Ratings based on 886 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Great

Posted Sep 24, 2017
It was my first time in JA, definitely wont be my last. Loved it all, the food on the resort isnt like the real jamaican food i wanted but other than that it was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Great hotel and staff. Everyone is very friendly and accommodating. I would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

A good experience, overall. A few small issues.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: The CoCo Café for 24 hour coffee, Tastee meat patties, comfy beds, friendly people.
Cons: Avoid the hard sell and definitely do not pressure newly arrived travelers. That turns relief at arriving into irritation and frustration.
Location: Definitely speak to the tour reps at the resort. The Falmouth shopping trip was good for gifts, Mystic Mountain and Dunn's River were a lot of fun.
This is a very nice property with extremely friendly staff, good food and comfortable rooms. Unfortunately, immediately after checking in we were greeted with a time share-esque invitation to a 2 hour lunch. After declining several times, just wishing to finally get to our rooms after 12 hours of travel, we agreed to go to the meeting the next day. It wasn't really clear if this was part of the check in or something we could skip until our Expedia travel rep let us know we did not need to participate. Both rooms we stayed in were comfortable, the beds were very nice. Both showers required repair to their fixtures but were corrected within an hour. Cleaning, turn down and mini-bar stocking was regular and satisfactory. The property was well maintained and clean. Every staff member we interacted with was helpful and cheerful. The activities were well run and varied. The pools were clean, nothing too fancy but fine for groups of people, floating on pads while drinking. Fitness room was well kept and had a variety of equipment. We really enjoyed the spa, very relaxing. Food was very good, from the roaming jerk chicken cart to the beach-side grill to the many restaurants, we were always able to find something tasty. The one time we used room service, it was an extremely heavy night due to a storm keeping many guests indoors. Despite the long wait, our meals were good and everything arrived as expected. Bring plenty of bug spray for the evenings or tours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester NY

Beautiful Carribean Resorr

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Everything was well maintained, the beaches were clean and gorgeous. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful. The views were incredible! We highly suggest taking an excursion and visiting other places on the island as well. The food in all of the restaurants was great, you can order as much as you want! We have been to other resorts and wine was not included but at Secrets there were multiple house wine options available. Overall great experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good experience overall

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: The beds were very comfortable, the food was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful without exception. Well kept grounds and nice spa.
Cons: Shower fixtures needed repair / tightening. One shower leaked into the toilet area. One room's A/C failed. No green tea avail at the café for 12 days
Location: Many activities available from travel reps at resort. Bring lots of bug spray for mornings and evenings, especially when leaving resort.
We enjoyed the resort and had a wonderful time in Jamaica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Awesome Vacation Spot!

Posted Sep 13, 2017
From beginning to end, our 9 day vacation at Secrets Wild Orchid was terrific. The staff was very friendly and helpful and gave us whatever we needed to make our stay a memorable one. The bartenders at the pool bar were fun, friendly and always had smiles on their faces. The play staff got individuals involved in games and helped to make the days lots of fun. The evenings had wonderful entertainment and the food was fabulous! The wait staff were all very attentive and kind. Our accomodations were perfect and clean and the housekeeping staff kept our room in tip top shape. I'm looking forward to our next visit!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Had a good time....the beach was beautiful and the staff was friendly. It's a little slow paced in service but it's Jamaica. The food was good though it made my girlfriend sick for the whole week. Good with the bad. I'd recommend Mexico a 1000x over Jamaica
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corona, CA

Return to Secrets Wild Orchid

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Staff
Location: Went to Mistic Mountain and Dunns River falls
This was our second time at Secrets Wild Orchid. We loved it the first time and that id why we went back. Not disappointed at all. We loved our vacation. Staff is wonderful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing beach

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Picture perfect beach with amazing water. Feels like paradise. The beach compensates for few resort shortcomings, hence 4 starts rating. The alcohol is the cheapest they can find and if you ask for premium brand staff will make excuses that they don't have it or out of stock. We specifically asked for Patron or Don Julio tequila and never got it. Same with cognac. Even restaurants don't have premium alcohol brands, not to mention pool bars. Not acceptable for resort that calls itself luxury. Food well presented, but taste not spectacular. In French restaurant I ordered filet mignon, but was served some other piece of meat. I reached point in my age that I can tell the difference. Ironically, I overheard the conversation at the beach when lady complained to her friend that she ordered filet mignon and was served something else. The night entertainment is very lousy. Basically not much to do at the resort after 10:30pm. Casino is a shame. We stopped by once and it was empty and smelled funky. But again, beach compensates for the most of the above. I wouldn't call it luxury resort though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warminster, PA

Good resort but does not meet 5 stars hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Room service was good and on time. The Beach is great.
Cons: To do at least one buffet restaurant for the dinner. To fix the Air Conditioner system.
The room service was good and on time. Food was good. The beach is great. The beach towels are without any restriction. The staff is also good and responsible. The draw backs are: 1. The Air Conditioner in the room did not work correctly: the termostat was faulty, did not keep the requested temperature. Just blow cold air. I asked to fix the problem but they did not. 2. There is no buffet restaurants for the dinner: there are just restaurants with no buffets for the dinner. 3. In the room there was just one chair, for 2 people.