Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Nice all inclusive hotel ideally suited for all ages and group sizes
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by general manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Expedia. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us, and we hope to welcome you again, in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Disappointed

Posted Jul 5, 2017
For such an expensive place the basic things did not work. AC did not work at all and there was no hot water. Expected this for a three star place not to have to call facilities when you check in late night. Front desk just said oh Sorry...you should have called. This is an overrated place and reminds me of a cheap cruise since its all inclusive.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing a review of Barceló Salinas. It does indeed sound from what you describe that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual standards of service; please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to make your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Mediocre at best

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Mediocre service, had trouble with front desk sending up a cop by mistake early on Sunday. Mediocre breakfast. Not worth what they charge by far.
3 out of 5
by Kristopher from San Jose

Simply meets expectations

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at the Barcelo Colon for several days the first week of December. This is before high season starts and we expected it to be quiet. Renovations on the larger pool were complete and construction on the new beach side property were well underway. Although it was low season, food was more difficult to come by than we expected. The hotel is all inclusive, but it was easier to order off of the non-existent menu at the pool bar for lunch than it was to find anything in the restaurant. Dinner was a similar story, but we ate offsite each night for dinner, which again, we expected. That said, whether at the beach, pool, or bar, drinks were readily available without any issue. The wifi is very spotty, even in the rooms and drops frequently. There is no free wifi available in the first floor restaurant and bar, and near the pool it is near impossible to get a signal unless you are against the building. I will commend the staff that they did arrange transport for us from Guayaquil to the hotel. Even when we our flights changed at the last minute, a single e-mail was enough to update the driver.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Denis from A

See - road - than the hotel... - again road...

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Not the best value for money at all... I would say 3 star hotel in a normal country
4 out of 5
by Mike & Carol from Brisbane

Salinas experience

Posted Oct 19, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel was right on the ocean so could hear the waves all night long. Hotel package included all meals (and drinks) which was OK for a short stay. There are plenty of other restaurants nearby. Neighbourhood changes after about 2 streets back. Plenty of water sports on offer nearby. Hotel provided free open air parking. Getting out of Salinas and finding road north to Manta was a bit tricky. Overall probably the best place to stay in Salinas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive. Not suitable for business people

Posted Mar 26, 2013 on Hotels
When I arrived to the room there was no a single towel in the toilet which was very much average type and very far from a 5 star price been paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Manny from Indiana, USA

Not the best experience

Posted Sep 8, 2012
Pros: The buffet.
Cons: Service.
Location: Not that good. The sand in front of the hotel is black. I don't know why.
Room smelled like insecticide. Magnetic key stopped working the second day. Towels were not left in the room one of the days (we had to call and wait naked for the towels). I called for extra pillows. They never sent one.
3 out of 5
by El Doctor

Great staff but poor facilities

Posted Aug 25, 2011 on Orbitz
Staff was wonderful from the first day. They were very attentive across the board. The food was OK but became redundant mostly because the buffet provided pretty much the same choices every day. Our shower had no water pressure so all we got was a trickle of water. The safe did not work but staff provided me with a key. Another disappointing part of our experience was the confusion at the front desk during check in and upon check out. Apparently there was a disconnect between Orbitz and the hotel. They claimed they had no confirmation from Orbitz. I provided them with a copy of my confirmation and was allowed to check in. Again staff was very helpful. However, upon check out they still had not gotten confirmation form Orbitz and I was asked for a credit card. I refused giving them the Orbitz number to call. After 30 minutes they said “all is fine” and I was allowed to check out. Needless to say this was frustrating. Again staff made the stay acceptable. On the positive side the bar service was great. Mojitos were exceptional and the bar staff was great.