Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Dissappointing

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Location - only 7 min walk to Metro
Cons: Cleaniliness Maintenance - rooms need a full renovation WiFi
Location: Location is OK, Montrouge is a Paris suburb. Bakery shop, grocery store and restaurants are withing walking distance. Subway is only 7 min walk.
I wouldn't recommend. The concept is great, but the rooms are simply not clean and not well maintained. We had to change the first room we got due to a broken sofa, dirty carpet and walls and even smell in the bathroom. The second room was better, but still not what's expected from a 4 star hotel. There are stains on the carpet...Staff is friendly and helpful though and the subway fairly close by (7 min walk). Oh, and the WiFi is unusable at the 7th floor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful hotel. Avoid it like the plague

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Location was OK
Cons: Cleanliness, towels, toilet paper, scams by staff, change torn furniture.
Location: Near to Paris
They turn off air conditioning because "in France" they conserve energy. They do not provide toilet paper, soap. They ran out of towels, had to use 3 face towels for 3 people to shower. The equipment is old and broken. Do not expect washer and dryer to work. Staff tries to scam you for extra charges - for breakfast even though breakfast was included because we took coffee cup to room, 20 euros for calling a cab. The furniture was shabby. The carpet was stained and smelled. The staff was rude. They do not clean rooms or change bedding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Beautiful Balcony

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Our room was very functional, the Murphy bed saved room and the kitchenette allowed us to prepare our own breakfasts and the occasional dinner. The balcony was a great feature and we sat outside enjoying our breakfast every morning. The location is ideal as the Metro line 4 is about a ten minute walk away, the hotel is also close to a small market adjacent to the hotel and a Monoprix supermarket is only a five minute walk away. For any vegetarian and vegans the Monoprix carried a large selection of vegetarian and vegan items which we were able to cook in the kitchenette. My only complaint about the hotel is that the carpet in our room was in poor condition and featured quite a few stains.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AB, Canada

French staff very unfriendly

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Alexandria served customers that arrived after us and ignored us even being aware that we were waiting. no smiles no humility towards valued customers. I was also charged more than my prepaid booking with no explanation and refunded upon telling staff that I will be filing a complaint. K R (BSc BPh) Canada
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Amazing breakfast!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Loved the room. Not the best smells when we walked in, but comfy and clean. Front desk was helpful. We prepaid breakfast and it was well worth it! Felt safe in neighborhood. 10 min. Walk to metro or RER. Monoprix (like Target) was nearby and helpful. The little sandwich grille across the street was awesome and inexpensive. He guys were nice and they were open late. Most things in that area close fairly early. Our one complaint is that internet was not working so no Wifi much of our stay unless in lobby. TV has only one English Channel, so bringing cord and computer to watch Netflix was great idea! Internet was fixed by the time we left, so hopefully wouldn't be a problem again. Lastly, if you like flavored nondairy creamer in your coffee, bring your own! At least the powder. :) doesn't exist in France.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Murielle BONNOT, Hotel Management
Dear Laurie, thank your for your nice comment. Sorry again for the inconvience of the wifi. Your sincerely . Murielle BONNOT / General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
During my one week stay, they didn't clean the room nor changed the towels. these cost extra. There wasn't wifi for 4 days in our room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Murielle BONNOT, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, thank you for your comment. In Adagio, you have a cleaning once a week, but you have towels available at the front desk. Your sincerely. Murielle BONNOT /manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cali

Paris stay vacay

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: in a nice location not far from substation.
Cons: cleaniness, parking
Location: it was near a few stores and substation so that was good
It was ok hotel but couldnt put a 4 star. Its small and cleaniness wasnt all there. Parking was a bit small and not smooth entry or exit and small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Murielle BONNOT, Hotel Management
Dear customer I m sorry that you do not appreciate your stay. Your sincerely. Murielle BONNOT / Manager
4 out of 5
by Danielle

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
Just outside of Paris but within walking distance to the 4. Well worth it since we were out and about all day.
4 out of 5
by Mona

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Every thing was good, except the reservation problem. I reserved and i had a confirmation for 2 adults and children 13 years old. But it was not the same at the hotel. I should pay 450euro but we make a deal and i payed 200euro more. I send request to expidia and hotel.com but nothing change.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denmark

Excellent, very kind and helpful staff

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect for families