Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on CheapTickets
Hotel rooms and hotel design are spectacular. Location is great with nice views. Hotel staff are not welcoming at all. There was not any explanation of how things work (ex locking my room door). The only restaurant in the hotel was closed for dinner. And I was told the breakfast will be served in another hotel facility from 7 till 10. I came to that location at 8:30 the door was closed. Then I came by around 9:40 the door was open but they told me I came late and they will close in 10 mins !!!! When i checked in, i was given an upgrade to a suit which I kinda regret because I think I had a better room booked. But that's nice from them. Inside my upgraded room there was a door to a basement which was not locked. This door led to 2 bedrooms and restroom with shower. I thought it's inside my room and the door is unlocked, it must be part of my room. I took a shower only in the morning once. When I checked out, they told it was not my room and I was suppose to figure this out and it's my mistake. After stupid nogations they didn't charge me for using the other room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hill town rustic albergo

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the rustic charm of the hotel in a very beautiful old hill town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of my favourite hotels

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Beautiful surroundings, very friendly staff, rooms are the actual original houses of the village and the whole concept of local food/products is simply genius. Very quiet no cars or any noise. I will go back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
While I think this could be an interesting place to stay, the 2009 earthquake caused a great deal of damage to the castle which is now being repaired. At present, you'll be greeted with scaffolding, and shoring up of the walls.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Staff, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for being with us and for your review. While the damage affects the outer walls, on the contrary our rooms and common spaces are well preserved and not affected by the earthquake. And, after a few years of stalemate, luckily the restoration works have now started and they will bring to an end shortly. Thank you for supporting us in this process. Best regards.
5 out of 5
by Joel from California

Amazing place. A bit hard to find

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very cool place. Almost magical.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
as expected...but please don't force the point to get comments on my review
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Really cool hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Wotif
The hotel was amazing it was like going back in time! Really great experience. The restaurant was nice but meals were very small so makesure to bring some snacks to nibble on back in your room
4 out of 5
by Alan from Rockville, MD

Very unique place but service needs improvement

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
For a splurgy, romantic getaway, this hotel is unique. It sprawls around several buildings in a lovely medieval village in the Abruzzi mountains. The rooms all remain authentic with open fireplaces and original furnishings. A couple of peeves: the room had a bath but no shower. There is no dedicated parking so don't come with heavy bags. You will be schlepping them over cobblestones and up and down narrow steep stairways. The hotel staff will not help with this. Breakfast was OK - lots of bread and cheese and sausage but not a single vegetable. We booked a table for dinner through the desk clerk only to find the restaurant locked and closed. The clerk neglected to inform us. Bottom line, we enjoyed our stay in this very different places. It's an experience but you are paying five star prices and getting threee star service.
4 out of 5
by Kimberly from Austin, TX

Very cool!

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
When looking at the pictures online I thought we were going to be staying in a castle! Unfortunately it's not an actual castle, but fortunately it feels just like you're staying in one anyway! However, the "turret" shown in the photos was knocked down 5 years ago in an earthquake and now only represented by scaffolding. The rooms are nice, if a bit dusty. And the beds. Oh my. I joked with my friend when I sat down on my bed that it felt like the bed was fighting back! It's so hard it's like the bed is trying to push you out of it LOL! I heard from someone else staying there that in order to preserve the authenticity of the hotel, the beds are made with sheep's wool. Interesting... The floors are heated (NICE!), the bathrooms are modern & clean, and while the room we had didn't have a fireplace in it, there was a common room with a fireplace that we used several days of our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel. NOTE TO THOSE BRINGING YOUR DOG!!! There are several wild dogs that are allowed to roam the town freely. The first day I honestly thought my dog & I were going to be lunch. PLEASE take care when you first get there to check out your surroundings before going anywhere with your dog.
5 out of 5
by Maurice from Farmington, Ct

Castle Experience

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels
Unique experience! Very romantic castle which we pretty much had to ourselves. Staff very helpful(upgraded our room).Comfortable accommodations. Hard place to find especially in the dark. Make sure you arrive before dark to enjoy the scenery. Many thanks to D.Fulgenzi Silvan ,the proprietor of the restaurant next to the Sextantio Albergo Diffuso who we followed to get to the Hotel. His hospitable family restaurant, next to the hotel, is run by his wife Anna and his daughter Fredricka who cooked us the best homemade meal we had during our 2 week stay in Italy and very inexpensive. Would definitely like to return to explore the castle.