Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland

basic, but value for money worth it for location

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: the location was great
Cons: some basic things in apartment could be improved, but it did what we needed.
Location: beautiful, central location.
We had the studio apartment. As others have said it can be difficult to find as its just a buzzer entrance. However, it was quirky, basic, clean etc and did everything we needed it for. The location is worth it. You are within walking distance to all main attractions and the building is tucked away down a lovely wee quaint alley. If your looking for luxury don't book. But if you want basic accommodation in an excellent location book away. I would certainly use it again. We had a wonderful time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Hotel in central location walking distance to most attractions and cafes
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Dark, damp room on the ground floor

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Ideal location, a variety of excellent osterias around room could have even slept four on account of double sofa bed 'upstairs'
Cons: As mentioned in my experience description, most aspects need attention.
Location: Excellent location, right in the historic centre with easy access to all of the major sights and some excellent restaurants,
The room was on the ground floor, with a restaurant right outside, complete with noise. The walls were damp, crawling with silverfish insects and untreated mould. The kitchen units were white laminate chip board that had a peeling veneer and old dirt still sticking. Cupboards had limited and poorly cleaned crockery. Bathroom had filthy grouting and a lime-encrusted shower head. The suite has a strange, suspended mezzanine that prevents the use of proper ceiling lights and so the room is dimly lit with side-strip lighting and low wattage spot lights stuck beneath the mezzanine. The bedstead was damaged and the mattress was of a very soft and thin camping design. Bedding consisted of a black satin-feel throw, a duvet without cover and a simple thin flat sheet. Not all plug sockets were usable and the bedside lamp broke on first use. The television only has two intermittent channels and the internet connectivity was abysmal. The front door required 'a trick' to open which came in the form of one of us needing to essentially swing of the door to pull it tightly closed enough in its frame while the other jiggled the already bending key in its lock until it opened. One night the door failed to open and whilst the staff attended to us within half an hour, it is hardly ideal to be locked out of your room! I travel very frequently to Rome and other places for work and this was one of the poorest accommodations in which I have stayed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Perfect location

Posted Mar 19, 2017
We just stayed here for a week, best location. Everything to see in perfect walking distance. This hotel has 6 rooms, small and clean. Breakfast was served everyday to your room which was boiled eggs, croissants, fresh baked bread, jams, yogurt and orange juice. Coffee and tea were in the room at all times. Piazza Navona was about a block or two away. We only used the room at night as we wanted to be out in Rome as much as possible. If your looking for a spectacular view and spend time there this may not be the place for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was excellent, fresh breads everyday.
Location: A block away from Piazza Novona.
Nice clean hotel, close to a great deal of sites. They mean it when they say call if you are going to be late for check in, after 9 P.M. Call so you can get everything, keys, set up before hand. They staff was very helpful, easily understood, and very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Annual Rome trip

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Great location, quiet, nice staff
Cons: Not anything we can think of
Location: Close to Navona, Vatican and shops and food, ideal
Been to Rome many times and stayed in many hotels but this one was one of the best, lovely staff, great room, quiet and nice breakfast. Read a couple of reviews moaning about it being difficult to find but find that hard to understand, with all the ways of navigating these days that's simply bad planning! The hotel is literally seconds away from the Piazza and lots of shops and things to see and do, ideal for the Vatican etc. Definitely going back, most likely in June as we liked it so much, well done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic location

Posted Feb 26, 2017
When we arrived at night the bus could not get down the cobblestone roads so dropped us off on the main road. We then had to find our way through a maze of alleyways in darkness until a lovely lady pointed at a green door which was our hotel. When the door opened we entered a pitch black corridor and went up the stairs to reception. We stayed in the superior room attached to the reception and could hear everything -although after full days exploring Rome sleep was not an issue! The location was fantastic and we were able to walk to all the points of interest. The breakfast was ok and arrived at the time we requested every morning. Hotel staff couldn't do enough to help.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Rome Short Break

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Great location, friendly staff and enjoyed having breakfast brought to the room each morning. Food was basic and simple, but adequate
Cons: Wished staff had answered our e-mails about our late arrival. Rooms not exactly as in the website photos
Location: Ideal location, and very close to many of Rome's attractions, including the Vatican, Pantheon, Piazza Navona and the Trevi Fountain
More of a B&B than a traditional hotel, but great location, clean facilities and friendly staff. We contacted the hotel in advance to confirm our late arrival and the owner was waiting for us, even though we were very late. They also arranged a transfer to the airport on departure at a very reasonable rate for a private taxi
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Great hotel for location.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Great hotel for location, The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful the only down sides were the room was dated and had chips and paint missing on some units. The pictures on the website didn't reflect the rooms on display.
2 out of 5
by Margaret-Anne

Good location, shame about the accommodation

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
We booked this because of the quirkiness of having bed on mezzanine level and thought that the photographs of the apartment looked lovely, how wrong we were. Bed no longer on mezzanine level, dining table in its place. Bed moved downstairs with couch pushed right against it meaning the bedside cabinets were now under another table under the mezzanine stairs as there was no space at either side of the bed. This meant no lamps and main light switch was nowhere near the bed. Bed now under window and headboard up against wall next to common close entrance which meant every time door slammed you were disturbed. Apartment was damp and musty. Shower head and toilet seat broken, as well as one of small lampshades around bathroom mirror. Electric sockets appeared very old. A staff member let us see the bedrooms which were all nicely decorated and quite modern, broken items were reported and the staff member's comments on the apartment were that although it was big, it was not very nice! Staff were nice and the extra pillows we requested were provided. When we asked about the breakfast that was supposed to have been included in our booking, we were told this did not apply to the apartment. However, staff did provide us with yoghurts, biscotti, jam and milk. Although we did not let the state of the apartment spoil our enjoyment of the beautiful city of Rome, we were very disappointed with the accommodation. Until the apartment receives some TLC, avoid it!