Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy, inconvenient key/power situation

Posted Nov 26, 2017 on Hotels
We were two people traveling together but the hotel would only give us one key. This key had an attached card to stick into a slot in the room. This is how you turn on the power. You had to use the key to lock the room from the inside. Which means at night, in the dark, you fumble around for the keyhole because you cannot turn on the light. There are not even emergency night lights or anything to help you. Also, they advertise parking on site. They directed us to a parking garage a couple of blocks away, saying our car was too big for their garage. We have parked in garages and tight spots throughout Spain and France, so their garage must be very tiny. The woman at the front desk was quite unpleasant. The room was large and comfortable. Lots of noise all night from the square downstairs. Would not recommend.
5 out of 5
by Nigel

Nice, good value option for a short stay

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
Clean, quiet hotel ideally located for sightseeing on foot. Lots of food options within a stone's throw.
5 out of 5
by Julie


Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful. Could not have asked for more. Staff printed tickets for us for our onward journey. They are friendly and helpful. Room was nice and spacious. Nice view from the room. Bathroom spaceous and well equipped Very recommended stay. Salamanca is awesome would love to have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Glad we stayed there!

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, it was little noisy as there were restaurants and bars around the area, but worth staying. Nice staff. 6 nights seemed too short for this comfortable stay. If they had a small fridge, it made our stay even better.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice small hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Nicely located with friendly staff. Spacious bathroom. Only issue was smell of stale cigarette smoke on bed linen
5 out of 5
by Anna from Cape Town

Excellent price/quality relationship

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Before I booked, I read a lot of the reviews: they all said the place was perfectly fine, except that it was noisy. I can confirm it: because the hostal is only about 10metres from the famous Plaza Major, it can get noisy in the night, and early mornings. You wonder why the place doesn't install double glass -and then charges a bit more, to resolve this problem? The relationship price/quality nevertheless is excellent!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent value for the price. Great location and very helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by Patricia from Sydney

Convenient, coffee and washing

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
Very convenient location to Plaza Mayor and easy walk to main sights and restaurants. The lift went to the 3rd floor and my room was on the 4th floor but I managed stairs with my suitcase. The cleaning was a bit hit and miss but on the up side they offered room service good coffee for €1 and washing so all my clothes now clean for €5, not pressed but lovely clean rather than hand basin washing.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from New Britain

Charming small hotel close to the action

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
Overall I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. I was initially concerned to have the name Hostal in the hotel name, but it was really not a Hostel. I had my own room on the 5th floor of the hotel. This was the top floor so no outside window, but rather a Skylight in the bedroom and bathroom. Old style key required you to use the key to lock and unlock the door to the room. And your key card is required to turn on the lights and plugs (No charging of devices when not in the room). It was very clean and they made up the room for me each day (For some reason, did not get towels the last two days). There was an elevator, but after the first day of getting my luggage upstairs, I did not use it again due to its age and size (very small). They have water and espresso on room service for a very small cost and so I bought all my water through them. If I stayed in this town again, I would certainly use them but would want a room with a door that opened onto the plaza, rather than my skylight.
4 out of 5
by shona from Poole

Great location - a little noisy

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels
Great location but due to this it's noisy - fine with ear plugs! Parking is also an issue as the parking plazas fill up - there are a few within a short walk though. Great place to explore the old town - lots of tapas bars very close by. Definitely recommend.