Ratings based on 418 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand Hotel di qualità superiore e buona posizione

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Design delle camere e della struttura; comfort dei letti; silenzio; servizi; rapporto qualità prezzo offerto
Cons: Spa-palestra-piscina non utilizzabili sotto i 16 anni nemmeno se presenti i genitori. C'è un tablet invece del WiFi che resta preferibile e più comodo
Location: A 10 minuti da Piazza S. Pietro e 20 da Trastevere, navetta da/per Piazza di Spagna; Spa-palestra-piscina, personale impeccabile e non "stucchevole"
Hotel di qualità superiore, dotato di tutti i comfort; posizione comoda e buon rapporto qualità prezzo
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Potentially a fantastic hotel but disappointing

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The view, the grounds and setting, the cleanliness and the big image (albeit a bit superficial) of luxury. Very comfy bed and pillows.
Cons: The feeling of being a second class guest (not red level) and the prices which seemed exorbitant - 3 to 4 times a nice restaurant in town.
Location: Rome is a fantastic city with so many things to do and see, this wouldn't put me off going back - although a less pretentious hotel would be better.
The main problem is staff seemed more concerned with the image of the hotel (which is stunning) and with those who paid for their red level service. (we were quotes another 350 Euros per night if we wanted to upgrade to the lowest red level room). Twice I had to argue with staff about their hotel rules - i.e. not allowing tea to be served in the lobby seating area and being allowed to open a bottle of Prosecco (their gift for our anniversary) by the pool - due to it being a "service" area. I got what I requested in the end but had to get quite angry. They were visibly shocked when I discovered a real live caterpillar in the lettuce they served with a 24 Euro sandwich, but could only muster a free ice cream to excuse this shock. Finally I do appreciate the saying when in Rome do as the Romans do, but as an Englishman I still enjoy a cup of tea, and with no tea making facilities in the room (which is full of every gadget you can imagine - so many they were hardly any electric sockets left for guests to use themselves), having to pay 8 Euros for a small pot of hot water, one tea bag and a small jug of milk seemed astoundingly expensive even for the 5 star luxury. As a result my wife an I spent over £100 on cups of tea in 6 days!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

No respect for Expedia and the customer

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The location. Two blocks from the Vatican.
Cons: Assign the room one has reserved with Expedia respecting the Expedia rate.
Location: Very good location. Walking distance to San Pedro and the Vatican.
The check in was terrible. They asigned us a room absolutely dark, no view at all, with a wall in front of the window and 50% more expensive than the Expedia quotation. As I rejected it they showed me another room even worst. It took us an hour to talk to the Public Relations Manager who told us to wait half an hour for another room. I was going to stay two days an it took me three hours to obtain a decent room. At check out they said that the rate given by Expedia was in Euros not in dollars. So Expedia had given me a rate of 364 per day dollars and I had to pay them 445 Euros plus tax. Absolutely no respect for Expedia an the customer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Oasis

Posted Sep 30, 2016
This resort is a must-stay in Rome. After traveling 9 days throughout Italy our party of 8 spent our last night at the Gran Melia and it did not disappoint. From the welcoming check-in (we were upgraded to a Superior Room) to last minute assistance by the concierge with our dinner reservation, the customer service was excellent. The room was wonderfully appointed, very clean and the turn down service was gratefully appreciated. Our only regret was that we didn't stay here during our first 3 days in Rome, but we will return. My sister has a vacation share with the Melia resorts and after our stay at the Rome property, I would love to become a member.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful position but rooms are very small

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: very near to Vatican and has a swimming pool. stay at gran melia a lot
Cons: the rooms are very small by gran melia standards so be prepared to pay the extra to get a room with light
Location: too may too mention
beautiful position. the staff try to be helpful but you have to be prepared to ask more than once for things. unless you are prepared to significantly upgrade the rooms are very small . they went out of thier way to help us upgrade to bigger and much more expensive room . it was a convent so the rooms are small
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Den Haag

Geweldig hotel met alle luxe die je kan bedenken.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Het hotel ligt op 5 minuten lopen van het Vaticaan en alle hop on hop off bussen. Het personeel is geweldig en helpt je met alles wat nodig is. Ontbijt is niet heel uitgebreid maar prima. Er is ook een Spa waar je de meest luxe behandelingen kunt boeken. Zwembad is fris, ook eind van de zomer maar heerlijk na een dag slenteren in de stad. Wij zijn er nu twee keer geweest en bij een volgend bezoek aan Rome zullen we dit hotel zeker weer boeken!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wien

Tolle Lage herrliches Ambiente

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Der Aufenthalt war einfach spitze!! Superlage, tolles Hotel, freundliches Personal, umsichtig aber nicht aufdringlich, Buchungsmöglichkeiten vor Ort.. . Grenzgenial!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Près de Vatican

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Très belle expérience Bon séjour Le seul problème est le launge on pourrait améliorer la la qualité de la nourriture
5 out of 5
by Riaz from Nottingham

Amazing

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
The service that we received from arrival to departure was amazing, friendly, professional and attentive. I couldn't recommend this hotel more. The hotel was extremely luxurious and close to the city whilst maintaining a resort vibe. Just perfect
5 out of 5
by Michael

Tolles City Hotel und trotzdem im Grünen

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Wir waren in einem Gartenzimmer mit Red Level. Das Zimmer ist optimal eingerichtet für die Größe ( Koffer kann man abgeben). Es wurde jeden Tag sehr sauber gereinigt. Der Garten war möbliert und jeden Abend wurde die Kerzen. Die Poolanlage ist traumhaft. Schade dass das WLAN nicht so gut geht am Pool. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und professionell.