Ratings based on 487 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Pleasant stay

Posted Oct 26, 2017
We use to stay here a lot 5 years ago. It’s changed a lot in good ways but some not so good. It’s become very busy and conference like so wasn’t as relaxed! pleasant enough tho and room was lovely.
3 out of 5
by Roger

food and service decline

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
Accomodation very good. Food & food service diabolical, since revamp earlier this year the general standard of food and service has gone down. We have stayed here on a number of occasions but will be looking elsewhere the next time we visit family in that area.
3 out of 5
by Kelly

Disappointed

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
Overall the hotel looked very nice however the overall experience could have been a lot better and there were a few things that really let it down. Check in was painful and long, there were only 2 people on reception but there were about 15/20 people waiting to be checked in, eventually 2 other members of staff arrived and put a process in place to speed things up. The bar was chaos, it was very busy with 3 people serving and glasses were piling up at the end of the bar. I ordered a glass of Prosecco and was given a glass that was lukewarm and a little flat, the chap behind the bar then argued with me telling me it was fine and that is was chilled. I told him it wasn't so he then went and found a fresh chilled bottle but it took about 25 minutes to get my drink. Breakfast was ok, but could have been better. There were lots of things missing because it was so busy I don't think the staff could replenish them fast enough. I understand that the hotel was busy however they would have known this for some time as everyone would have booked a room in advance especially as most of the guests were attending 2 large company parties which meant that it had a negative impact on the other guests, this was not acceptable. I felt like they were not prepared for the volume of people they had staying, they didn't have enough staff and had not put any processes in place to ensure everything was running smoothly.
3 out of 5
by Stuart

Nice Room, breakfast could be better

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
We were in the mansion house which is a 5-10 minute walk from the main reception. Fortunately it was not raining as there is no covered walkway. Bathroom a bit tired Breakfast was in the main hotel building - not a great experience. Waited at the greeting point to the View restaurant to be seated, no one came for 5-10 minutes so just sat ourselves down. Food spread across the wall on three sides of the restaurant which leads to lots of people moving about gathering their breakfast which is distracting. Scrambled egg had been there for ages and no sausages for about 20 minutes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel very disappointing

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Cons: loadse
There was a BRIGHT green light from the bathroom which lit up the bedroom. Constant bright flash from the smoke alarm. No replenish of the toiletries. Kept awake by very noisy neighbour and constant opening of door to smoke made worse by disgusting cough. Music from TV very loud. .Didn't know there was security at hotel as normally no notice is taken of this. Breakfast was fine on Saturday but very poor Sunday am as no milk provided for cereal and no dried fruit and nuts for cereals. I am diabetic and no skimmed milk etc. Evening meal on Saturday was very poor as I had to eat meat pie as it was impossible to change meal delivered as again I am trying to eat low GI.
5 out of 5
by Karima

Amazing!

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
I would stay here for weeks. It's an amazing hotel!
5 out of 5
by john

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
My comments are limited in that we had an overnight stay to visit family and in consequence made little us of the facilities of the hotel. The room was fine, the breakfast was excellent
4 out of 5
by Sue

weekend stay

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
A very nice room, clean & had everything I needed. Couldn't find a TV remote but housekeeping found one without any trouble. Breakfast was fantastic if a little chaotic & noisy! Good selection of food. The only thing that marred the weekend was checking out. Only 2 receptionists & so many people wanting to check out at the same time with apparently only 1 printer! Many of us had a tight time schedule to stick to so they were either going to leave their room keys in the room or like me just left the key on the desk. Very unprofessional. A shame as everything else was fine.
3 out of 5
by Nicola

Shocking Service

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Shocking service. Room not ready at 4pm (3pm check in) advised to wait in the bar whilst room completed, waited about 15 mins to be served at the bar as one person behind the bar and the bar was packed. Once in room it was lovely. Breakfast the following day was unbelievable. Not enough staff or cutlery. Had to chase someone several times to make table up. Long queue for hot breakfast, they ran out of bacon and eggs constantly and didn't manage to have any as they could not keep up with demand. To top it off was joined at my table by other guests as there were no tables left, didn't ask if I was happy with that. There conversation was not something I wanted to be part of. Do not fully book a hotel if you don't have the staff or space to manage it. Such a shame as a lovely setting and lovely newly refurbished rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FoD

Over night stay

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Although hotel was comfortable only thing that let it down was the untidy Ness of the reception area and main bar.