Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wis Rapids, Wi

Best in Phillips

Posted Dec 5, 2016
An average motel that was clean. We visited a nice bowling alley across the highway that also served delicious looking food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Gave away our room

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Clean. Pleasant, friendly staff.
Cons: Better communication among staff and manager. Don't give away rooms without contacting the reserving party.
We called the night before we were to arrive to notify the hotel we would be arriving around midnight. The clerk was very polite and professional and told us she would notify the manager and everything would be fine. On the night we were to arrive we called the hotel at approximately 10:30 pm and were told by the manager that he had no king room and that he thought we were a "no show." He then said he would call us back in an hour to let us know if he had a room available. Since we were already on the road to the hotel and less than an hour away, we started looking for another hotel. We arrived at approximately 11:45 pm. The desk clerk was very polite and told us that a double bed room was available. We took it, but I paid the rate for a king room. Won't be going back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by Amita P, Hotel Management
We do our best to accommodate room request booked through Expedia but due to out of ordinary circumstances that room may not be available. If a room does not meet your expectation and you decide not to take it, we could call Expedia to refund your money. Thank you for your comments.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very uncomfortable beds

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Very uncomfortable beds, only one small very soft pillow for each person, no firm or soft choice like some other hotels. Shower head a long strand of hair from previous guest on it upon arrival. Small tv.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know of your concerns. We have addressed your issue with the staff as we take pride in providing a overall clean room. We have since updated our rooms with brand new pillow top mattresses in our upgraded rooms. We have had great response from our guests on bed comfort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake geveva, wi

Do not stay here !!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: It was in a good spot. Country setting.
Cons: Up grade and do not lie about T.V. service you did not have HBO or ESPN ...And get a new TV...
Location: Had wedding there, was able to walk to church. Nothing else..
Needs up grades, carpet had holes, I tripped in a hole!! T.V was very old every thing was dark and red. Beds are old and need new ones. Room needs to be painted. Holes in curtains too. Blankets were very thin and wore out as the bedspread was too. Breakfast was awful !!! No variety !! And Paid way to much for room. Very small town. Also, stated they had HBO and ESPN they did not was limited to only a few TV stations, with no TV guide. And the bathroom... turn on lite switch a BIG grinding noise would start. Every time !! Room # was 107. The only nice thing was they were no bugs...But, will not stay they ever again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2015
was there for a business trip. not a whole lot to do for food around the area. the Bar and Grill didn't have a grill in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Central WI

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Good location. Great price.
Cons: The room was cold when I entered. The heater/fan was loud.
Location: Great cross-country skiing.
Quick check in and check out. Great location for what I was accomlishing while in Phillips.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Room was substandard but moderately clean. Was disappointed that an additional person (3 from 2) in a room where a double bed was already requested yielded a higher room rate. The 'free' breakfast was pretty lame. Horrible options in Phillips for hotel accommodations and sadly, they charge pretty high nightly rates.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, MN

Less than expected

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The staff was very courteous. The beds were low enough so that we could easily get on them.
Cons: The place could use a handicapped entrance. The could be a grab bar in the tub. Better maintenance of equipment. New towels.
Location: Phillips, WI, has a lot of fishing, hunting and snowmobiling opportunities. There is also a unique concrete park
The first problem we encountered was that the entrance to the motel is comprised of 3 steps. There does not appear to be any handicapped entrance. The second problem we encountered was that the heater was malfunctioning so that the room was too chilly to shower in or sleep comfortably. Some of the towels had holes in them.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D.

Hotel was a joke.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
The hotel vending machines didn't work. Just as it started getting cooler in our room the air conditioner would turn off and stay off for like an hour. The beds were hard. We were suppose to stay for two nights but we checked out early.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Stevens Point, WI

Weekend trip

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Good location
Cons: Pool would be nice
Location: Lot of lakes for kayaking and fishing, hiking and biking also.
Not a lot to choose from in the north woods, this was a pretty good hotel in a good location. Staff was friendly, slept great, hotel was quiet.