Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to sites

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Hotel is fairly close to the major sites and good places to eat. The hotel is also very particular about cleaning your room 2 times a day. The staff even called to check even when I had the privacy sign on my door to see if I needed my room cleaned a 2nd time. Staff were friendly and courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by The St. Regis, Rome, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Guest, Thank you for mentioning the strategic location of our hotel. Our cleaning team is indeed very accurate and all rooms receive the evening "turn down service", in addition to the regular cleaning. Looking forward to your next visit, Kind regards from all of us, Marc Lannoy Complex General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Unacceptable Compromises

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Professional staff, fast service.
Cons: Everything else.
The hotel management is gambling they can continue to operate and profit while they're conducting a massive renovation, comprising more than half of the rooms - while charging the full 5-stars prices. Unfortunately there's no way you can hide the fact you're stepping into a construction zone, replete with noise, a facade wrapped in scaffolding, emanating dust and dirt. The remaining rooms are in dire need of renovation themselves, probably not having been updated since the '80s. If management had any integrity, they would've renovated the entire hotel all at once, rather than alienating their customers - or failing that, they should've charged 3-stars prices, which is what the hotel could conceivably deliver in the midst of an overhaul. The staff made a valiant attempt at saving the reputation of a sinking franchise, but they not even magicians could hide the fact this was a decrepit hotel, unworthy of its brand and the city it is part of.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by The St. Regis, Rome, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Allow me to thank you for highlighting the professional attitude of the staff and their level of service. We greatly respect your thoughts in regards to the ongoing phased renovation project and we are sorry that we have disappointed your expectations. Please feel free to contact me so I can respond directly to you and address your concerns. Thank you for sharing your experience; I wish to assure you that we are committed to providing exceptional guest experiences. Sincerely yours, Marc Lannoy Complex General Manager
2 out of 5
by Ali

Poor

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very old.. the room is very small The bed is not comfortable. The hotel was under oncoming renovation. Poor breakfast menu and they charge alot for it.
5 out of 5
by Bruce

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
The St. Regis Rome is currently being remodeled, though we were not disturbed at all by construction sounds during our stay, and the staff was always friendly and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MEXICO

NICE HOTEL, EXCELLENT LOCATION

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: HIS LUXE, EXCELLENT ATTENTION
Cons: NOTHING
Location: BEST LOCATION NEAR TO MORE IMPORTANTS ROME ATTRACTIONS
NICE EXPERIENCE, CONFORTABLE STAY IN THE REGIS. I WILL BACK
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

first class hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: comfort, luxury, excellent breakfasts, helpful staff. met expectations of a high quality hotel. sabreing ceremony followed by glass of champagne.
Cons: drinks at bar were very pricey.
Location: try Flavia street nearby for good restuarants
this hotel really lived up to its billings. Staff friendly and helpful throughout without being obtrusive. concierge gave good advice on places to eat etc. rooms classic rather than ultra modern but well equipped with excellent bathrooms. Was planned as birthday treat and fully delivered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by The St. Regis, Rome, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Nick, what a pleasure hearing that we contributed to a memorable birthday celebration! This is our constant aim: creating special moments for our Guests to enjoy and to treasure. GRAZIE for your recognition and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Best regards, Vincenzo Falcone Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A wonderful hotel in a wonderful city.

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The staff are, to a person, friendly and eager to help with every query.
Cons: Nothing - we really could not fault it.
Location: The St Regis is well positioned for all the famous landmarks of the ancient Rome central area. We walked to most.
This is a truly beautiful, opulent old hotel. From the moment you step through its doors and into its stunning entrance area you can't fail to be impressed by its old world grandeur. Sympathetically updated in the bar area and yet retaining a real splendour in its dining room, the whole place is well balanced and a class apart from hotels we have stayed in before. Our room, a junior suite, was a special indulgence for an important birthday. It's was very comfortable, spacious and perfectly presented.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by The St. Regis, Rome, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Matthew, Thank you! Your meaningful review makes us happy. It is a pleasure learning that we contributed to create a special moment for your birthday celebration to be treasured and remembered. Until your next visit, we all together renew our best wishes! Sincerely yours, Vincenzo Falcone Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Well deserving of its grand hotel status

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The room was excellent with a large comfortable bed with a great maid service. The all round service provided was first class
Cons: We think it could do with an intimate are as well as the large and splendid lobby bar
Location: The location is good because it is just outside the central district so less busy but within easy walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by The St. Regis, Rome, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Roger, we loved your review and we are pleased that you appreciated the strategic location of our Hotel, equidistant to the most important sites, still not in the middle of the touristic crowds. We look forward to your next visit and to creating another memorable stay. Sincerely yours, Vincenzo Falcone Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX.

GRAND

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The staff was attentive, very courteous and accommodating.
Cons: N/A
Location: Great location being so close to the train station and so many shops and restaurants.
Beautiful and romantic room. We felt like Royalty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by The St. Regis, Rome, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. John, We are delighted that we have been able to make you feel like Royalties; this is our constant aim and it is a true pleasure learning that you found the staff being attentive and courteous. We look forward to your next visit! Sincerely yours, Vincenzo Falcone Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Hotel, Helpful Staff

Posted Oct 13, 2016
We had a lovely stay, excellent breakfast in bed delivered every morning for no extra charge! Staff were very helpful and friendly, we even got a pretty candle as a leaving gift from them on check out. My only teeny tiny criticism was that there was a stain on our bed sheet, but they changed our sheets straight away. Also in a brilliant location, would recommend to anyone and everyone!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by The St. Regis, Rome, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Amy, We are delighted that you could enjoy a leisurely, rich breakfast in bed and you appreciated our goodbye gift reserved to you. Thank you for also mentioning the linen issue, we will certainly follow up on this as it should not have happened. Until your next visit, warm regards! Vincenzo Falcone Hotel Manager