Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CR

A 3 star hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: The swimming pool is nice, just not very much used by anyone. Gardens are also nice. The location is right in the middle of the small town.
Cons: Needs new bed sheets, and mattress. As well as better maintenance, especially bedroom and bathroom.
Location: You can find plenty of food around, and even some vegan options at 3min walking distance. Coffee shop with soy milk is nearby.
The hotel actually have an impressive facilities compared to hotels of this price. But... they don't pay attention to the main aspects of a hotel as much as the facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

It's a place to sleep.

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Not a big fan of this hotel, but being Monteverde I think this maybe towards the top sadly. (Sliding doors did not lock, no fridge, very basic). Only recommending if staying in Monteverde. If this was anywhere else this would be a 2 star hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel hat schon bessere Zeiten erlebt!

Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
Das Hotel sieht auf den Fotos besser aus als es letztendlich ist. Das Zimmer war nicht ganz sauber und recht klein. Durch den starken Wind zog es in dem Zimmer und brachte so auch Schmutz in den Raum. Zum Frühstück durfte man aus 5 Variationen nur 1 auswählen. Es war nicht möglich ohne Aufpreis etwas von der Variante mit der 2. Variante zu kombinieren. Der Junge von der Rezeption war sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit, er verdient ein Lob!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Poco a poco ok

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
The staff are very welcoming and helpful. The rooms need some sprucing up. Very dark and dated, uncomfortable bed and pillow. From what I saw it's probably one of the better hotels in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christina from Denver

Ideal stay in Monteverde

Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at Poco-a-Poco for two nights during our visit to Monteverde. Hotel is very conveniently located 5min walking distance from the city center with all the restaurants and bars and about 10min drive to Monteverde National Park. It is nice, clean, and cozy although there was a loose fixture on the wall and our sink faucet was not firmly attached to the wall which could have been easily fixed. Service was exceptional and front desk personnel was very helpful and friendly. They assisted us with booking tours and gave excellent advice. Pool and gardens are very well kept and beautiful - a perfect getaway for couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by tomatsu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel cómodo

Posted May 7, 2015 on Hotels
El hotel muy bonito, con lo necesario para pasarla bien. La piscina no está dividida para adultos y niños y es relativamente pequeña por lo que los gritos y juegos de los niños no se pueden evitar. El desayuno muy rico.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michael from Rhode Island

Ehh

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
Only 1 night. The hotel is a little outdated and in need of some upgrades. Not bad overall for the price but compared to some of the other hotels we stayed at for similar money it did not quite make the grade. Not a bad option for a stay in the Monteverde area, staff is helpful and free breakfast is nice. Pool and hot tub both work but rooms are very "motel-ish" We didn't stay at any other hotels in this particular area but I would imagine you could do better based on what we paid in other areas of Costa Rica at similar pricing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Crystal from Lakewood, CA

Close to Shopping and Restaurants

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was right by town, and so restaurants and shops were within walking distance. The hotel was a short (10 minute) drive from the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. The pool area was nice, with a swim up bar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kirk from Chicago

Nice and Convenient Hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2015 on Hotels
Nice property and amenities. Very friendly and helpful staff. Convenient location. Worth the price. Rooms could use updating.