Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Minh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California.

Nice place and Nice staff

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Thanks to all staff at Merperle Hon Tam, especially Mr. Tan (Taylor) the young gentleman who took his time to show us around when we had questions about the property. He took time to pick us up by Golf Cart and helped us take pictures. This place is really beautiful with nice views of the ocean all around. Great experience. Thanks to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beautiful location

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: There was nothing not to like.
Cons: None.
Location: There was always something to do. Lots of day trippers, so there were always things to watch.
The place and outlook was just so beautiful. Boats going back to the mainland every hour and returning. The beaches and pool area's were lovely. A very special paradise experience.
4 out of 5
by Mia from California, US

Nice and relaxing

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
To get to the resort, we need to take 15mins boat ride because the resort is on an island. They have beautiful beaches and pools. The pool is amazing, water always just right. The beach is clean on the resort side but the playground side which open to the public is dirty. Same goes to the pool. The pool on the resort is beautiful, the water clear but other side is not. I went here with my cousins, we spent hours in the resort pool, but we hadn't step one step in the other pool.. The playground is pretty fun if you go with friends. Challenge yourself. The staff is friendly (because we know a little bit Vietnamese, many comments said that there is language barrier, this I do not know for sure). The resort is on the island and on the island have only the resort so you really can't go anywhere else without the boat ride to the mainland. But the resort is very beautiful (some part still under construction). At the time we went, there not alot of tourists in the resort. So it is very nice experience.
3 out of 5
by Kaspars from Jelgava

Inconsistencies In Paradise

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
All pros and cons has ben well described in previous reviews, but all I can add, is that this place could be a paradise, if.... there would be a will to add some value to marvelous natural surroundings and pristine beach. But at the moment it is rapidly deteriorating resort, where rats are openly wandering around restaurant during dinner and where I met most unhappy staff in beach resort worldwide - had a feeling that they are forced to work here. Definitely worst place in our 3 weeks tour in Vietnam, extremely overpriced and unfriendly.
3 out of 5
by Sophia from Helsingborg

Not worth a 5 stars resort rating

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
Expected a resort in better condition. All activities where closed at 4pm. After that there is not much to do beside sitting at the restaurant. A bit dissapointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great beach!

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Beach, pools, gardens, entertainment area, views.
Cons: Electrical wiring in the rooms and general maintenance.
Location: Entertainment area - loads of fun for kids.
The hotel is a bit rundown but in a great location. Wonderful spot for families. The entertainment area was brilliant - good fun! The food was average but expensive and nowhere to buy grocery items. You had to buy everything at the hotel which was expensive especially with a 15 percent tax added on. Still, I had a great time. the views from our villa were magnificent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from qatar

Peeping toms

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: everything has to be improved !!!
Location: nothing !!!
Really a very poorly maintained property . We had their own staff peeping while having a bath. A/cs very poor , food below standard and very dirty property !!!!!
4 out of 5
by Hdog from London

Nice place poor service

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels
The rooms and beach are very nice and we enjoyed it but the restaurant and service of the staff (mainly due to the language barrier) are average. Could do with a bit more going on ie a bar etc on the island but overall it is a nice place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Not a Family Resort.....

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The shuttle boat to the mainland every 2 hours was fantastic.....
Cons: Staff really should learn to communicate with english speaking tourists, restaurant could be better.
Location: Mainland 20 mins by boat so you can do anything you like from there.
Unfortunately we booked this hotel for 2 Adults and 3 children. The room is only equipped for 2 Adults and 1 child, they knew we had the 3 kids and we had to pay and extra $60 per child for the week we stayed, they weren't happy to help you out even though we had previously settled the account. Not great communication, nice resort lovely beach and pool. Restaurant on island not great expensive so you really have to go to the mainland everyday for dinner. Buffet breakfast was lovely..... not a family resort more a couples resort not much there, lovely views, very quiet. If you want a beach to yourself and a very relaxing time away then this is the place. Cleaners were lovely but no one else really bothers with you. We were pretty disappointed with this experience.