Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted May 31, 2017
Friendly helpful staff. Nice place to stay with an excellent lagoon out front for snorkelling. The only negative was that the hot water was inconsistent bring lukewarm at best some mornings Overall was a good place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Like having your private little flat in paradise..

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Staff friendly, cleaning staff and groundskeepers helpful. Beach across road, private room, bus across road, Wigmore store, snorkel, kayaks, bikes
Cons: Other guests smoking by the pool, I know its allowed but it smells yuck and didn't like my children around it. Wifi but hey we survived, quality time.
Location: Everything is close by get a rental car or rent a bike and you can go everywhere, the markets on Saturday are awesome.
This was ideal for our family. It was having our own little private house rather then connected apartments. Having the beach across the road was awesome. The receptionist was very helpful and organised our trips out eg Capt Tama tours and having breakfast as part of the deal was great. There is a laundry room, we could hang out wet clothes outside, an outside shower to wash off the sand. We were always out but coming back to a clean room was awesome. My kids were either at the pool or the beach. We had quality family time - monopoly, card etc
3 out of 5
by Melanie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Zachary from Courtenay, bc

Great pick all around

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful little resort right on the beach with all the rentals included such as snorkel sets and kayaks plus a great little breakfast. A fantastic stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great location close to the most beautiful beach.

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Great staff attitude,they can't do enough for you. Location was next to the most perfect beach, ideal for snorkeling,(free equipment provided)
Cons: Food needs another look both at breakfast and restaurant level. Get rid of those bloomin cockerels!!
Location: Good location on the most perfect beach. See above.
Palm Grove is a 'bit out of the way' but there is good local transport on the island buses. Car hire is just down the road and at 50NZ$ per day is reasonably priced. Be aware that you can hire scooters(20NZ$) at Palm Grove but you do need a motorcycle licence. The hotel grounds are well manicured and make for an almost idyllic setting.However, the down sides are the noisy local farm animals (cockerels) which provide a 'dawn chorus' from 3.00 am onward. This can continue throughout the day. These pesky birds are free range and wander at will disturbing what should be paradise.BE AWARE!! The 'restaurant' at Palm Grove is ok but could do with a bit of variety on the menu. We ate there only once in eight days as we felt it was a little pricey for whats on offer. Breakfast is a bit of a 'bun fight' as if you're not there early the platters can be empty which makes it quite difficult if you want to 'sleep in' until the last minute.However I would say that Palm Grove was OK for a short stay for adults but for a family it might not be the best place to stay as entertainment is limited.
4 out of 5
by Jana from Lake Elsinore, California

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful stay, relaxing. The garden room was more than I expected, tiles, upgraded kitchen & bathroom. The king bed was very comfortable. I would stay again & the price is decent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nelson NZ

Seen better days

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Free kayak and snorkel hire. Close to the beach. Comfortable beds.
Cons: Cleanliness, service, the buffet breakfast although had a good selection once things ran out you needed to ask for them to be replenished.
Location: Close to the beach, short walk from local supermarket.
We were in a poolside unit which although a decent size was badly designed. The "wardrobe" had no door, was in the bathroom and was narrow with a hanging area which even a mans shirt wouldn't hang properly as the shelf with the safe was below it. The unit and the restaurant bar area looked like they needed a spring clean. Looking from the units kitchen window you could see an old beaten up car. Overall the staff were friendly. We felt for what we paid we had expected it to be much nicer. We would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Amazing Resort

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Everything
We were there for our honeymoon and they went out of their way to make our stay special. The staff are very freindly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Adelaide Australia

Great place with wonderful friendly staff.

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not much at all! I like it the way it is
Location: located in the middle of the south coast it has great access to Muri beach for the Glass bottom boat tours and the Raro Buggy tours.
This really is a great place to stay and situated in a really good spot on the island. in the middle of the south coast gives easy access to everything. The staff are really good and helpful especially Mata (Spelling) as she goes above and beyond to make your stay special as did Nicole and Bambi.I really would recommend this to couples looking to get away from it all as it is the perfect place to de-stress and not have a care in the world. The yellow Hibiscus restaurant has some really great food and you must have the BBQ on Sunday Night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Great place to stay, snorkel and relax

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Wotif
Very relaxing. Nice food and atmosphere. Pool was nice. Can borrow snorkeling and kayaking gear and walk across to the beach.