Ratings based on 1,366 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Won't be Going Back

Posted Oct 24, 2016
This was our second trip to the reef playacar. We knew going in that this was not a five-star Resort but we knew or thought we knew what to expect since we had been before. We were very wrong, this place has gone downhill and fast in the past year. *Beds and pillows are awful. I need a chiropractor after that. *Called the front desk to have different pillows brought to the room twice, nobody ever came. *Called the front desk to have water put in our room after the cleaning crew forgot to leave us some, that never came either. * sent clothes to be cleaned for our engagement photos on the beach. Was told we would have them by noon the next day in time for photos. Called 4x after noon and finally at 3 the clothes were delivered still wet. I was forced to pay for the laundry service upon checkout * Facilities like pool and public restrooms were disgusting hair everywhere, smelled terrible, unclean, etc. * even after tipping waitstaff on the beach when they come to take your drink orders they never come back! During one week they came back ONE time with our drinks * I overheard multiple groups say they will never return to the reef again after their negative experiences as well * they always ask if you booked through the hotel directly and if you didn't, you're basically shunned The list goes on! Unless you have no standards or are the most patient human being to walk the earth, save yourself the stress and disappointment!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

buen hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: personal amable, buena ubicación
Es buen lugar para quedarse a buen precio, buena ubicación
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Not at all what was expected.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: I liked that it was close to the beach. And the staff was friendly
Cons: Everything. Small very old rooms. In the jungle. Slimy pools. Food wasn't very good.
Location: Location was OKAY only because it was close to 5th ave.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel, near beach

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Great food, excellent service, nice amenities, clean. What I didn't like was staff trying to get u to do some sort of time sharing. Very insistent!! Also, young tourists very loud!!!! Everything else wonderful!! Nice place!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Very nice hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Loved our stay. The beds were a bit hard but lots of pillows helped with that. The Italion restrant was excellent. The buffet was about the same every day. I liked the hamburgers at the grill. Service was very good; everyone was very helpful if we needed anything. Very well kept place and clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We always like our stay here!!!!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
We stayed for ten days September 9 thru the 19th and while it was crowded service still seemed very good. The staff here for us is always great,food was good with some things exceptional,like the grill out by the pool in the middle of the day was awesome.Beds are really hard but most of the hotels beds are.Always enjoy our stay here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Nice hotel close to the beach and close to 5th Ave
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver co

the reef playacar in play del carmen

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: great staff and very clean but best of all close the beautiful ocean
Cons: the security in front lobby we feel that the resort should of given us money for all that we had to pay, to get passport and all taxi rides,
Location: Tulum is near by and cosemel and shopping and a golf club
this was a nice clean resort and all staff were great, but the security is not up to par. we had our luggage taken right next to us in the lobby as we were talking to a excursion person, unbelievable, it was next to our legs and they came from behind , as there were a lot of people checking in, these professionals the thiefes knew what they were doing . we lost all ID s. they told us this has never happened to the resort before. so if you go there chain your luggage to your legs, and you will enjoy the resort, it is nice and clean and friendly staff. but like most reviews the beds were very hard.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nj

Beautiful beach

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Customer service, great beach, close to town, dive shop on sight, jungle court yard, layout of the resort,shows,view of Cozumel,
We had a great time at this resort, staff extremely friendly, the beach is perfect, the resort has a great relaxing charm. We enjoyed the many different cultures of people attending the resort,it was fun people watching. We read hundreds of reviews ,many good and bad ones, before attending this resort. My girlfriend and i are very easy to please .here are our findings. Our room was pleasant and cleaned every day. The staff were very accomadating,we liked having an expedia rep right on site, she scheduled allot of our activities.we liked the fact that this resort is very close walking distance to playa del Carmen, we choose to take a taxi to town a few nights and the rates were fair. We also enjoyed taking the ferry over to Cozumel and rented a car there very eazilly, we read many reviews about the food here. Breakfast was fine with us ,we found plenty of choices for breakfast every morning. Lunch we had to work at a little harder and did use the snack bar several times, for dinner we really liked the Italian restaurant and could have easily had dinner there every night. I am sure some people would not find this resort high end enough for them, for us we found it to be an increditable value and loved it's charm. You can really relax at this resort and the water is beautiful. We loved the Mexican people ! As we were leaving we both agreed we could return here again. Thank you to all the staff at the reef for helping make our vacation unforgettable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice place.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
It is a nice place, I would say with the best beach around, is close to 5th Avenue. The staff is super friendly, all of them, I will go again.