Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Posted Jun 7, 2018
Wonderfully unique experience! We loved getting a taste of the local culture of the village and the views were amazing. Staff was also extremely friendly. Don't miss the short climb to Rocca Calascio! It's only a 15 minute drive and the views are unbelievable! As others mentioned- the beds are a bit hard, but it didn't bother us too much as we stayed only one night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jun 1, 2018
Totally unique experience. Every detail is true to the authenticity of residing in another time without sacrificing modern day luxury. We stayed 4 nights and after 2 asked the staff if we could experience a different room. They accommodated our request. All rooms are different, each incredibly special in their own way. The village is as charming as the hotel and everyone is helpful and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Luton

It was an experience

Posted May 2, 2018
Pros: The Staff, the experience, the views.
Cons: WIFI was variable, if this is important to you make sure you specify to the staff.
Location: Rocca Calascio - fantastic view from the Castle.
If you are looking for a luxury experience, then Sextantio is probably not for you. If you are looking for an authentic experience of living in a medieval town and experiencing something of what it was like whilst being looked after by a fantastic staff then book now! My wife is partially disabled and normally uses a wheelchair but this was not possible because of the cobbled roads and floors, however this did not diminish the holiday. We stayed for 7 nights and the hotel even offered to change rooms so we could try a different room. The views are stunning, the area remote so a car is necessary if you want to visit L'Aquila or other towns.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful restored ancient rural village.

Posted Apr 12, 2018
Wonderful staff who work diligently to ensure you stay is memorable. Very calming mountain village hotel restored with great sensitivity to its heritage
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2018 by Michele, Hotel Management
Thank you so much! Warm regards from the whale staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique and beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2017
We only spent one night here, but I wish we'd done two. It was a very unique space and made me feel like I was in a different time period, but with all the amenities of modern day life. The staff was lovely, and the people in the little medieval town it's located in were very friendly and helpful too. Take a moment to explore the area, and including a drive to a nearby town up on a mountain with the ruins of a fortress. Some of the most breathtaking views I've ever seen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Excellent project; very interesting village and location. Off the beaten track but a real gem.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on CheapTickets
Hotel rooms and hotel design are spectacular. Location is great with nice views. Hotel staff are not welcoming at all. There was not any explanation of how things work (ex locking my room door). The only restaurant in the hotel was closed for dinner. And I was told the breakfast will be served in another hotel facility from 7 till 10. I came to that location at 8:30 the door was closed. Then I came by around 9:40 the door was open but they told me I came late and they will close in 10 mins !!!! When i checked in, i was given an upgrade to a suit which I kinda regret because I think I had a better room booked. But that's nice from them. Inside my upgraded room there was a door to a basement which was not locked. This door led to 2 bedrooms and restroom with shower. I thought it's inside my room and the door is unlocked, it must be part of my room. I took a shower only in the morning once. When I checked out, they told it was not my room and I was suppose to figure this out and it's my mistake. After stupid nogations they didn't charge me for using the other room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hill town rustic albergo

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the rustic charm of the hotel in a very beautiful old hill town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of my favourite hotels

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Beautiful surroundings, very friendly staff, rooms are the actual original houses of the village and the whole concept of local food/products is simply genius. Very quiet no cars or any noise. I will go back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
While I think this could be an interesting place to stay, the 2009 earthquake caused a great deal of damage to the castle which is now being repaired. At present, you'll be greeted with scaffolding, and shoring up of the walls.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Staff, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for being with us and for your review. While the damage affects the outer walls, on the contrary our rooms and common spaces are well preserved and not affected by the earthquake. And, after a few years of stalemate, luckily the restoration works have now started and they will bring to an end shortly. Thank you for supporting us in this process. Best regards.