Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Jul 31, 2016
I was expecting more.. can find something better for this value
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gießen

In die Jahre gekommen

Posted May 18, 2016
Hotel entspricht leider gar nicht den Bildern. Alles schon älter und hellhörig. Lage war gut. Ansonsten sehr abgewohnt, Pool dreckig. Haben uns überhaupt nicht wohl gefühlt.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2016
THE Resptionest Was speaking English , make it very easy for us, upgrade our room, for a great view room, prepare breakfast for us to go, because we checked out early morning, before the breakfast time. I forget some of my Dressy cloths in the room, I called him, he have it kept for me. And the SPA was a great experience with high quality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia, US

Loved this place!

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: If they could find a way to add AC to their rooms without affecting their environmental efforts in a negative way, that could be a great addition.
Location: The hotel is located in Monteverde, the epicenter of the Cloud Forest. Night & Day forest hikes, Canopy Tours, etc.
The only reason I gave this place a 3 out of 5 on room comfort is because this is a cloud forest and by definition is very humid and the rooms do not have AC so it can be uncomfortable at nights but they do provide fans if you need them and they are ecologically sound. They do a lot of things to reduce their carbon footprint and keep their place and their environment pristine. The hotel is in great shape and the gardens are beautiful. They have a very nice pool and hot tub and even there they process the water differently than most places so it require a lot less chlorine to operate safely. The location is also perfect because is just off the center of town so it is very quiet and tranquil but still closed to all the action, natural and otherwise. The people here were fantastic, friendly, accommodating, helpful and even when they help us choose attractions and made reservations for us, they did not accept payment so we pay the operator directly at the same rates as if we would have walked in, no extra charges. I highly recommend this beautiful piece of paradise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Restaurant is very good, staffs are very kind, room was very clean, perfect view and stay
Very charming hotel and nice stay in Monteverde! Restaurant is very good, staffs are very kind, room was very clean, perfect view and stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel close to the centre not much atmosphere.

Posted May 1, 2016
Ok hotel, fine pool though the smell of the gas to heat the jacuzzi was a pity. Good playground for the kids (3 & 5). Fine location.
4 out of 5
by Rick Culleton from Austin, Texas

Good People, Great Restaurant, No AC, No Internet

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
I loved Monteverde. The hotel left a little to be desired. You could argue that you don't need AC in the mountains but my room was very hit in the afternoon. The WiFi didn't reach the restaurant or the rooms. It was not fast enough to work from in the lobby. This was a working vacation and we will all be met with massive cellphone bills when we return. We had to use our phones as hit slots for two days. The restaurant is outstanding. Try the chicken Cordon Blue. Laundry service was good and very reasonably priced. We arranged two tours with the front desk and they went flawlessly.
3 out of 5
by Alexander from Vancouver

Good spot in Monteverde

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very unique room with a solarium in the bathroom, and 3 beds. Had some issues with DVD player in room (they have DVDs to borrow from front desk) and a/c. Both were resolved with a bit of prodding. Spa had a great special for massage / facial. Pool was freezing cold. Restaurant, insectarium and groceries in walking distance. Decent breakfast included.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud music everywhere including the spa.

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Orbitz
If you are looking for a quiet place to stay and enjoy the sound of Monteverde, this isn't for you. Otherwise, if you are a large group with kids then the hotel will offer music everywhere, pool, pool bar, jacuzzi and in the spa! Rooms too close to each other and the cleaning lady knocked on our door before 8 am the first morning since we were at the 4 th floor and wanted to start cleaning the rooms from the bottom down
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Location: Some restaurants and shopping can be found across the street. A 5 minute walk will get you into the main part of the town of Monteverde.
We arrived to the hotel via jeep-boat-jeep shuttle. The hotel is easy walking distance from town, but is overall located in a quiet area. The pool and jacuzzi are nice, with some nice relaxing common areas that have a nice view to the west.