Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
All excellent!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location and unique property

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
It was a refreshing experience living among the locals
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from DPO, United States of America

Excellent location and friendly staff

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: As noted above
Cons: As noted above
Location: Outstanding location close to the Kasbah and other points of interest.
Staff was extremely accommodating; organized airport transport and responded to all needs. The room was spacious and clean. The roof terraces were numerous and charming. The only downside was the lack of privacy in the bathroom area. Only a curtain and thin wooden panel separated the toilet from the sleeping area. The area between the sleeping area and the shower was completely open. We got used to it, but would have preferred more privacy.
5 out of 5
by Mathieu from Montréal, Canada

Riad/hotel Dar Mayssane

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing hotel with incredible rooms. In our 3 weeks in morocco this is the best Riad my wife and I have been. I Highly recommend it. The rooms or all renovated, the personel is super helpful and pasionate. The location is perfect if you want to be in the Medina (which you should !) You will have a great stay there, that's for sure.
5 out of 5
by Aly from Princeton

Best Riad ever!

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
This was the best Riad of all of the ones I have stayed at during my two week visit to Morocco! Absolutely loved the room, it was very comfortable, the location was wonderful right in the medina and the service provided by Halima and the owner was amazing! The Riad itself is quite beautiful on the inside. My only critique would be that the walls in the room seemed a bit stained and could use a new paint job. Other than that, I would absolutely recommend this riad to anyone!
5 out of 5
by Graham from UK

Excellent as always!

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed at the Dar Mayssane for the fourth time. As always, our stay was lovely - Madame Isabelle (the manager) and her staff look after you in a fantastic fashion. We had the pick up from the airport flawlessly organised (at a reasonable charge), a tasty dinner was waiting for us (freshly prepared Moroccan cuisine at its best) when we arrived and our room was as clean as always. A couple of other points: - Whilst I spent the day at a conference, Madame Isabelle organised a brilliant English-speaking guide for my girlfriend. - All the staff remembered me and even gave me back some handcuffs that I had forgotten last time I visited (which was more than a year ago!!) - IN fact, there did not seem to be any staff-churn in the last 18 months, which is a great indication of the work atmosphere at the Riad. So, overall, I cannot rate this Riad too highly. There are just a couple of points to note (which in our view add to the attraction of the Riad, but may be a negative for some visitors): - the Riad is void of any TV / unnecessary amenities (hence its 3-star rating) - the hotel it is set up in a proper "Riad" fashion, i.e. most rooms are organised on several floors around a central courtyard. This adds to the atmosphere of the place but means that you can overhear most things spoken in the courtyard in your room, so it can be a tiny bit noisy if there are some people having dinner in the evening.
4 out of 5
by Wanda from Vancouver

Frozen in Rabat

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights at the Dar Mayssanne in Rabat. We arrived at 8 pm and being December, our room was extremely cold. It would have been nice if the staff could have turned on the floor heater a couple of hours prior to our arriving to warm up the room. As well, the staff did not show us that there were electric blankets on the beds. Although the hotel was gracious to provide us with a small meal of Moroccan salad and small pizza upon arrival, the price was extremely high at 300 dirhams. The staff was very good and we liked the hotel very much as it has a lot of charm, but would not stay there again in the winter as the rooms are too cold which makes it very uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter, UK

Rustic delightful Riad

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: - spacious, lovely, well equipped rooms - attentive owner, with a resource of tourist literature available for the tourist traveller
Cons: - no wifi - payment by cash only (Credit card would be a plus)
Location: - within the medina, shops nearby
Very atmospheric and well decorated riad! Stayed in the 'l'Amante' room which was very comfortable, and delightful!
4 out of 5
by Firast98 from right now, Fes

Cultural eye opener

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels
This is a riad (converted house), not really a hotel. Very helpful and pleasant staff. If you don't speak any French or Arabic, it can be a difficult stay, though.
5 out of 5
by DMZ from San Francisco

Beautiful dar in great location

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
This place is great! The room was beautiful (we had the Concubine) but did not have air conditioning. Keep that in mind if you are going during super hot months - but it did cool off a bit at night, and we were able to keep our windows/door open and just have curtains hanging. The entire dar is decorated in a very boutiquey manner, making it beautiful. You will not be able to park very close to the place if you are driving, but you can park just outside the medina and walk 1.5 blocks into the location. Don't pay the little twerp outside the front door who notices you are sort of lost, asks where you are going, shows you the door, and expects payment (when we were literally just outside the door). It's not marked, so remember the address. This place also does not take credit cards, despite being able to have a room guaranteed by credit card. I was at the end of my trip and did not want to have enough local currency to pay in cash, so this hotel was very accommodating and we handled via a different form of electronic transfer. I very much appreciated it. Also, the staff does not speak English (or Espanol). It really isn't that big of a deal, I think we communicated just fine using gestures. :) Just keep it in mind. I read other reviews that this was frustrating to other people, I didn't find it frustrating, but I felt the need to confirm it happens. Also, the wireless internet is kind of weak but if you know where to stand you can get a good signal.