Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Laid Back

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels
I was in Providencia during the rainy season, which made my room very damp and clammy. The hot water didn´t work. The staff didn´t seem to know what they were doing and were often hard to find. The food was good. For my final night, I switched to a local Posada, which was cheaper and more comfortable, and run by a very helpful, hospitable woman.
2 out of 5
by LPJ from New York

Basic hotel in good location

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels
WiFi doesn't work at all so be prepared to disconnect! Rooms are basic but do the job. Food is bland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly surprised but not over whelmed

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: clean, nice sized rooms, near a little store, well managed- beautiful sunsets
Cons: A bit of a makeover wouldn't hurt. Adequate space for storing stuff would have been nice.
Providencia is so far off the beaten path that you really can't compare it's hotel offerings with other islands. The people like their little island and I did too even though "charming is not the adjective in play. We scootered around the island and that was fun. There is a restaurant beach - gorgeous and a hotel beach -small but lovely and a wild and windy little beach that was breath-taking. No little town than 5 minutes to hit the ATM. Sol Caribe Hotel was well run, clean and on the edge of the hotel beach. We enjoyed our stay and I would recommend it. Here's the deal, if you don't dive - think about other options. If you do dive it is one of the best anywhere ever!
4 out of 5
by RichardB from Medellin

Normal for Providencia

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels
These are the kind of hotel's the island has to offer. I have stayed at many.
2 out of 5
by jd uk from Salzburg

Avoid this hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Sol caribe is a poor hotel The reception staff were poor and uninterested in dealing with complaints Cable tv was broken throughout my 6 day stay A break in to another groups room was not reported to police Breakfast lunch and dinner was sub standard The hotel is next to a sewage stream which empties into the sea in front of the hotel There are many better hotels on the island - avoid sol caribe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by felipe from Bogotá

What a beautiful view

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: I knew this hotel 6 years ago
Cons: Opportunities to improve: cleaniness at the private beach, the sink in the bathroom in the rooms
Location: Everything is a little bit far away in San Andres, so it´s a good idea to rent a golf car, what its possible´at the hotel.
This hotel is so nice: the food is excellent and the staff knows what to do. This hotel is a nice opportunity to rest and to recharge fuel to get well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

Excellent Hotel, great location

Posted Feb 11, 2013
Pros: Service and location
Location: the best beach of the island, only 15 minutes taxi to the main town...
Great hotel!! Totally recommended!, clean, well keeped rooms...great location in one of the best beaches of the island: "Playa sector el Encanto"...Great assistance for tours, taxis and Island information. Good breakfast including eggs, fruit, ham and cheese, with natural juice and coffee, all in a sea side restaurant area. Rooms with air conditioning, great hot water shower, balcony, minibar & tv. Next to a great restaurant "Miss Elma", minimarket "Morgan", diving lessons "Felipe Diving"...and to the popular restaurants for lunch: Divino Niño and Arturo.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

Sol Caribe Providencia Hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2011 on Hotels
This hotel was nicely located right by the beach. Room was decent with a balcony. Restaurant service was far from perfect and often closed. Reception staff were always very helpful. Pool bar was closed whilst we were there but pool area was clean and adequate.
4 out of 5
by Viviana

Cuesta mucho para lo que ofrece

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
El precio es muy alto para lo que ofrece, la acomodación en la habitación está bien pero no te ofrece nada más, el internet es pésimo, la comida regular y no tiene nada diferencial a lo que ofrecen los hoteles de la zona mucho más económicos
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A 3 km de la preciosa playa south west.

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Comida y atencion sobresaliente.