Ratings based on 1,412 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
It was our 3rd visit to the Reef and won't be our last. Staff are so hardworking and friendly. Beach is beautiful and hotel grounds very pretty. Dive centre is very good. Close to town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

The hotel was right on the beach and plenty of sea

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Impossible to get change. I feel the staff especially the hard working food staff and maids and clean up people were fabulous. Feel the vacation Club person was rude and did not represent you well. Put a bad taste in my mouth
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice beach, older crowds only

Posted Feb 15, 2017
If you are looking just to sit on beach and eat, than it's a good hotel, but if you are looking for friendly staff and entertainment than you need to go somewhere else. It's for older crowd (50yrs and up). Food very basic, bartenders not friendly at all. Hotel room is no luxury at all, strictly to sleep in and that's it. The buffet staff was pretty friendly and were quick to bring you drinks. Rooms are pretty clean. Front lobby only has one friendly face that will help you if needed but everyone else acts like u are bothering them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego california

Love this s Autuentic hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2017
If you love Playa Del Carmen and want a more authentic experience, this Is the place. Ditch all the huge, cold hotels and get to this charming bugalowed and jungle jem of an all inclusive vaca. Staff is great, and the beach with the catamaran and kayaks was terrific! I'm going back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
The middle area of the resort smelt like sewage we had ants in our room we also had our safe die the night before we left and there was a day that our key would not open our room we got to go get a new keyI would stay there again but I hope that it wouldn't be like that again and there was a day that our key would not open our room we got to go get a new key.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2017
An excellent service !!! Always willing to help. Lots of effort from crew to satisfy my requests
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterford, MI USA

Wonderful and affordable resort

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, grounds, beach, VIP areas and Nicoe's Bar.
Cons: Add pool heater, more entertainment, change around buffet food choices more often, better pillows.
Location: Less than a mile from 5th Avenue shops and nightlife. One of the best beaches in Mexico. Feels like you're in the jungle. Explor for zip lining
This was our second stay at the resort and overall we were very pleased, with some minor issues to report. The Reef is a very user friendly, easy to maneuver resort with gorgeous grounds, excellent beach, and clean comfortable rooms. The staff is simply awesome! Very attentive and speak enough English to get by. The buffet is adequate, but the food is virtually the same each and every day.The on site Mexican and Italian restaurants are very good. Recommend you upgrade to get free admission to restaurants and top shelf liqueur. This is not a crazy or wild resort. Very laid back and little entertainment that is worth noting. A quick 20 minute walk up the beach to downtown Playa del Carmen. Always felt safe and secure. We highly recommend Los Rancheros Restaurant on 5th Ave. Great food, pricing and atmosphere. Go off 5th ave a few blocks for cheaper shopping and more authentic Mexican food. Also highly recommend Xcaret for a day away from resort. You will be fed well, see a lot of Mexican culture, and the evening show is Las Vegas worthy. The $129.00 entry fee is well worth it for 10-12 hours of fun. Issues we had with the Reef Playacar are minor, but worth noting. For the second year in a row, our room was not ready and we had to move the next day into our upgraded room. Pool water is a little cooler than most like due to no pool heater. 16 times our door would not unlock with key card in 3 days. Finally fixed and no further issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good hotel. Very quiet.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: location, beach, staff
Cons: more activities
Nice hotel. Not a lot to do in evenings. Staff was very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close to the beach

Posted Jan 26, 2017
I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who loves nature (beautiful trees, plants, pools and clear water beaches. Very relaxing yet has a great night life.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Overall great time. Was bummed that someone stole my beach throw. Great location to downtown playa del carmen.