Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lymington hampshire

Lovely warm, cosy atmosphere.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: As above.
Cons: This is a little niggle but had difficulty manipulating hairdryer to position where could comfortably blow dry hair. No hand soap.
Location: We came for family celebration but took opportunity to stay on longer to visit Jodrell Bank and Chester. Looks loke plenty of other things to do.
We were very impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. Good menu and excellent breakfast. Lovely comfy bed and room. Great ambiance!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Exceptional dog friendly hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: The location and dog friendliness
Cons: Nothing of note
Location: There are walks from the hotel
We stayed at the Bears paw with our Labrador Charlie. He was allowed everywhere except the kitchen and behind the bar. The food was plentiful and very tasty and the room was large and comfortable. The only downside was the village church's bells that sounded every 15minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Nice location. Friendly staff, good food, clean and spacious room. Only slight annoyance was the noise from the kitchen extractors (at least I think that's what they were!) however they stopped at night so didn't affect our sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Perfect stopover on journey south

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: The staff were well trained and very polite. A lovely bar/restaurant with good food.
A very comfortable hotel which was perfectly placed for our trip from Scotland to south of England.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Popular with locals

Posted Jul 14, 2015
We have stayed at The Bear's Paw several times. It is a popular haunt with locals and the restaurant is always buzzing. The menu is varied and reasonable value, with a separate list of specials. We normally find it quiet overnight and actually enjoy the church bells, but this time some construction work was happening down the side lane and it was hot so we had to have the windows open and the noise was pretty intrusive. The decor of the well-equipped rooms and the comfort of the beds still please but things are getting a little tired round the edges now and the cleanliness not quite what it was. I am pretty sure we were given free water last time, none this time and I swear my pillow smelled of perfume from a previous guest! The basin tap wobbled worryingly and the shower came to a grinding halt mid-flow then proceeded to restart and burn both me and my partner. However, we did point out the last two at check-out and were assured they would be fixed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

A great location and a peaceful nights sleep

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Location, Food, Ambience, Staff. Nothing not to like
Cons: Nothing really, though the church bell rang every 1/4 hour (2 mins early!!). Obviously not the fault of the hotel!!! Windows closed at night
Upon arriving got shown to my room promptly. What a wonderful location, with green fields all around. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room it's self was extremely spacious, I only wish I was staying longer than one night, to explore the area. Lastly the food, excellent. The table next to me had steak, which came on a hot plate and you basically cooked it to your liking (wish I'd stayed another day to try it), well worth ordering. The included breakfast was also excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Bears Paw Inn Review

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Replace mattress. Decrease pricing.
A lovely inn a difficult to find location. Staff, décor, food all great. The mattress was quite lumpy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sue from The Lake district

A lovely surprise! Fantastic room and facilities

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Room was a little cold on arrival. The rest of the hotel was very warm so quite noticeable.
Location: On our way from and to somewhere so. I idea.
Arrived quite late, were well looked after, room fantastic, warm welcoming atmosphere in the bar and food very good. What more!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by M & N from Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK

Great place to stay.

Posted May 13, 2013
Excellent 3 night break. Attentive and friendly, but not overbearing staff. Will come again.