Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

An hotel adventure: bad

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: I have many stories to tell.
Cons: Don't get me started.
Location: It is the closest hostelry to the Brooklyn Cruise Terminal. Using that facility one can get very far away from this hotel in a short time.
First of all it took the taxi from Penn Station an hour to find the hotel and when we left, the summoned taxi came in 45 minutes to take us on a 10 minute ride. The one elevator was out of service which was a problem for my wife who has mobility problems; there are no ground floor rooms. The staff referred to their computer to suggest a breakfast spot. The one bright spot was revealed during our wait for the taxi: this is a hotel that prides itself in changing the sheets every four hours.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tiny room

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Tiny room, and not even a cofee maker in the room. Significant road noice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Close to the Real Brooklyn

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Room decor and shower
Cons: Beds, linens, pillows
Location: Restaurants and shops on Van Brunt Avenue which is only a few blocks away.
It appears that they have renovated the rooms, the bed, cheap pillows, and noise from the streets take away from their efforts. The room decor, shower, etc. was actually very nice. The rooms are smaller though from your normal hotel. Support staff was nice and helped when needed. There is no breakfast or coffee. For that you can walk around the corner to a wonderful little cafe. Can't remember the name of the place but really good coffee! Don't order delivery from Mark's Pizza Place on Van Brunt Avenue as the delivery driver was rude. But hey it's New York. There are quite a few restaurants on Van Brunt Avenue which is only a few blocks from the hotel. Recommend the Rock Island Lobster Pound. I only spend two nights (Friday and Saturday) and while it's cheaper than some of the others nearby it was sufficient for my needs. Hope this helps!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic room, not near much

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Clean, hto shower.
Cons: TV guide, fix AC thermostat
Location: Nothing, not industrial, but nothing to see or do
Room air conditioner did not match the thermostat setting. Shower was very hot, so that made up for it. No food amenities (breakfast, etc.) which is a bother because in the morning, the city was still shutdown.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

WIFI broken

Posted Sep 23, 2016
The wifi kept having problems throughout my stay. I tried calling and the hotel staff tried something to fix it, which worked the first day, but then the same issue occurred the next day. Extremely frustrating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2015
only stay here if you have no other choice the whole place smells like cigarette smoke
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Cruise Terminal

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Good for Overnight stay only when checking in for a Cruise the following day.
Cons: The Staff should be more accommodating.
Location: The location was good , very close to Cruise Terminal.
Contacted Hotel for late Check in as the AMTRAK train we were on was delayed for almost 2hours. Arrived at the Hotel at midnight with food from the Train. The Reception Staff was not very helpful when asked if there was any microwave we can use to warm up food and boil water for coffee. Were told to go Online for Food Delivery.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel in New York

Posted Sep 26, 2015
I've stayed in many hotels in New York, this being the worst. I was stuck for choice due to a number of events in town during my stay, but I would rather have slept in my hire car. Room was not clean, air-con was so noisy I had to turn it off. Bed was so uncomfortable it cost be $300 in massages to fix my back. Avoid this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modest, clean, central

Posted Sep 22, 2015
not fancy or luxury - or spacious - just good clean value near a nice part of Brooklyn. Hard to beat in NYC.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

not a place to go

Posted Sep 7, 2015
We arrived early, 1:30 or so, figured we'd have to wait, not a problem. Got into room at 2 PM. Great. OK !) no closet in the room...we needed to hang up clothes for wedding. 2) no lid on toilet seat...really 3) OK lay down on bed for a short rest.....top sheet on edge dirty from top to bottom 4) husband channel surfing OMG he came upon TWO hard core porno channels. REALLY. Good thing 10 and 14 year old granddaughters were not with us.