Ratings based on 1,124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel! Private beach

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Perfect honeymoon! Everything was close by including downtown! You can go walking and eat great seafood. It only takes like 25 mins from the resort but it feels like less because there is a lot to see and buy. The open bar at the hotel was great! One thing I would not recommend is buying things from the store inside the hotel too expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: The location is the best! Small hotel feel and good family environment.
Location: Excellent location. Can walk to Playa del Carmen and the Cozumel ferry. Playacar is a gated community and very safe. It's close to many excursions.
We had a great time at this hotel. Lots of activities available and included in the all inclusive. Great food and staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg, VA

Affordable and Lovely

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Ricardo, the activities instructor, was wonderful. Many of the restaurant staff were great. A safe hotel with a lovely garden and environment.
Cons: Rooms quality could use work. The A/Cs seemed to have problems with condensation or keep temperatures cool. Some moldy smells too. Variety in food?
Location: The location is very close to Playa Del Carmen, a long walk to the ferry to Cozumel. But there are plenty of things to do from the resort.
We did this as a last minute get away, and the reviews of the resort are quite accurate. You do get what you pay for. The biggest problem is that there are costs- dinners at the restaurant, premium drinks require an upgrade, etc, so it is probably better to get the premium service. We liked the gardens of the hotel, that it was smaller and more environmentally attractive with a cenote on premise and rather tame wildlife. The director of activities, Ricardo, was excellent and enthusiastic. The staff was warm and pleasant, and wanted to make your stay enjoyable. Unlike many hotels it has umbrellas on the beach, which offers necessary shade- but bring sunscreen! The beaches all over Riviera Maya are suffering a sea weed problem (some say Global Warming or the BP accident) but the staff has been clearing away the sea weed off the beach (so it doesn't get stinky) and you can swim a short distance through it to a nice sand bar and enjoy beautiful clear blue waters. There are nice side trips to local attractions. The evening shows included were mixed- the dancing great, the karaoke passable unless you are into that. The clientele was mixed South American, North Americans and European- a good friendly crowd. The resort is just south of Playacar, but in the exclusive condo/hotel zone- a bit more expensive to get in to and out of by taxi, but a somewhat walking distance to Playa del Carmen and the bus station. There is local shopping and the neighborhood seemed very safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Close to the beach.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Close to the beach
Location: Great location. We went on three excursions (Xel-Ha, fishing/snorkeling trip and Tulum). All three days a bus picked us up and returned us.
Our stay was pretty good overall. We knew when we booked it that the hotel had a 3.5 rating, but this was a family vacation with our 18 and 20 year old sons. We didn't need anything over the top. The hotel was clean, but well "lived in". But that was okay with us. We upgraded to the premium band and enjoyed all of the restaurants as well as the bars. The staff was extremely hard working and very friendly. With one exception. When we checked out, my husband let the clerk know that he got food poisoning the day before from the buffet ( word to the wise - LOTS of birds flying around the open air dining room and salad bar... not very sanitary!) My husband did not want any compensation for his sickness, but rather wanted to make them aware that it had happened and perhaps prevent someone else from becoming so sick. When the clerk just looked at him and nodded, we thought perhaps he didn't understand. When we asked him if he understood what we were telling him, he said "I understand you, but I don't know what you want me to do about it." Wow! How about an apology??? I'm not sure that we will stay at this hotel again if we return to Playa del Carmen, but we definitely made some memories on this trip!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Nothing special. Read on...

Posted Aug 10, 2015
First of all. It is a nice hotel complex where front desk is arranged in modern style furniture and glass doors etc... And that's were it ends... Building where we stayed is standard building -nothing fancy or modern but nothing old fashion either. You can pay extra to upgrade to premium room and acces to part of premium seating at the beach and bar. There is a great atmosphere at pool bar ! Dining area : Little to no ventilation even with door open. Who puts clear plastic at the ceiling ? This makes it even hotter. ! As far as hobie-cat catamarans which are included in your stay for only 30minutes a day- they are in terrible shape and ready to be salvaged- and staff points specifically that if you break it you will have to pay a full price of 7500$ in cash. Really?!?! Beach: due to high boat and jet ski traffic you can't swim further than 100' from the beach. And water there is only 5-6' deep. Last thing: watch on your blue towel- 2of them what you get from hotel. They get stolen when you are away from them- either by other ppl or staff members. - then you get charged $35 fee. Only part of staff is able to communicate in English. Overall it is an ok place But we won't come back due to too many bait and switch moments and we won't recommend this place to our friends. Oh and pictures are way to much photoshopped and not all of them are even from this place. Btw: travel agent found to be very informative and very friendly and helpful !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Descanso total

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Excelente combinación con la vegetacion. Hotel a la orilla del mar. Excelente espectáculo nocturno. Comida con buen sazón
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonora, México

exelente ambientacion

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: su ambientacion
Cons: el area de limpieza deberia de reubicarla
el hotel esta muy bien ambientado con esa vegetacion y el rio que lo cruza, En cuanto a los cuartos son amplios y comodos, lo malo es que el material (toallas, jabones, trapeadores, cubetas etc) del personal de limpieza de cada edificio estan debajo de la escalera lo que ocasiona mucho ruido por las mañanas a las recamaras contiguas, Tambien la cuestion de la comida esta muy limitada y resulta incomodo tener que pagar extra por ciertas comidas y ciertos restaurantes cuando se supone que es un all inclusive, su personal muy amable y servicial.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Nice hotel close to beach, good food, great staff

Posted Jul 23, 2015
If you arrive before check in time, as we did, you most likely won't get checked in early. We arrived at 1:30 (check in is at 3) and rooms were not available. Staff is very kind and friendly. Food was good and there was variety for all three meals. Room was clean and comfortable. For TV, there is only 1 channel that gets English the rest is in Spanish, I took my iPad, paid for wifi (which was about $7.50 a day for up to 3 devices) and we watched Netflix. Make sure to use mosquito repellant, because any slight rain or them watering the grounds stirs them up and they will eat you alive! My only complaint is that we had very young children in rooms next to us that seemed to cry all night and all morning. My next visit, I would request not to be put in a room next to families with young ones!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Older, boutique hotel not very kid/family friendly

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Small resort, the food was okay. Didn't offer much variety only 2 small pools to choose from and had to make sure you were there early to be able to get beach chairs near by. The kids club had fun activities but very small facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corinth, TX

Very relaxing resort with beautiful grounds

Posted Jul 12, 2015
We read the reviews after booking and were a little concerned about how enjoyable our stay would be here. I'm happy to say our visit was more than pleasant and I really can't wait to go back! The rooms and beds are a little small but they are renovating and we really weren't in the room except to sleep and shower. The grounds are just beautiful and the pool area was large with a wonderful swim up bar. The beach was very nice also despite a lot of seaweed which is I abundance there right now. However this was an issue all the way down the beach at every resort and they did try to scrape and bury much of it every day. The food was always fresh and the drinks delicious. The resort was never overcrowded and everyone had a great time! We will plan to stay again.