Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Hotel Re.

Posted Apr 28, 2012
Cons: The breakfast room
Location: A good 15 - 20 min walk to nearest pick-up point for tour bus. Not close to any sights.
The Hotel was disappointing upon arrival ! To begin with it didn't have a proper entrance - it was on the second floor ! The lift was so small we had to make 3 trips for all of us plus cases. The dining room was so small, held only 4 tables, we had to queue every morning. When eventually a table became avallable 2 of us had to serve the others as they were unable to move from their seats. One of the waitresses was good and organised, the other was totally useless-there were no clean dishes or cutlery. So it depended which day the good one worked to have an acceptable breakfast ! The rooms were cleaned every day with clean towels and beds made which was good. Definitely would not use this hotel again.
1 out of 5
by Kyle from Boston, MA, USA

PLEASE save your money!

Posted Jan 5, 2012
Pros: the hand lotion
Cons: where do I start. Probably the desk clerk who was rude to me and my wife.
Location: not near any tourist attractions, restaurants, bars or the subway.
My wife and I stayed 3 nights in this terrible hotel. First of all, when we arrived, we had to lug our bags up a rickety old elevator up to a cranky check in guy. He gave us vague directions of where our room was. While the room was decent and fairly clean, the bed was hard as a rock, the two pillows were old as dirt and when we asked for a 3rd pillow we were told "no" with no explanation. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from termini train station but is near NO attractions which means a taxi, 15-20 minute walk or subway. When we came home at 3am after a fun night with friends, we got attitude from the front desk (they have to buzz you in) for coming in late. Sorry, I didn't know I had a curfew?! The breakfast was the worst we had of 3 hotels we got in Italy and when we went one day, the tables were all full INCLUDING the breakfast waitress sitting down and eating. Sorry, but I don't want to watch you eat while I stand and then you get up later to handle more food. Gross. The staff just seemed cranky all the time nad the hotel didn't make up for it in cleanliness, location, food or service. Overall this was one of the worst hotel experiences we have ever had.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Won't go back there again!

Posted Sep 15, 2011
Room not that clean, staff not helpful. Breakfast very basic, be prepared to wait to get into breakfast room, only 4 tables and room very small. Other hotels in same building, have to ring bell to get in and then up elevator or stairs. It was in good location and nice area, value just not there. Expensive for what you get. We would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Pleasant European style hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2011
Hotel Re is a Hotel within a shared building. The street signage is not obvious but if you are aware of this and have the street number it is not a problem. Our room although small was very nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. Air conditioning, internet and breakfast all good. We walked there from the Train Station and we used the local bus during our stay that was 5 mins from the Hotel. When we arrived they were unable to accommodate us due to a problem with the room. They were apologetic and had arranged a hotel 2 minutes away. Unfortunately this hotel was not up to the same standard and the cost of the rooms were less that what we had prepaid. We returned the next day to Hotel Re and we very pleased with our room. They gave us a reduced transfer to the airport to make up for the financial difference - we were happy with this.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, Alabama

Disaster! Stay Away!

Posted Jul 1, 2011
To begin with, hotel is very hard to find. No sign on the street level, other than just INSIDE door. Hotel is on 2nd level & must ride rickety cage-like lift w/ luggage. Front Desk says Hotel Invictus, but reservation was Hotel Re. (I had read reviews for Hotel Re di Roma thinking were same hotel. They are NOT!) Look up Tripadvisor reviews for Hotel Invictus. We arrived at 6pm & were greeted by desk attendant in street clothes wearing no ID. We were informed our room wasn't ready. He took our passports & left them at desk. He then said noone else was working so he would take care of rm. After he left, someone (who seemed to be hotel guest) rifled through front desk & our passports looking for his own passport. After a bit, he found it & returned to his rm. The attendant came back sweating/panting 30 min later. He took us to our rm on 4th fl. To get to our rm, you had to open a door from the elevator area into a hallway. Our rm was down hallway a few steps on the left. Everything in hallway was dark. As we walked into hallway, I noticed a very large industrial-looking lock (6 inches or more) was on outside of hallway door. This lock could be key-locked from the outside. Don't know who had the key. So to leave our rms we would need to unlock our door & then to get out of the hallway we would have to turn a bolt on the large lock. (hopefully unlocked). In case of fire or emergency???. Hotel condition-OLD. Hotel was poorly run/staffed/marked. No 3-star hotel. STAY AWAY!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rochester, MN

Small, personal and a bit unusual.

Posted Jun 29, 2011
Small, clean, no frills. Air conditioner works well and is quiet (essential for June, July, August). When window is closed you hear no street noise of significance (our room was out to the street). The TV didn't work (but who goes to Rome to watch TV?), and we had to ask for new towels and toilet paper at the front desk because the cleaning crew didn't provide them. The front desk personel was always friendly and helpful. There are a few great small restaurants in the neighboring streets that are frequented by the locals and provide a much better deal than anything in the more touristy parts of town. Overall, this is a good value. We booked this in large parts because of other reviews posted here, and found most of what was said in those by others pretty much accurate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

Stay away, not worth the hassle!

Posted Oct 20, 2010
room was smelly, shower side panel was leaking and after taking a shower the whole bathroom was flodded but the worst of all is that they have plenty of rooms available but the breakfast room has only 4 tables, that means having to wait for long time in the mornings to have breakfast which is very inconvenient; Staff not very helpful specially tring to take advantage offering a taxi to the airport for £55 euros when the offcial fixed tariff is 40!!! not on, when I asked why the answer was"well is 40 for the italians, the tourist pay more, sometimes even 70 or 80"!!! ridiculus. will not recomend this hotel and would never stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Hotel Re: bellismo experience!

Posted Sep 28, 2010
Hotel Re provided foundation for very successful & happy trip to Rome. Great staff: manager Maurice [that's the English language version of his name] is built like a rugby lock but a lot more welcoming!! As soon as we hit the desk he pulled out a map to show us the best way to get to places, highlighted the areas to avoid at night, what buses to use, suggested places to eat & where to shop. Hotel is quiet in area where there are a lot of Government Ministries and it's clean. It's close to the city centre & there's a good supermarket about 10 minutes walk away. Be aware that hotel lobby is on 2nd floor [the lift to it was built during Caeser's time] the breakfast room is a bit cramped & internet for guests slow. Nothing, though, that would stop us going back there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, MA

Tucked a bit away, but that's good

Posted Sep 22, 2010
The Hotel Invictus (AKA Re), is in an older building just off the XX Septembre, with a goodly crop of bars and bistros and cafés around corners. Quick few steps to the bus stop, a bit more to the metro, but as we discovered, the 492 bus will get you about and around rather well if you're staying with the usual hangouts. The hotel itself is small, but recently updated, and all was more than clean and comfortable. The included breakfast is only croissants and coffee, but our group of four had no complaints, although the breakfast room itself was very small for the task. An ancient elevator does the job of getting you up and down, limit two persons at a time. The staff was extremely helpful with all our questions, and their recommendations were more than okay. The neighborhood is busy, but it all calms down at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Haifa, Israel

The Hidden Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2010
We stayed at this hotel on 7 thru 9 September. The hotel is really called the INVICTUS and the check in is on the second floor. There's no sign outside the building but a plaque on the wall. There's a tiny cage-like vintage elevator or you can use the stairs. The receptionist was very friendly and provided lots of useful information. Our room was on the 2nd floor and was very spacious. Rooms on other floors might be smaller. Breakfast is very elementary but the coffee, oh the coffee, is great. Note that it is served in a tiny dining room. Location is great: many cafes and gelaterias in the neighborhood. Also, Piazza Venezia and Termini are within walking distance.