and attentive
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Excellent all inclusive

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Stunning views (starfish galore!), some good food, very very clean, entertainment options (very funny) overlooking the bay at night
Cons: Some of the food was bland, drinks could have been mixed better
Location: You can take a shuttle into Hip Strip and do some shopping and somewhat local eats. Snorkling and watersports available on site
The resort grounds and immaculate and stunning. There are about 4 beach "coves" to choose from with plenty of chairs and towels. Stunning views all around with clear water (with some kelp/seaweed). Bars/ food options a plenty (aka the Jerk Chicken Cart). Some Bartenders are better than others (shout out to Leo!) and make sure to order a Dirty Banana. The frozen drinks could have been mixed better than just pouring the liquor on top. As for the dining, the breakfast buffet had EVERYTHING you could want. But, it does get a bit crowded since it's the only place to grab a meal for breakfast besides the coffee bar just outside. For lunch, there's a beachfront bar/grille (burgers, hot dogs, beef patties!) and the Oceana sit-down with an awesome Jerk Chicken wrap! For dinner, none of the restaurants take reservations except for the cook-in-front-of-you Hibachi restaurant. But, walk-ins are available, just not for the show. We were able to get a reservation and our chef and food was great. The food at the other dinner restaurants was OK except for the Mexcian place El Patio. Maybe it was an off night but was very, very bland. Our room was spotless and minifridge restocked everyday (I will drink Red Stripe on the regular now). The turndown service in the evening was a nice touch and so were the housekeepers. The only drawback was we could not get the thermostat to get below 70 degrees F. The rooms have a sensor that knows if you're there or not. Overall, a great AI
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right by the beach.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Enjoyed the entertainment, food, drinks, the guys that come around with the jerk chicken, and hotel cleanliness.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Jr. suit with ocean view

Posted Aug 26, 2016
The check it was not the smoothest there is room for improvement. There was also room for improvement with staff also but over all I enjoy my self the hotel is very nice there is also room for improvement with food also but nothing perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Close to very good

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Everything here to be a very very good 4.75/5.0 hotel. Rooms, grounds, housekeeping, restaurants and value all positives. Downside? Some staff were not polite, pools open too late, pool floats are dirty and sticky, eating and smoking in pools is unwise. Would we go back? YES. Currently a 4/5.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North East, Maryland

Two year anniversary trip

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: The resort was beautiful, clean and upscale.
Cons: The communication with the guests could be a little clearer. We had a bad experience with a spa employee and a disappointing experience.
Location: Montego Bay has beautiful water, beautiful scenery. We golfed at Cinnamon Hill and it was great. Otherwise we stayed at the resort.
We stayed at Secrets Wild Orchid for our two year wedding anniversary vacation, our first time in Jamaica and our first time at a Secrets resort. It is safe to say that we will probably continue to stay at this chain of resorts for all future vacations. It was a gorgeous resort, very clean and upscale feeling. The room was high tech and stunning. We had a disappointing mishap with the spa and a few unpleasant persons, but otherwise it was a great trip overall.