Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler


Posted Jan 26, 2018
The hotel is conveniently located close to both the town with restaurants and shopping and many rainforest exploration/adventure locations. The rooms are very nice and cozy, and the hotel itself has a lot of character. Although the greatest part of my experience was the staff at the hotel, they were amazingly helpful in booking events, transportation, with translating and made our experience so much more relaxed and enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2018 by Maricruz Camacho, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, and for staying at our hotel, we are really glad you enjoyed the hotel, that the staff gave you all the information and help you with everything you needed... is our main goal to always make you fell at home. Hope to see you on your next trip to Costa Rica. Best Regards, Maricruz Camacho, Hotel Cipreses
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Decent hotel slightly off Santa Elena centre

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Spacious, clean, has a lovely view, staff are helpful.
Cons: The weather! :)
Location: It is ~7 minutes' walk to Santa Elena centre, but there is about 30m of net elevation gain (40 up, 10 down) in 500m of distance!
I had a very comfortable three nights here; about the hotel itself there was nothing I could recall that was negative. The only minor detraction was that when I chose the hotel, the maps suggested it was a short walk to the centre... and it is, but what the maps didn't show was how steep the incline was (I'd say it hit 30 degrees in stretches). I shouldn't complain since I was in Monteverde for hiking anyway, but I can see how the extra uphill and downhill might not suit everyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Maricruz Camacho, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and for your staying at our hotel, we are so glad you had a good time, we are sorry you did not enjoy the weather in Monteverde there are certain times in the year that we have a lot of wind and rain as well. Still we would always take your recommendations and will make everything in our hands to make of our hotel a better place for our guests. Best Regards, Maricruz Camacho, Hotel Cipreses
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sarah

Comfortable, good value

Posted Nov 11, 2017 on Hotels
Had a very good stay with my friend at this hotel in Santa Elena. Very spacious rooms with comfortable beds, good WiFi, good breakfast, and a good view of the lush forestry around. No issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Luis Camacho, Hotel Management
Dear Sara, Thank you for your review and for your staying at our hotel, we are glad you liked the hotel, it was a pleasure to have you, and hopefully you will visit us again in your next trip to Costa Rica. Best Regards, Maricruz Camacho, Hotel Cipreses
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cinnaminson, NJ

A Unique Place with a Different Ambiance

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Very quiet and the staff were very accommodating.
Cons: Can't ask for more.
Location: Go and experience what we experienced. Learn from our mistake of staying in that place for 1 night only.
Staying at Cipreses Hotel after driving for more than 3 hours on a bumpy, long and winding road from from La Fortuna was not worth at all. In order to give justice to hard driving, one deserves to stay in Monteverde for more than 2 days. A small city but a lot of activities going on. The Hanging Bridge and the Tram were exciting! There was a special discount when we bought our tickets for these 2 activities for a price of 1. Very considerate. The eating in the plaza was fantastic. The ambiance is very different. I wanted to go there, drink coffee there and do other things unfortunately we could not do - we have no time. The hotel is in the center of all of these actions. I feel this is an isolated place as it is far from the main highway. You have to drive long in getting in and driving back the same road in going back.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Cozy and Quaint

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Spent a night at Hotel Cipreses after our Sky Adventures experience as we had a long drive to face the next day. This bed and breakfast is highly recommended as the facilities provided all that was needed for the night stay. Hotel staff are very professional and breakfast is a must. Special shout out to Jenny. She is great!!
3 out of 5
by Deborah

Nice place, but not for large families

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
I have no complaints about the hotel itself - it was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was great; lots of delicious choices and plenty of food. The staff was great and very helpful. However, there is a big problem with description of the room on Hotels.com. It was described as having room to sleep 6, so we booked the one room for our family of 6. When we arrived, though, the staff was surprised at the size of our family and told us the room only sleeps 4 or 5. We looked at the room and found that even 4 would be a squeeze. So, we were stuck and had to book a second room (at a discounted rate) in order to be able to stay there. Very disappointed in Hotels.com and I will be contacting them about this.
3 out of 5
by Brian

Much left to be desired

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
First off, this hotel is in a good area if you're visiting Monteverde because it is a short walk to all the local attractions. Check in was easy. The room was simply ok and the free breakfast left much to be desired. This was merely a place to sleep but you get what you pay for. I wouldn't recommend this for a long stay.
3 out of 5

Monteverdi Trip

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a lovely setting and close enough to town to walk. However the beds were a bit uncomfortable. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and there's was plenty to chose from. The staff was friendly and very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Cons: New, softer mattresses.
Location: Short walk to downtown area. A fine location.
Everything was okay. Fine. Except for the mattresses. Very hard and not a good night of sleep.