Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia SC

Homecoming

Posted Oct 30, 2017
We have stayed here before and came back because it suited us fine, from convenient parking to complimentary breakfast just a nice, friendly, clean, comfortable hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate SC

Close to Charleston for a lower price

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Breakfast area was very nice.
Cons: The carpet in the room, maintenance on the tub
Location: Everything that we went to see in Charleston was about 20 min away. Angle Oak Tree, Market Street, Battery, Patriots Point and seafood restaurants.
This was very disappointing to me because I have stayed in a lot of Hampton Inns around the country and I have seen much better hotels. The hotel management needs to improve their up keep on the facility since this was one of the more expensive Hampton inns that I have stayed in. The carpet in our room had a hole in it. The tub had weak jets and when you took a shower the water would run out onto the floor because the top of the tub is angled the wrong direction. The staff should know this because you can see the damage from prolonged water flow in the same spot on the tub and where maintenance has re-caulked the tub from the water damage (appears to have been several times). was very disappointed with this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel.

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Nice clean comfortable hotel. Clean rooms. Good breakfast. Very nice pool. Close to Interstate 26 for east access to downtown Charleston. Restaurants in the area as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bowie, maryland

Nice stay

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Family trip to Charleston. Selected the Hampton Inn from numerous of hotels in the area. The hotel was near the highway for quick access into Downtown Charleston. The hotel was also within walking distance to restaurants. The hotel staff were very welcoming. The breakfast provided a lot of food options and was plentiful. The lobby was lovely and had enough seating for when I wanted to sit some where other than the room. Overall, I had a great stay at the Hampton Inn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What the hell

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Had 2 rooms the 1st the toilet would not stop running n there was a smell like musty.smell. 2nd room wall paper falling off the wall. But near my 1st room there was a room that was seal off with tape around the food n a fan running in the top..
4 out of 5
by Leon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Shirley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by John

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
Was over priced and customer service was the pits there was no cookies at night as advertised housekeeping never came to clean our room during our stay. No clean linens or towels was brought to our room. There was loud activity in the halls outside our room both nights until after midnight. Overall I was disappointed
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Lloyd

Expected better from Hampton

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
We were in town for Cirque Ovo which was great! However, our stay at the Hampton Inn was not so great. I tried to explain to the staff (there was no manager on duty Sunday when we checked out). Problem was the antiquated HVAC unit which is actually a window a/c unit. Even set on the lowest setting with the thermostat at its lowest point, (highest temp) the unit never shut itself off. It ran all night. Normally, the unit should run a short time, then the fan should go a little longer and then, silence. If it gets warmer or stuffier, the unit should cycle back on and do the same. Only on high cool with thermostat on the coldest setting should the unit run continuously. In addition, there was a moldy smell coming from it too. Today there are a number of far quieter, more efficient, modern HVAC systems, out there. It's bad enough to have to deal with a sub par system, much less one that keeps you up with so much noise. Then to top it all off, I was offered $75 for the inconvenience when it was supposed to be 100% guaranteed satisfaction. Both nights I had to get out of bed and turn the a/c unit off to get some relief from the noise. It was only then I realized how loud the tv was. Hampton needs to renovate and get rid of those lousy old window units and come into the 21 century.