Ratings based on 1,274 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very enjoyable stay

Posted Feb 11, 2016
We had 14 gals on a girls trip. It was wonderful and had all the amenities we needed. We upgraded, so we had access to better drinks and restuants. Would love to come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff great location

Posted Feb 11, 2016
We loved it here is was not the typical gigantic resort we were used to and we liked that. It offered everything needed with a small community feel. We met alot of new people who we saw everyday and became lifelong friends. The staff was amazing I can not say enough good about them they became more of friends to us than staff. The location to town and all of the shopping is wonderful you can take the road or the beach and be there in 10 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Awesome time and experience, food and bar staff were great and willing to help you. the only thing negative is all the bars close at 7 unless you upgrade and pay for the vip bar, also running out of cups so they would come around and grab them from you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beware when upgrading your package to premium

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Mario in the lobby bar and Felix in Nico's bar. The manager (Vitto I think) was very helpful in getting the bar stocked with premium beer.
Cons: The food was pretty much the same every day which got a little boring and the specialty restaurants have very limited menus that do not change.
Location: Excellent beach and a long walk or short taxi ride to downtown.
Premium room and beverage package was not really premium. Liquor selection was limited or non-existent (Jim Beam was the premium bourbon, and did not include wine, there was no vermouth so you could not get a martini or Manhattan and the beer was either warm ot not available. Premium beverages are available in only one bar in the complex which has very limited seating. The initial room offered was on the 3rd floor overlooking the street and children's play area. The only other king bed room was a ground floor room next to the janitors closet, which was full of loud activity all day long.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterford, MI

8 days in paradise!

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Physical beauty, staff, and food.
Cons: Having rooms ready.
Location: 5th Avenue is a quick 15 minute walk down the beach. Tulum is great and we had a fun time there. Xcaret was a truly awesome 12 hour day/
Over the past 22 years, we have stayed ain all the mega resorts, RIU, Grand Bahia, Barcelo, etc. When we booked this vacation in a much smaller resort, we were not sure if we would like it. Here are the possitives we experienced: extremely beautiful grounds and beach, wonderful and helpfull staff, much better food than expected, great drink options and not watered down. Rooms are smaller than expected, but clean and up to date. Pools were good, but not real lively. Pool bar comes to life from 4-6:00 each day and had many good times there. Great A/C and bathrooms. Bed was fine. highly recommend the Italian, Aisin, and M Now comes the negatives: when we arrived at the appointed hour and day, we were told no rooms available until the next afternoon. We were shuttled to the RIU Tequila (an extremely old, tired dump of a hotel) and put up for the night. When we arrived the next day, we were provided an upgrade in rooms and VIP drinks wth small private beach. The upgrade made up for the inconvenience, but.... The entertainment at night was not good and very amatuerish. Not much activity on grounds to keep you occupied. Water aerobics were fun. The overall experience was great. A lot of reviews focused on "pushy time share salespeople". We found them to be polite and once told a definitive "NO", they left us alone. In summary, if you want a quiet, relaxing, and affordable place to stay within a quick 15 minute walk of 5th Avenue, we highly reccommend The Reef
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Very Disappointing Room Amenities

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: The beach.
Cons: Bed comfort and cleanliness. Sewage smell eliminated. Food variety should be better.
Location: The location is approximately a 25 minute walk to downtown Playa.
The beds are small, very hard and bedding is not clean or comfortable. After 6-8 hours outside in the pool, beach and sun, you might like to go to a comfortable room and relax, perhaps watch a movie on TV. No...the tv's only get 3 channels and 2 of them are Spanish only. The smell of sewage permeates the mid-section of the grounds. The maintenance crew chose 5am in the morning to clank extension ladders to trim the trees. The "all-inclusive" food is the same every day and not anything special. After 3 days of the same food we made the trip into town to eat for days 4-7. Spend a little more for a better accommodation. You will be glad you did.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Beach is the best part of this resort

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Beach, Beach,Beach
Cons: Shower in the rooms Food choices could be improved
Location: Close to 5 Ave., but is a full 20 min. walk each way. Cozumel ferry
The beach is great : plenty of chairs, bartender service, and no rocks in the water. Resort is small and well kept Rooms could use 1 big change and that would be a shower, please remove tubs and put in a nice walk in shower Don't stay in the 100 block of rooms -- too close to the evening entertainment as is very loud.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jan 31, 2016
I went on vacation after a few years and I am glad that I chose this place. My expectations were fully met. The food was excellent, hotel staff was professional, the beach was clean, my room was comfortable...
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Peja, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience in our hotel. We appreciate your positive comments. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our food, our staff, the beach and the room comfort. We would be very happy to welcome you here again. Kind Regards, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bogota,Colombia

Very convenient hotel in Playacar

Posted Jan 31, 2016
I was a little bit worried due to some comments about the hotel I had read trough Tripadvisor in regards to security, staff attention and food. However my experience was good, we had a great time at The Reef Playacar without complaints: The room was appropiate, the buffet restaurant big enough, the staff very kind. The relation price-quality was as I expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear JuanM, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experiences. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to read that you liked the room, the buffet restaurant, our staff and the relation price-quality. Once again, thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel. We would be more than glad to welcome you in the near future. Kind Regards, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK but will not go back

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Food was good
Cons: Service in the food areas.
Location: Location was good. Like that I could walk to a small shopping plaza and it was near Play 5th ave.
Beach location was great. Food was good but staff wait staff were not attentive!! VERY poor service in all restaurants. As a privileged guest I would have expect more!! Hotel very outdated and has an "old" odor. Mini bar consisted of 4 cans of soda and 2 beers which were NOT replenished on a daily basis. As a privileged guest and able to have top shelf liquor only ONE bar was able to provide top shelf! I don't think my sheets were changed the entire stay. Felt the same sand in my bed each night!!