Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA - East Coast

Rustic

Posted Feb 8, 2018
Bahia del Sol is a condominium community situated on the hillside overlooking the beach; gorgeous views and off a dusty dirt road. It is preferable to have a rental car but you can walk (10 min) to the beach during daylight. The place is also accessible by taxi. There is a small (I mean small) food store 5 min away - down the dusty dirt road. The condominium is spacious with a good layout but it is rustic (euphemism for tired). I was never able to get hot water in the shower - only in the sink. Electricity is a bit unreliable so charge your phone and cool the place down when you can. The kitchen has much to be desired; 3 forks for a place comfortably hosting 6 people, no spatula, cutting knives or other good-to-have items such as salt and pepper. The place has ants - not an army but there are plenty running around at all times so keep your food in the fridge. The pool is mighty disappointing and uninviting. It has a nice view which unfortunately also includes the dusty dirt road. If you do venture in the pool be prepared to swim alongside lots of dead insects. The limited staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wake Forest, NC

Perfect three bedroom home

Posted Jan 28, 2018
They pictures do not do this place justice. We stayed in unit 7. The home had three bedrooms. The master suite has an awesome bathroom, king bed, and a huge porch from the master overlooking the San Juan del sure bay. The second room has two twin beds and the third room has a queen. Both rooms had a lookout over the bay as well. The hotel provided purified water and great beach towels for our entire stay. The cleaning ladies were awesome. I can’t say enough good about this place. We will book here again for our next visit to San Juan.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An okay location

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Staff telling, or giving you a list of items you may want to buy.
Location: Go to Hermosa Beach.
They were having problems with the electricity, it was off. We arrived about 4PM and of course the unit was hot.They did not provide candles for this problem. We also did not have a lantern in our unit. Some did. The electricity came back on about 8:30. The air conditioning is only on the upper floor and the cold air is supposed to go down to cool the lower level. Not very efficient. The pool was nice, clean. The area was noisy due to a major road going past this facility. It was hard to sit outside on the patio and talk. They didn't have coffee filters and did not have information telling us what type to buy. Bought the wrong shape and it was hard to make coffee. Over all not a bad place for a couple nights. It is good to have a car available at this location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good spot for groups and families

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
Short walk to beach. Clean and neat. Some distance to town but walkable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017
Hi, thank you for your response.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Florida

Posted Aug 23, 2017
A very clean place to stay; everything that you need is close to the hotel and the AC was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Gerencia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Bugs

Posted Aug 1, 2017
If you are into nature and don't mind a few ants and lizards in your room this hotel is for you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by dabieth from Antelope, California

Excellent and the price was great too!

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Will defensively be back here. We rented a few villas for a family reunion and they were nice, clean, spacious and plenty of room for everyone. The rooms had a beautiful view of the beach and the neighborhood was quiet and nice. The beach was about a 10 minute drive or less, convenient store close by and the workersecond were kind and polite. They were also very honest, the last day we were there we decided to take family pictures and I accidently left one of my lenses to my nikon camera sitting on a ledge ouside the villa and one of the workers found it. I went back about 5 or 6 hours later and they told me the manager had it locked up in her office. She was kind enough to drive to the hotel from her home (it was already evening) just to unlock her office for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, North Carolina

Big rooms with nice view, ant problem

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Friendly, knowledgeable welcome staff. Large spacious rooms with bright and simple decor. Amazing views overlooking the city.
Cons: Spraying for bugs regularly, stocking more cookware and cleaning supplies in the kitchen
Overall, Bahia del Sol was a nice place. The view overlooking San Juan del Sur is beautiful, and the bedrooms are spacious and clean. The woman at the welcome desk was very friendly and helpful- fluent in English as well. However, there so many ants in the kitchen and living room that we had to keep all of our food in the fridge (even sealed bread, cereal,etc.). I am not generally afraid of a few bugs here and there, but the kitchen was literally infested. If it weren't for that, I would have been able to give it an "excellent" review.
5 out of 5
by Carlos from Dallas, TX

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for a couple nights for a family reunion. It was great to have 3 villas right next to each other so we could hang around and visit. Kids loved the pool. AC in the upstairs bedrooms worked great!