Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Crown Beach - Room To Improve

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful Smaller resort, not too busy and relaxed feeling Unit was spacious and had good facilities within the unit
Cons: Too many facilities closed (e.g. best restaurant, gymnasium, some spa services) Breakfast quality very poor Only one pool umbrella Restaurant music
Location: Close to airport and town Good restaurants in close walking distance Tuk tuk just across the road, great guy and good for getting to know the island
We stayed in a two bedroom unit beside the pool and enjoyed the unit, location close to other restaurants, airport, hire car facilities, etc. Staff were always friendly and tried to help, however quite a few things to work on and improve if really wanting to be consider in the higher quality resorts.
4 out of 5
by Linda J

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel with well kept grounds

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: The suite itself was huge and we had tons of room to comfortably relax during our stay. The bathroom had double sinks and a huge walk in shower.
Cons: The biggest turnoff during our stay was the infestation of ants in the kitchen area of our suite. The service at Ocean's was dismal.
Location: Rent a scooter to get around to town and other restaurants.
My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon for 7 nights in May 2015. Overall we had a pleasurable experience. We were in a courtyard suite with a pool (#29). The resort is well taken care of and the cleaning staff generally did a pleasing job. The biggest turnoff during our stay was the infestation of ants in the kitchen area of our suite. We bought some groceries including a box of cereal. The food was closed up and overnight was completely overrun with ants which we had to throw out. We did notify the hotel staff of the ant problem but I believe they just used a can of raid to temporarily solve the issue. Thus, the ants returned daily. Store all food in the fridge, no matter what it is! Unfortunately, the suite we were in (#29) was next door to the parking lot and maintenance yard which caused a lot of unwanted noise all day. We would purposely leave our courtyard and go lay by the pool in order to avoid the noise. We also had an issue with the cleaning/pool staff consistently leaving the door to our courtyard open after cleaning. We did have personal items in the courtyard, including all of our dive gear drying off, thus were none too pleased with returning to the door wide open almost every day. Luckily nothing went missing. Also, the front desk staff were not helpful with trying to book excursions. I stopped by 5 times regarding the same excursion with no success and we ended up booking it on our own. The Windjammer restaurant was incredible!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Wotif
Penny pinching attitude by management meant there was no generousity of spirit about the stay which we did enjoy but was easily esclipsed by the Muri Beach Club and Hotel where we moved onto.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Peaceful and relaxing

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: The privacy of the villa. The private pool. The space within the villa. The look of the resort grounds. The friendly staff. The beach.
Cons: We were told on arrival that breakfast went till 11.30 (great since we arrived so late). This was incorrect so we were late on our first morning.
Location: There is a bus stop out the front. You can go right around the island for $8. There is a convenience store and tuk tuk tours across the road.
Our flight was delayed by 5 hours. We phoned the hotel and they were already aware of the delay and had rescheduled our airport pick up. We ended up arriving in Rarotonga at 2.30 am instead of 9.40 pm but everyone on our arrival at the airport and hotel greeted us warmly. There was someone ready to direct us to the transfer desk the minute we cleared customs and someone to escort us to the bus. On arrival at the hotel one of the security team did a very quick partial check in by just getting us to sign and asked us to return for proper check in in the morning. This meant we could get to our villa ASAP. The villa was huge and the private pool such a luxury. Unfortunately it was quite cool most of the time of our stay but we forced ourselves into the freezing water! The communal pool area is lovely too as are the gardens, the two restaurants and the beach on the doorstep. The Island Night cultural show was well worth it. Those dancers are so fit and energetic. The hotel also booked the Koka Lagoon cruise for us which was fun. The staff were all so friendly. Vini, the reception manager deserves special mention for his kindness. We were given some misinformation by some staff and sometimes the service at Oceans was a little bit slow (see below). The resort was so peaceful and relaxed, there didn't seem to be a lot of people staying but it's hard to say because the courtyard villas are so private you wouldn't necessarily know if anyone was staying next door.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Pleasant stay

Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Wotif
I had a courtyard villa with pool which was lovely, spacious and private. I found the rest of the resort quite open, where ever you walked or sat you could see straight into the other rooms. The main pool is especially overlooked so I didn't use it. The beach seating is great and the water accessories (kayaks etc). Special mention to the turn down service as this was especially lovely. The gym is terrible, rusted equipment that doesn't work and let's the hotel down. The Windjammer restaurant is fantastic and was my favourite place to eat on the whole island.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice resort Hotel with great facilities.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Clean, tidy and really had everything that you would need for a very relaxing holiday, highly recommend
Cons: The resort pool should have a pool bar !! would not change much else.
Location: 10 minutes from the airport so after a flight it is not far to be able to check in and start to relax. Brilliant !!!
Enjoyed this resort thoroughly. Clean and recently renovated rooms that are very comfortable. We had the Unit with its own pool and outdoor area which was very private and exactly what we wanted. However, you could enjoy the resort pool and lagoon for snorkelling and swimming. The beach was cleaned every day of any debris so you could walk bare foot with comfort. The staff were very attentive and helpful and the cocktails were very good and priced well. All in all if you want to relax and recharge the energy levels this resort is the place for you to go. The cultural evening on the Thursday night was also very good and I would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Lovely facility, nice private pool.

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Great staff, wonderful private yards with own pool, nice spacious units, well cleaned and maintained.
Cons: Better breakfast menu. Spa staff need better training and knowledge of a proper spa treatment. Massage was too oily and too light we felt.
Location: Didn't try ocean swimming so cannot comment but great restaurants within walking distance. Scooter hire on site, near to main town and amenities.
We had a great stay here. the staff are wonderful (always are in the Cook Islands), the amenities were great and seemed well maintained. The private pool in it's own private setting a definite plus for the ultimate in relaxing. The only disappointments were the spa which we were not overly impressed with and we thought that the breakfast menu could do with changing and updating a bit (the food was a bit bland). The evening meals at both restaurants were good, especially Windjammers which was superb. We would definetly recommend this place for a friendly and relaxing stay and we had a great week there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Relaxing Hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Private court yard area with own pool. The rooms were a good size with a comfortably bed. Nice bathroom. The beach area was lovely.
Cons: Needs to have Sky TV (as you could only receive a local TV station) there is DVDs at reception. Air con a little noisy. Late check out pricey
Location: A handy dairy opposite the hotel stocking most requirements. We had scooters really easy to pop into town, restaurants close by
For a relaxing romantic place to stay this was perfect. The hotel isn't really big which gives a family feel, the staff are outstanding, very friendly and accommodating. In the evening the rooms were turned down with candles being lit and fresh flowers on the bed. We left a pair of shoes at the hotel they tracked us down and delivered directly out to the airport!. The restaurants standards are great very nice meals. The "Island Affair" cocktail served in a bowl (for two) is a must to have on the beach at sunset. The spa offers a relaxing massage. The Island night worth booking in for dancing and the buffet meal is nice( not something I would normally like).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Couples Retreat

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Overall experience was great. The resort was a relaxing place to be with our room being everything the photos showed on the website. It was fantastic to relax in our own courtyard and pool. Other than a single bad restaurant service on 1 night the overall complex and service was great. We visited and ate at a lot of other different resorts during our stay, but we were happy to go home to ours. All the staff were friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a place that is quiet, private and relaxing, with views to a sunset, then this is it.