Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

short break

Posted May 5, 2015
We stayed 4 nights and it was great! The 3 pools were very clean with ample sunbeds. The food gave plenty of choice and the breads, soups, salads and desserts were lovely - the mains were a bit less so! The hotel and facilities were very good and the staff were friendly and helpful without exemption. Would readily stay again!
3 out of 5
by siarhei from Malden, MA

not coming back

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels
If you're coming here with family\ friends and you didn't book the same hotel-IT'S NOT ALLOWED FOR THEM TO GO FURTHER THAN RECEPTION!To our surprise it is same way in all hotels in Egypt!When we asked the manager why and please show us the paper where it says so,the answer was:"because" and "the paper is not allowed to the public".We paid for the room with Sea view,but to see it you had really band over the balcony and to see a tiny line.We had to extend our stay for 1 night,took the whole evening and morning to get it.The 2nd room we got was a Garden view (didn't matter,we just needed the room),but I'm trying to say-It's NOT a 5 star hotel!Garden view room fits for 3 star hotel.Sea view -4 stars.When we booked hotel-it was said that it has free wifi,but you have to pay for it $5 per hour.Nothing free not even in common areas.If you want to go to different hotel-you have to leave your passport at the gate,same for your guests if you want to bring them over. Well-IT'S ILLEGAL to ask you to leave your passport. It has to stay with you 24\7!No matter what!Copies is the only way out!It took us almost a week of constant fighting with security and the reception.At the end manager said ok to the copies.But all week-if you don't leave the passport-they won't let you\ your guests in+security watches you all the time.I understand the situation in country and that it all for our protection,BUT we're paying and bring money. A bit more respect and care!Skip all that ridiculous situations!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Peace & Quite!

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Very good & close to amenities, Hard Rock Cafe, TGI Friday, McD's, Burger King plus lots of other shops right next to the hotel. Private beach lovely food, Nama Bay is 20 minutes away 30-40 Egyptian pounds no more then that.
3 out of 5
by kevin from Liverpool

Just ok

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels
The stay was ok. The hotel was clean, the pools were nice and the location was good. The all inclusive was very limited no drinks I was keen on. The hotel was very busy and getting a seat was difficult at meal times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Everything you can ask for a hotel except the wifi

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Close to the airport,shops across the road,private beach,several pools and the cleanliness of the hotel in general.
Cons: Wifi system.
Location: Hotel has best location for everything,good for shopping,water sports,desert adventures etc.
3 out of 5
by Omar from Egypt

Perfect for charming

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels
Was good location with good beach and there were 3 pools one for entirtamient and others were quiet and for chilling and the staff were very friendly but the service in restarunt was not good but as overall is good hotel according to price
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Awful hotel, tired, and sad

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: The location is good for beach, and shops
Having stayed at the Hilton in sharks bay, the royal albatross (3times), cleopatra, Laguna vista and the Jaz Mirabel, I also own a property in Nabq, I feel that I have a good idea of Sharm & what to expect, sadly the Oriental has passed it's sell by date, the building itself is tired & in need of a refurb, the food lacks any quality, and is under catered for the amount of guests it houses, only one restaurant for dinner (apart from the small "Italian") that must be booked one day in advance & you can only visit it once per stay!! Compared to let's say the albatross hotel the beach bar is an embarrassment, substandard food & drink (we all know that spirits & wine in Sharm are not the best but you can't even get them at the beach bar,) in every way.
3 out of 5
by Jacque from Wolverhampt

Good hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was nice very clean the staff were very friendly but the chefs could not cook didn't know you could get tough broccoli and the veal was like chewing my leather shoes and they forgot to boil the potatoes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Cairo

Great stay and a reasonable price.

Posted Dec 8, 2013
Pros: Co-operation of staff. Understaning and ability to sort out exceptions. Pool and facilities.
Cons: Cleanliness of the pool, and supervision on guests who come from the beach and jump into the pool. Pool becomes sandy in no time.
Location: It was mainly for relaxation, so i did not go out of the hotel to be perfectly honest.
Has been great. Facilities and staff co-operation and support are amazingly wonderful. We loved our stay for 4 days and looking forward to come again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Mohamed Abd El Meguid, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Michael we are thank you for choosing Oriental Resort for your holiday hoping you had a lovely stay at Oriental and we thank you for your comments and hope see you again very soon . :)