Ratings based on 1,419 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Reef Playacar

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and location!!
Cons: Have Free Wi Fi.
Location: Location was perfect with many activities available.
The hotel was in a perfect location. Right on the beach and very close to the 5th ave shopping district. Staff was exceptionally friendly!! Only issue was we wanted a king bed in our room and we got a room with 2 doubles. But the great hospitality and experience made up for that flaw.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Small and pleasant. Great location. Good atmosphere. Food in the buffet was surprisingly very good. Service is great. Rooms are a little old, but not too bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff - Some Upgrades Needed

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: It is a smaller resort and was not very crowded while we were there. The beach, pools and bars are all nice and the staff is very friendly.
Cons: There were a lot of small upgrades/repairs needed. There were issues with doors not opening/ closing completely and leaks in rooms.
Check in went smoothly and quickly but they didn't record the numbers on our wrist bands. Rather than contact us in our room to get the information, the staff simply turned our key cards off so later in the evening we couldn't get into our room without going back up to the lobby first. The room was nice but the bed was hard as a rock! The resort was very pretty with a jungle area in the middle and then the restaurants and the beach past all of the villas. The staff overall were very friendly and helpful. The restaurants were all okay but the specialty ones usually had very slow service. The bars we frequented were great. The premium lounge area was awesome and the main beach and pool areas were fun as well. It did seem that overall the staff was less fluent in English than other resorts we stayed at in the past but we never had issues with miscommunication.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Very nice hotel. Beautiful grounds. Immaculately kept. Great service, good food. Close to town. I'd go there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great Hotel for the Price!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The Margaritas and Beers are Cold!! The beach is great and the town is a quick walk being this is the first resort south of town. Villas are tucked away in a jungle like atmosphere which gives it a unique ambiance. Staff is great if you tip them in the beginning they remember you and are more heavy handed on the tequila! Food is decent the buffet is 3.8 of 5 with good variety and a nice dining area facing the ocean. For price 5 of 5. Beach 4 of 5 as far as beaches in Mexico go. All in all was a good experience!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

Great room with pool & ocean view I can't imagine.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Second year in a row. These rooms are 12 to a building each building is separate. They all are in a jungle like surrounding. 15-20 min walk to 5th Ave. Taxi cost 7-$10 1way. Only 3 TV channels in English. Food is very good. Everything is close. This is adult party crowd with some kids. 40-45 minute ride from airport but worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
It was our 3rd visit to the Reef and won't be our last. Staff are so hardworking and friendly. Beach is beautiful and hotel grounds very pretty. Dive centre is very good. Close to town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

The hotel was right on the beach and plenty of sea

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Impossible to get change. I feel the staff especially the hard working food staff and maids and clean up people were fabulous. Feel the vacation Club person was rude and did not represent you well. Put a bad taste in my mouth
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice beach, older crowds only

Posted Feb 15, 2017
If you are looking just to sit on beach and eat, than it's a good hotel, but if you are looking for friendly staff and entertainment than you need to go somewhere else. It's for older crowd (50yrs and up). Food very basic, bartenders not friendly at all. Hotel room is no luxury at all, strictly to sleep in and that's it. The buffet staff was pretty friendly and were quick to bring you drinks. Rooms are pretty clean. Front lobby only has one friendly face that will help you if needed but everyone else acts like u are bothering them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego california

Love this s Autuentic hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2017
If you love Playa Del Carmen and want a more authentic experience, this Is the place. Ditch all the huge, cold hotels and get to this charming bugalowed and jungle jem of an all inclusive vaca. Staff is great, and the beach with the catamaran and kayaks was terrific! I'm going back