Ratings based on 1,443 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reef Playacar

Posted May 23, 2017
There are a couple of issues the hotel could improve. First would be the towel service. I had to protect my towel with my life and during vacation I didn't need to be preoccupied with towels. Rooms are smaller than expected but can't do much about that. The front staff need to be more courteous to guests. This needs great improvement. I had to request the management several times. The restaurants were good and the coffee was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, ok

Excellent beach location

Posted May 21, 2017
Right on the beach, beautiful views. Rooms are basic but very clean. The only issue was the shower, the water never got past lukewarm and it has very low pressure. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. I would also recommend the spa, the massage was awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Great location. 1.5 mile walk to town. Very clean. Food and drink good!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Big let down.

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: I would give the quality of the food 3 out of 5 stars. Not much variety one day to the next but it was ok.
Cons: The BIRDS! the main is buffet style and the birds are eating the food from the buffet that they are expecting us to eat from and not just a few.
Location: XPLOR park was awesome as we did spend a day there.
I ordered a king room but got double beds instead. When I went to the front desk they said that my reservation for a king was only a suggestion and was very rude. We never had the either the towels and/or the shampoo replenished in our room each day. Once I called the front desk in the evening when I was trying to shower and requested these items but they still never came. Some of the staff was friendly and worked hard to make it a pleasant stay which speaks to their character but not to the management of the hotel as many were not and they where the ones who were particularly rude. Also, we found it difficult many times to be waited on at meals. The beach was also full of seaweed and I do mean FULL it was disgusting. Also, the buoys that should have designated the swimming area for the hotel was washed up partially on the beach and a long rope that anchors it to the beach was sticking well above the sand across the beach as much as 1 foot high creating a hazard that appears to have been this way for awhile now.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unattentive staff

Posted May 11, 2017
We ordered a king size bed and got a room with 2 doubles. We were told rooms could not be guaranteed even though we paid extra for a room with a king. The AC unit didn't work for the 1st 2 days. It beeped every other second and we didn't sleep at all those 1st 2 nights. I called the front desk 3 times, spoke with an on-site person and went to the front desk twice. We happened to have our "Privacy Please" card on our door the 5th time because we didn't need our room turned-down that day. The front desk manager said they didn't fix our AC because it was on the door. They didn't even knock. And what about the previous day or other 4 times...? We waited for hours for the maintenance person and lost a day of our trip sitting in our room. Out tub didn't drain either and they never sent anyone to fix it...ever. The food is average at best, even in the restaurants. The swim-up bar and the cleanliness and peacefulness of the grounds were the only positive takeaways. We will NEVER stay at this resort again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Terrible service poor food selection

Posted May 9, 2017
Service was very slow. They did not have liquor that was advertised on website and when they did they ran out and did not restock until next day. Buffet selection was very limited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2017
The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. Nature at its best. The room was nice and very clean. The personnel was very friendly and was available to help whenever we needed. Bottles of water were left in the room every morning. The beach was nice and enough chairs were available. This is a smaller resort so if you want lots of activities and people, this is not the place for you. My only complain is the the food. They have a buffet style restaurant, an Italian restaurant, a Mexican restaurant and a fast food place. The food in the buffet was average and lack variety. After a couple of days, I was not interested in going there anymore. The Italian restaurant was very good and we went there for most of our dinners. The fast food place was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Property was immaculate, staff was second to none.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Cons: Better chairs, we upgraded to VIP for the chairs, but you're far from the beach but close to the bar, it a real conundrum.
Large clean, plush room. Calming water features in the courtyard, cute little exotic animals running around. Serene beach, in a gated private community that screams bike rides.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice smaller all inclusive on beautiful beach

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We had a wonderful experience at The Reef. Staff was awesome and it was everything we wanted. Only complaint was we were booked for a king aND got to fully instead. They offered to change us next day but room wasn't as nice as the 2 fills so we stayed. Can't wait to go back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Food was not good in the buffet, snack bar workers clueless. Beach very nice